Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 11:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Installing latest Skype for linux outside your pupsave
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 22:22    Post subject:  Installing latest Skype for linux outside your pupsave
Subject description: Even works if your /mnt/home directory is on ntfs filesystem
 

This is an alternative to using an sfs.

NOTE WELL: Don't install the provided skype.desktop dotpet unless you've read this carefully and understood it. In particular don't install it if you already have skype because it would overwrite your existing skype.desktop file.

You can share the same Skype between different frugal installs of Puppy without using up any space on your pupsave file by storing the skype program directory in directory /mnt/home. It even works if your /mnt/home directory is on ntfs filesystem as do tricks with symlinks, contrary to other rumours, per the post I made here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=652748#652748. I'm not in any case using any symlink here for skype however, just a suitably crafted skype.desktop file.

This has been tested on Lupu-528-005, Slacko-5.3.3, Slacko-5.4 Beta and Precise 5.4 (The version of Skype below doesn't unfortunately seem to work on wary 5.3 because incompatible glibc - I think...)

Steps:

1. Download skype static from http://www.skype.com/intl/en/get-skype/on-your-computer/linux/downloading.static for linux to your /mnt/home directory. The latest at today's date (16 sept 2012) is skype_staticQT-4.0.0.8.

2. Click on the download and extract it to /mnt/home. It all ends up in its own directory called skype_staticQT-4.0.0.8. i.e. You should now have a directory /mnt/home/skype_staticQT-4.0.0.8 which contains the skype program and everything to do with it.

3. Finally, make a text file called skype.desktop with the following contents and copy it into directory /usr/share/applications

EDIT: I have now added in to the attached dotpet the small extra /usr/bin/skype script suggested by 666philB below so that sound notifications will work and the alteration below "Exec=skype" is on account of that change:

Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Skype
Icon=/mnt/home/skype_staticQT-4.0.0.8/icons/SkypeBlue_16x16.png
Comment=Skype
Exec=skype
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-Internet
GenericName=Skype


Clearly, as new version numbers of linux static skype are released, you have to change the skype directory name above to match that.

That's all there is to it. Lots of other ways to do this, but this is easy and works.

When you next restart your system (or window manager) you'll find the skype startup icon under menu category "Internet". Like I said, you can copy the above skype.desktop file into more than one frugally installed puppy and share the same skype in /mnt/home/skype_staticQT-4.0.0.8

Just to make the above even easier, here is a tiny tiny dotpet, which simply contains the above skype.desktop and automatically puts it into the /usr/share/applications directory for you. But, I repeat... DO NOT install this is you already have skype installed on your puppy because it will overwrite any existing skype.desktop already in there.
skypeDesktopfileOnly-4.0.0.8.pet
Description  Do NOT install if you already have skype!
pet

 Download 
Filename  skypeDesktopfileOnly-4.0.0.8.pet 
Filesize  597 Bytes 
Downloaded  549 Time(s) 

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.

Last edited by mcewanw on Sun 04 Nov 2012, 23:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
elcurita

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2012, 02:15    Post subject:  

It works beatiful on Precise Beta 6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2012, 04:08    Post subject:  

hi mcewanw,

i discovered a problem with starting the skype static with a symlink or directly calling it from a desktop file. you'll find you have no sound notifications.

for some reason skype needs to be started directly from the folder it's in, not called from outside it with a link or path. try it yourself and see,

to get round this i put a small script called skype in /usr/bin/
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /mnt/home/skype_staticQT-4.0.0.8/
./skype

the 'exec' line in the .desktop file should be changed to call the script 'Exec=skype'
the script has the same effect as directly opening the folder and then clicking on the skype binary. and sound notifications will now work. Very Happy

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 23:46    Post subject:  

Thanks 666philB,

I added your suggested small script to the dotpet in the first post and modified the desktop file accordingly. I haven't tested sound notifications but hope all is fine now.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tannaroo

Joined: 17 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 01:41    Post subject:  

hi all,
i followed the instructions above and installed skype and the pet desktop only file.

when i click skype on menu, internet, skype - nothing happens.

therefore, skype doesn't boot up.

i tried rebooting but still skype doesn't boot up.

is there something that can done?

using precise puppy 5.4

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 07:21    Post subject:  

hi tannaroo

the desktop file may need to be altered to work with your skype .... can you try starting skype from within the skype folder (just click on the skype binary), to check that it's working

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tannaroo

Joined: 17 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 08:06    Post subject:  

Hi 666philb,

Sorry for lack of knowledge but is that file the one with the gear icon in mnt/home/?

If so, I clicked on that and nothing happens.

I also clicked the skype icon in usr/bin and again nothing happens.

Thanks tan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 11:19    Post subject:  

hi tannaroo,

maybe uninstall the skype you are using and try this one
http://e-nautia.com/disk/download.php?id=4731598 it's working fine for me in precise.

you can uninstall programs in the PPM (puppy package manager) just left click on the program you want to uninstall.

to load the sfs, right click on it and choose 'sfs load' then choose 'move' if it asks you.

if this skype fails to start ... click the 'home' icon on the desktop. then click the 'eye' at the top of the window to show hidden files. and delete the '.Skype' folder if there is one

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tannaroo

Joined: 17 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 22:41    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi tannaroo,

maybe uninstall the skype you are using and try this one
http://e-nautia.com/disk/download.php?id=4731598 it's working fine for me in precise.

you can uninstall programs in the PPM (puppy package manager) just left click on the program you want to uninstall.

to load the sfs, right click on it and choose 'sfs load' then choose 'move' if it asks you.

if this skype fails to start ... click the 'home' icon on the desktop. then click the 'eye' at the top of the window to show hidden files. and delete the '.Skype' folder if there is one


hi Phil666b,

i followed these instructions and remove all skype versions and loaded the sfs version. removed the .skype from home and tried to launch skype from the menu.

but again it did nothing.

there is a new .skype folder in home.

i've managed to install other applications with no problems but skype just doesnt want to work.

do you have any other suggestions please?

EDIT: i've also tried to launch the the 'gear' skype icon in opt/skype but still did nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 03:13    Post subject:  

hi tannaroo

can you run it from a terminal.... just click the console icon on the desktop and type skype.

you can copy the resulting output here by highlighting the text and using middle click to paste.

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tannaroo

Joined: 17 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 03:30    Post subject:  

Ok.

Typed "skype" in console.

the cursor just blinks for about 5 secs, then stops blinking for about 3 seconds.

then says "Aborted"

EDIT: also tried removing the shared.xml file from /.Skype and adding a new folder /Logs in /.Skype (i saw this possible solutions from other discussions). But still Skype doesnt work and console says aborted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 12:17    Post subject:  

hi tannaroo,

sorry i just tested that skype i gave a link to and it doesn't work in a vanilla puppy, this one however does http://www.mediafire.com/file/tcvzjwoc2dgenlk/skype-4_sfs4.sfs it's not the very latest but should work hopefully.

uninstall any other skype first and it might be an idea to delete the /root/.Skype folder as well

fingers crossed

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tannaroo

Joined: 17 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 23:30    Post subject:  

Thanks 666philb.

I installed new skype application. Still didn't load up but I typed skype in the console. And it went further this time. This is what it says:

# skype
/usr/bin/skype: line 2: 10970 Aborted ./skype
#

So I went to the /usr/bin/skype file and it reads:

cd /opt/skype4
./skype

So then I went to opt/skype4 directory. I only see the skype 'gear' icon no folder called skype.

It seems we are getting closer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 12:53    Post subject:  

hi tannaroo,

that skype works in a fresh precise puppy and retro precise (i tested it) , so my thoughts are that maybe something may of got messed up with your puppy. to test can you boot live (without loading the savefile)

if you boot from the cd and at the boot screen press 'F2' i think to get the boot options and then type
Code:
puppy pfix=ram
this boots live without a savefile.

if you're booting with 'grub4dos' at the grub4dos menu screen ,select your puppy with the cursor keys and press 'e' to edit ... then select the kernel line and press 'e' again. change the end to 'pfix=ram' and press 'b' to boot
Code:
'EXAMPLE'...... kernel /precise/vmlinuz   psubdir=precise pmedia=atahd pfix=ram


if you have a full install you'll have to boot with a cd or usb

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tannaroo

Joined: 17 Feb 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 19:25    Post subject:  

hi 666philb,

i really appreciate your help. i think you have been great.

i decided to ditch puppy linux and skype. just dont have the patience for it anymore.

again, thanks for your help.

cheers
tan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0960s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]