Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 03:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Weird Graphical Glitching after installing Precise Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
dogbert0360

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 19:41    Post_subject:  Weird Graphical Glitching after installing Precise Puppy  

So far I've liked installing Precise Puppy 5.4 but now I've been experiencing some weird graphical glitching. I wish that I could take a screen capture to show you what I'm talking about but it would be very difficult since part of the glitching are icons that have just square boxes for fonts. And the icons on my desktop are now just upside down red triangles with the same small box shape objects for fonts.

Has anyone else experienced this yet. Maybe someone can upload a screen capture so you can see what I mean.

HELP!!!!!!... Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
julakali

Joined: 03 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 11:07    Post_subject:  

Same here.
I just installed puppy (grubconfig doesn't work as it can't find stage1, grub4dos works) and used the package manager to install clementine afterwards.

During the installation of clementine, all characters changed to boxes.
After a restart, all icons turned invalid, too.

Left me with a completely useless system.

Oh, and i took a "screenshot".
DSC_0012_small.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.06 KB
 Viewed   1888 Time(s)

DSC_0012_small.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 12:12    Post_subject:  

julakali wrote:
Same here.
I just installed puppy (grubconfig doesn't work as it can't find stage1, grub4dos works) and used the package manager to install clementine afterwards.

During the installation of clementine, all characters changed to boxes.
After a restart, all icons turned invalid, too.

Left me with a completely useless system.

Oh, and i took a "screenshot".


Don't post images over "600" in size.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 12:42    Post_subject:  

which graphics cards are you using
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
julakali

Joined: 03 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Sorry for the image beeing to wide.
I don't think it has to do anything with graphics card.
It's an Pentium M based Notebook with Intel onboard graphics.

I just tried again, installed puppy - everything works - installed exaile this time - same bug.

edit:
Did i mention i'm using retropuppy 5.4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
julakali

Joined: 03 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 17:23    Post_subject:  

gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders has an empty output on that broken system, while it lists many loaders on a working system!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 18:07    Post_subject:  

julakali wrote:
Did i mention i'm using retropuppy 5.4?

No. This version is advertised as strictly experimental. As a Puppy beginner, you would be better off starting with established versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 18:39    Post_subject:  

The thread for "Precise" bugs already exists;
Puppy Precise 5.4.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 18:53    Post_subject:  

Code:
gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache
Restart X and reset your wallpaper. Report back.

As far as I know, a similar command is run in only /etc/rc.d/rc.update. I disagree with how it's handled in rc.update and change it for Slacko versions.

-------------------------------------------

Rationale:

At some point the system starts looking for loaders.cache in /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuf-2.0/2.10.0. If that happens then looaders.cache becomes a broken symlink. This is because /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu is actually a symlink to /usr/lib
Code:
# pwd
/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuf-2.0/2.10.0
# ls
loaders  loaders.cache
# readlink loaders.cache
../../../../etc/gtk-2.0/gdk-pixbuf.loaders
# cd ../../../../etc
# pwd
/usr/etc
# ls
#

Nothing in /usr/etc. I don't know at what point the system starts looking in i386-linux-gnu but I do know creating the actual file instead of a symlink is a solution [with the command I posted above].

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zul

Joined: 05 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 04:19    Post_subject:    

to fix that bug on your linux retro precise puppy

just make a symbolic link directory of pango and gdk-pixbuff-2.0 into /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

Code:
#ln -s /usr/lib/pango /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/pango

#ln -s /usr/lib/gdk-pixbuff-2.0 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuff-2.0


and then restart, also dont forget to change your wallpaper Laughing

well it works for me... Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Repip

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 01:08    Post_subject: Weird Characters and Icons after downloading VLC Player
Sub_title: Square Boxes instead of characters, Triangles instead of Icons
 

Hi,
I am very new user, only 1 week old .. I have been running Precise Puppy Ver 5.4.2 on a SD Card for the past week and all worked very well.
Only extra programs I had loaded on the SD card were Firefox Browser and VLC Player.
I decided to install on Hard Drive and it worked fine until I downloaded VLC Player when near the end of the package download the screens displayed square boxes instead of characters.
I closed down the package manager and rebooted the machine only to find that now all the icons have changed to Triangles.
I have started from scratch again .. did a full re-load onto HD and did same downloads ie Mozilla FireFox ..Ok ... however VLC Player all squares again.
The machine works fine with the SD card however not with HD ??
I have read this Thread about making a symbolic link , however don't have a clue what that means .... pity !!
Can anyone help
I am using a Aspire One laptop
regards
Repip
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 11:28    Post_subject:  

Hi Repip,

Welcome to the forum.


Repip wrote:
I am very new user, only 1 week old ..

Repip wrote:
I have read this Thread about making a symbolic link , however don't have a clue what that means .... pity !!

Since it sounds like you may be new to entering commands in a terminal window, I'll try to provide enough detail. Forgive me if I tell you things that you already know.

Normally you would open a terminal window by clicking on the desktop icon labeled "Console", but you can't read those labels at the moment. On most Puppies, that icon is in the top row on the far right unless you relocated it. Try clicking that icon and a window named "urxvt" should open.

(If that doesn't work, you can use the "Urxvt terminal emulator" item in the menus, usually in the Utility sub-menu.)

In order to help us troubleshoot this problem, it would be very helpful if you would report the output from a couple of commands in your next post. The best way to enter suggested commands is to copy and paste them. Pasting in the terminal window is probably different from what you may be used to in other applications. Once you have copied one line from the "Code" box below, go to the urxvt window by giving it a left-click, then paste by clicking your middle mouse button. (If you don't have a middle mouse button, hold your Shift key and press your Insert key.) Finally, press Enter to execute the command.

Repeat for the other command.

(If copying and pasting don't work for you, you can always type the command. Please note that there are no one digits ('1') in the following commands, only lower case L's ('l').)

What output do you get for these commands?
Code:
ls -ld /lib/i386-linux-gnu
ls -ld /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

This will tell us if those items are still symbolic links, as they should be, or if the installation of VLC Player changed them to directories or removed them entirely.

Once we know what has happened, we can provide further advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Repip

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 19:57    Post_subject: Weird Graphical Glitching after installing Precise Puppy  

Hi npierce,
Whatever you tell me is all new ... so please treat me "gently" ... ha ..
I found urxvt and typed in the commands, tried to Copy/Paste results Ctrl-C to a text document to attach to this email however that obviously doesn't work in Linux, so wrote the results down , here they are.

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2 Nov 29 11:28 /lib/i386-linux-gnu->./

next command returns this

drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 Dec 6 14:32 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

strange that everything works Ok if I boot up on the SD Card ?
Is it possible to get the system / applications that I want onto the SD Card and then merely "copy" all that onto the Hard Drive ie without doing a "install" onto the hard drive? or doesn't it work that way ?

PS
Thankyou for the help, I am really keen to learn a little about Puppy and migrate from Windows, Puppy appears so far to be so much faster and simpler.

Repip (Bruce)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 01:50    Post_subject:  

Hi Repip,

Thanks for reporting the results of those commands.

Yes, although copying and pasting with Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V works with many applications in Puppy, copying and pasting to and from the urxvt window requires another method. To copy, just highlight the text with your mouse and left button, like usual, but don't press Ctrl-C. To paste, left-click on the window that you want to paste to, then click the middle mouse button -- nowadays that button is usually a scroll wheel (in this case, press it, don't spin it). If you have no such button or scroll wheel, you can click both left and right buttons simultaneously, but that usually requires a bit of practice to get it right -- at first it can be a little frustrating. Alternatively, pasting into the urxvt window can be done with Shift-Insert, but that doesn't work going the other way (pasting text from the urxvt window into another application).

Anyway, your hand copying worked fine. The results indicate that installing VLC Player didn't affect /lib/i386-linux-gnu, but did change /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu from a symbolic link (or "symlink") to a directory. (The 'l' at the start of the output for /lib/i386-linux-gnu indicates that it is still a link; the 'd' at the start of the output for /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu indicates that it is now a directory.) (If you are unsure of what a symlink is, feel free to ask.)

You are not the only one who has run into this problem. By providing that output, you have helped bring us closer to tracking down the root cause of the problem.

As you say, it seems strange that this works fine with your SD card. But Puppy does things differently internally depending upon what mode it is running in, so a bug that shows up in one mode may not appear in another.

It will help if we know what mode your Puppy is running in, and how the DISTRO_ARCHDIR variable is defined. Please report the results of these two commands:
Code:
grep ARCHDIR /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
grep PUPMODE /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE


Of course I know that you also want to get your icons and their captions back, and not just report results of various commands. These commands may do that:
Code:
mkdir /root/temporary_vlc_libs
cp -a -f /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/* /root/temporary_vlc_libs/
sync
rm -r -f /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu
ln -s ./ /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

These commands will save some of the files that were installed with VLC Player in a temporary directory, then remove the directory that was created, and recreate the correct symlink.

After running these commands, save anything you are working on and restart the X Server by going to the menu and choosing Restart X Server from the Shutdown submenu. I think that may restore your icons and their text. If not, try rebooting the PC.

Please, let us know if that works.

If it does work, you may then be able to get VLC Player to work after executing the following command. Since VLC Player worked for you when installed on your SD card, I don't anticipate any real danger here, but if you have saved anything that you don't want to loose, it might be a good idea to back it up before running this command, just in case.
Code:
cp -a -f --remove-destination /root/temporary_vlc_libs/* /usr/lib/

This copies the library files that you previously saved in the temporary directory, and puts them where the applications can find them.


Repip wrote:
Is it possible to get the system / applications that I want onto the SD Card and then merely "copy" all that onto the Hard Drive ie without doing a "install" onto the hard drive? or doesn't it work that way ?

Well, in theory, yes. But knowing what to copy is the hard part. When a package is installed, a list of its files is saved in /root/.packages. But if the packages caused dependency packages to be installed, and if the dependency packages cause more dependency packages to be installed, and . . . Well, you might have to chase down a lot of files. And then with some packages there are install scripts that you would need to examine. So, yes, it can be done. But with any luck we can solve this problem and you won't have to resort to doing that.

Repip wrote:
Thankyou for the help, I am really keen to learn a little about Puppy and migrate from Windows, Puppy appears so far to be so much faster and simpler.

You're welcome. It seems that you have already learned quite a bit.

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Repip

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 03:15    Post_subject: Weird Graphical Glitching after installing Precise Puppy
Sub_title: Restore Icons
 

npierce,
Thankyou Session Icons restored, by the way i am not too concerned at this stage about any 'glitches' with the Laptop as i haven't loaded any personal stuff on it yet, just Puppy and Mozilla and VLC Player.
I have other computers to work with so at this stage I will just experiment with Puppy until I am confident with it then load personal stuff on.
It really is a simple quick exercise to completely reload Puppy anyway so I am willing to try anything at this point.

So the results are ... unfortunately I couldn't copy/paste into a text doc because the characters were all squares so I didn't know what button etc to press to save etc.
So i had to write the results down ...

multiarch distros , such as Ubuntu, will leave this, ex:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu, so DISTRO_ARCHDIR = i386-linux-gnu DISTRO_ARCHDIR=' '

next command results ....

PUPMODE = 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1446s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0399s) ][ GZIP on ]