Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 07:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 01:25    Post subject: xorgwizard failures with Puppy 5.4
Subject description: can't configure Radeon X1550 adapter and Flatron L1710B monitor
 

Have just spent several hours trying to configure the display in Puppy 5.4. Although I've had some problems with Quirky-120 in the last two days, and with Puppy 528 in the past, I've never been completely stumped before.

My adapter is a ATI X1550 w/256MB of RAM, in an Intel D865GLC motherboard. I've got two monitors attached via a Maxtor DualHead2Go adapter. One is a 21" Sun CRT converted to PC use, the other is a 17" LG Flatron L1710B LCD.

In Lupupluslibre 005-2, I'm able to run both monitors at 1600x1200@60Hz, or at 1280x1024@75Hz.

In Quirky, I can run both at 1600x1200, 1280x1024@60 (and 1024x768@75, if I can trust my notes). The CRT is getting old and dim, so I like to have it available, but prefer to use the LCD most of the time.

There's often a problem installing Linux, not just Puppy, initially with this setup as the probe generally wants to spread the display across the two monitors. In Puppy 528 this is fairly easy to fix, especially when the special Radeon driver is installed. In Quirky it was quite a bit of work to get it right, because xorgwizard keeps insisting on making the display 2560x1024x60 , and when I choose 1280x1024 insists on making it 85Hz, which the LG can't handle.

However, eventually I can get both monitors to display at the same time in at least two resolutions that fit in both Quirky and 528.

But in 5.4, I haven't been able to find anything except 2048x768@60 (spread across both monitors) that fits. With other configuration tried, the LG give an error message: "dsub input signal out of range". And some settings that work on both monitors elsewhere wont display on either in 5.4.

Right now I'm running Puppy 5.4 at 1600x1200 on the CRT, and I can't change it down to 1280x1024@60, xorgwizard just ignores the input.

I've also tried choosing the "Radeon" option in Xorgwizard, and that blacks out both monitors.

Very frustrating. Any suggestions?

Update: according to report-video, I'm only running in 1280x768 under lupu528, whereas the resolution changer reports 1280x1024

Under Puppy 5.4, report-video doesn't report any resolution, only the colour depth, whereas resolution changer reports 1600x1200 as being in effect (*).

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo

Last edited by otropogo on Mon 05 Nov 2012, 12:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 02:21    Post subject: adding wallpapers - how  

Have gone another hour or two trying in vain to get a usable xorg configuration for my monitors in Puppy 5.4. I've got two choices, 2048x768 @ 60Hz, spread over two monitors (hideous and unwieldly), or the LCD monitor is disabled, and the 21' CRT displays at 1600x1200@60Hz - very uncomfortable for my viewing, plus I'm stumped if my CRT gives out.

So unless someone can talk me through another way of configuring, I'm stumped.

Meanwhile, I can't find any means of adding a new wallpaper to the selection provided. I've never had this issue before either.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5940
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 02:55    Post subject:  

Another quick test of Precise 5.40 with a different Nvidia card. Sound,internet and display all correct on boot.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: nv44 Board - p382h1 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

Actually using "nouveau".


-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00GHz
Memory : 1554MB (194MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Mon 05 Nov 2012 01:54:53 AM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4A
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801BA-ICH2
Audio Adapter : MPU-401 UART - MPU-401 UART


Multimedia audio controller : Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 05)
VGA compatible controller : NVIDIA Corporation NV44A [GeForce 6200] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Ethernet controller : D-Link System Inc Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev 11


...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 55
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 56
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 59
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 58
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
2194 frames in 5.0 seconds = 438.672 FPS
3353 frames in 5.0 seconds = 670.486 FPS
3800 frames in 5.0 seconds = 759.843 FPS
3804 frames in 5.0 seconds = 760.669 FPS
3764 frames in 5.0 seconds = 752.799 FPS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 04:15    Post subject: Re: adding wallpapers - how  

otropogo wrote:


Meanwhile, I can't find any means of adding a new wallpaper to the selection provided. I've never had this issue before either.


put your new background in /usr/share/backgrounds

or you could use don570's pet, which gives you an option to send a picture to the backgrounds folder by right clicking http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67013

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 06:24    Post subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.4  

watchdog wrote:
tallboy wrote:

[*] One of the most frequent questions in the forum is why the modem doesn't connect. I have a G3 ZTE MF636 USB modem, of the type that looks like a memory stick, and also contains memory, and it is a couple of years old by now. It does not connect.


Have you tried first installing:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-common/usb-modeswitch-1.2.4-up.pet

and

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-noarch/usb-modeswitch-data-20120815.pet

?


Please don't do that. Precise Puppy 5.4 already has usb-modeswitch and usb-modeswitch-data. Every Puppy will have them.

If you are having problems with a USB 3G modem, do not blame Puppy. Go to the usb-modeswitch forum/mail-list and discuss it there, as it is a problem with that application.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 06:48    Post subject:  

emil wrote:
Keyboard shortcuts for International characters
cannot be found
file:///usr/share/doc/shortcutkeys.htm is missing.


Thanks, I have removed that link from the Help page.

It relies upon "Zombie Keys" PET pkg being installed. It used to be in my pups, however it does not work with latest SeaMonkey.

Zombie Keys page:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/zombie-keys/

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 08:22    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
'libraw1394' is Marked as installed when it isn't


Yes it is.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 08:30    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Update...... just booted the non-pae Precise pfix=ram and now I'm also unable to download from the puppy precise repo.See screenie. No problem with Ubuntu repos though.


This will be fixed in the next Precise, 5.4.1.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 08:32    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ok James, that sheds some light for me, I'll come up with a hot fix shortly.

(it's to do with the "retroprecise" prefix, 99% sure)

It just so happens that I have it on the usb stick on the lappy I'm using now..

EDIT

ok, here is the DIFF
Code:
--- /usr/local/petget/downloadpkgs.sh.old   2012-10-29 10:18:55.192350888 +1000
+++ /usr/local/petget/downloadpkgs.sh   2012-10-29 10:08:30.000000000 +1000
@@ -57,6 +57,7 @@
  [ "$REPO_DEFAULT_SUBSUBDIR" == "noarch" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120313
  [ "$REPO_DEFAULT_SUBSUBDIR" == "gap6" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120515
  [ "$DISTRO_NAME" = "Precise Puppy" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120908 see /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
+ [ "$DISTRO_NAME" = "RetroPrecise Puppy" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120908 see /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
  [ "$DISTRO_NAME" = "Precise Arm Puppy" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120908
  [ "$DISTRO_NAME" = "Wheezy Arm Raspbian Puppy" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120908
  [ "$DISTRO_NAME" = "Squeezed Arm Puppy" ] && OFFICIAL_REPO='quirky' #120908


REMEMBER.. Barry did warn that retro is unofficial...


Recent changes to Woof have fixed the problem.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 08:53    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
rjbrewer reported here thet grubconfig is broken in the latest Slacko.

rcrsn51 found the cause and solution here

Precise suffers from the same bug, missing cp-FULL. Though I haven't tried it, it seems gubconfig is broken at the woof level.
Code:
# find / -name cp-FULL
# grep cp\-FULL `which grubconfig`
 cp-FULL -p /usr/share/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null
 cp-FULL -p /usr/local/share/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null
 cp-FULL -p /usr/lib/grub/*/*stage* $BOOT/grub 2>$TMP/null

Evidence that cp-FULL is not in Precise.


Thanks, fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 09:08    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Yes, I chose 'Examine dependencies' and installed all dependencies (67). After all dependencies were installed, however, VLC was not installed. Installing VLC required opening PPM again then installing it, which went smoothly. I then restarted the X server. When I got to Desktop again, I opened urxvt and entered "vlc", which returned "not a bash command."

EDIT: I tried installing again, this time with better results as 'VLC media player' is now in the menu tree under Multimedia.
Code:
# vlc
VLC media player 2.0.3 Twoflower (revision 2.0.2-93-g77aa89e)
[0x8053150] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (libicui18n.so.48: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)"

Works good now using 'Open with...' dialog, after I made an absolute link with vlc binary located /usr/bin


Unfortunately, there is a bug in the Ubuntu packages database. Package 'libicu48' is not always shown as a dependency, although it is needed. I reported on this on my blog, and manually added it as a dependency to the 'scribus' package.

But, you have found that 'vlc' also needs it.

Ubuntu users don't encounter this bug, as libicu48 would always be installed. But it isn't in our cut-down Puppy.

It is a very big pkg, which is why I don't want to just build it in, unless it is actually needed. However, to get around the shortcoming of the Ubuntu pkg deps database, I will add 'libicu48' to be builtin to the next release of Precise Puppy.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jmsmorais

Joined: 05 Nov 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 09:19    Post subject:  

Hello! I'm a bit of a newbie so bear with me... I have found the following issues with Precise Puppy 5.4:

1) When using PGPRS, i can't disconect, neither using CTRL+C, nor the "Disconnect from network" option in the network icon. I just found out that not disconecting when closing the terminal is a new feature but i don't know about the other 2.

2) As a workaround for the above i use the dialup modem wizard. Using this wizard only has one problem, the first connection ALWAYS fails, it always gives me an error, i believe it is something like: at+cpin=(my modem pin) bad init string. I then disconect and conect again and it starts working. Is this the normal behaviour? Is it supposed to give an error everytime i restart my pc and try to connect?

3) When installing the package WAKEONLAN through the ubuntu repos, when i try to run the app it gives an error. I then RE-install the PERL MODULES package, just this package without any other dependencies, and WAKEONLAN just starts working. Any ideas as to why? Is this supposed to happen?

4) When testing the linux firewall with Shields Up, connected with my 3G USB modem (not behind a router), it always reports that the 80 port is OPEN. I have never seen this happen with other firewalls.

5) In every single laptop i have tried precise puppy 5.4, i have to go to the alsa setup wizard and change the speakers volume as it is at 0. The box is thicked by default but the value is 0.

Thanks!

Last edited by jmsmorais on Mon 05 Nov 2012, 10:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 09:57    Post subject: Re: "Features" in Precise Puppy  

minimalist wrote:
After installing some packages from Ubuntu, like hpjjs (HP printer drivers) all desktop icons turn into "yield signs" (the triangle standing on its tip) and the icon text and text inside dialog boxes turns into rectangle characters. Can't read any text any more. The main menu remains intact.

Has anyone seen this? I did not install a different video driver, just regular built in 1200 X 1000 or whatever.

So, it is best for me to use Precise Puppy out of the box and not install any packages. This is also the idea of small and fast...


I have just been through the exercise, installed 'hpijs' and its deps via the ppm. No problem, everything works afterward. I even did a reboot, desktop text and icons still ok.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 10:29    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
The pupradio in Precise is old. Some of the channels fail now too. If 0.16 was in it would have worked. I am up to 0.17 now to fix the opera bug, Posted here.


Thanks, I have upgraded.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 10:48    Post subject: Re: Firewall Docs  

L18L wrote:
ALL PUPPIES! Firewall Docs gone?
confirm
ALL PUPPIES! Firewall Docs gone Exclamation


Thanks, I have upgraded the Linux Firewall PET with a link to 'http://puppylinux.us/firewall/' in it's docs section.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1187s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0146s) ][ GZIP on ]