Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 19:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Strange GUI error after Woofing?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 00:13    Post subject:  Strange GUI error after Woofing?  

Very Happy Hello,
Can anyone point me to what draws the missing part of this GUI...???
I`m seeing this in a few Puppies now, and they were fine before I ran woof..
My 527.3.6.2 squeeze worked fine, then it did this too... In the same session!!! I am at a loss ATM how part of a GUI can work one minute, and not work the next, in the same session.. All I did was woof.. Maybe a postinstall.sh in woof affecting my running Pup???
error.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  error.jpg 
Filesize  301.59 KB 
Downloaded  273 Time(s) 

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...

Last edited by puppyluvr on Thu 01 Nov 2012, 22:53; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 00:19    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
I posted this from my 527 which was fixed, for the moment, by a reboot!! All my new woofs have this error... And it has spread to my frugal Pups as well.. 527 worked fine for weeks, then..... And how TF does a reboot fix it? It doesnt in the new woofs...
I am at a loss to explain it....

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 00:26    Post subject:  

Smile Hello,
OK, this is really strange..
In my 527, after the last post, I ran the network wizard..
It worked fine...
Then I ran it again, and got the above partial GUI...
Unable to connect....
I rebooted, and am posting from it now....
Sorry, but WTF is going on?????
Will examine my savefile for clues.....

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 01:21    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
From the Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook (150+ Very Happy ):

Jay Stansbury BTW, I am running 527 ATM, a reboot fixed it, for now!!!
about an hour ago · Like

Jay Stansbury Run the wizard once, full GUI, run it again, and a partial GUI... Reboot, and a full GUI again.... once....
46 minutes ago · Like

Jay Stansbury Rebooted 5.2.7 again... This time, the wireless card didnt initialize.. the wizard was partial.. "ifconfig wlan0 up" brought the card up.. Ran the wizard again, and it was COMPLETE!!! (doesnt work in 3.6.4 Precise or 3.6.4 Squeeze.) Is there an error message somewhere?? Running in a terminal PRODUCES NO ERRORS!!!!! It just dont work, so the GUI is missing because an underlying piece of software (wpa_supplicant????) is failing... I am going to start again clean.. My 3.6.2 kernel, and the Pups I woofed from it WERE FINE. Built 3.6.4, woofed Precision from it, and all hell breaks loose. The problem occurred after woofing with 3.6.4, so I will remove everything related to that process.. Will stick the whole shebang on a jumpdrive, and start over... I am pissed off royally that a completely different Puppy, which had functioned for about 2 weeks flawlessly, while I built all kinds of stuff with it, and was building a Trekpup upon, went sour after woofing Precision, on a different Pup, (which was the first place I had the error occur...) and remains jacked up..
That is impossible....... Period... Frugal installs are separate, isolated... Dpup with 3.6.2, Precise, Lupen, and so many others are fine...

I am "bumfuzzled".............. Evil or Very Mad

I think I am going to build on a kernel 3.x.x series Wary.. Been building on Lupen and Dpup Exprimo...Gonna create a clean, new, generic, "Built By BarryK" build environment... I`m not adding squat to these builds.. It has to be something in my build environment..???
Virtually everything (except Archpup) I have ever woofed, or even unleashed, has worked, or failed in known ways (Napu/xorg).. Till I woofed with 3.6.4.

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 12:49    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Well, I found an answer that fixed Precision-5.3.6.2....
Posting from it ATM via wireless!!!
I installed Pwireless2. Whatever was missing, it installed..
Will look into /root/.packages later and see what it was~~
Doesnt explain how the other Pups are jacked up. But I`ll deal with that later...
Now to rewoof it with Pwireless2 included.....

Off to test it on Pion-5.3.6.4.. Cool

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 22:51    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Pwireless installs new copies of wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd..
I can now connect with Pwireless... So guess what..
I need to fsck the partition, and create a new woof..
The same packages worked fine for 3.4.2 and 3.6.2..
Both the debian and precise builds have dhcpcd trouble..
So not Woof, but corruption, must be responsible...
Im just glad it aint my kernel.. These last 2 are blazing fast..
I have a 2.6.38.2 that pemasu built that was also 1000hz...
I loved it!! so I build them all that way now...
I just dont see the drawbacks, but I "feel" the difference..

I`m gonna fire up the P3/600 and see if it borks on it...
I just scored a pc2700/256mb for it during an upgrade... Cool

You know, it occurs to me that I am talking to myself.. LOL
But it is still helping! Cool

Anyhow.. I have a 3.6.2 and 3.6.4 kernel at 1000hz... Apparently they are fine... So after I fix my woofing mystery, I`m a gonna have a few fast and frisky pups....
Sweet

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4116
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 18:36    Post subject: You asked on the Precise thread if that was addressing this  

Yes.

See your PM.

Shinobar's FirstRUN does not introduce this problem. See below.

Note: You may want to ask 01Micko how he gets around that. TaZoC has gotten around this by conitnuing to use Shino's version in all of his LH64 PUPs. But, I'm not sure how its actually done.
Shinobar-Version.png
 Description   Shinobar's FirstRUN.
 Filesize   110.04 KB
 Viewed   304 Time(s)

Shinobar-Version.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0626s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]