Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 15:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 23:38    Post subject: Can't highlight (but can select) text in SeaMonkey
Subject description: [SOLVED] to my satisfaction
 

Really incredible distro Barry! Thank You

This might already known, but maybe not. It happens in the SeaMonkey browser & composer. It doesn't happen in Geany for example...

Quite simply selecting text with the <-- --> keys works but does not highlight the text. Same thing with the mouse pointer, it does select it and copy/paste works, but it doesn't show (kind of blindly going at it...but it does work).

Well, I've tried the Mouse/Keyboard Wizard, nothing. It's never been a problem, I'll try more.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
UPDATE & SOLVED: After using SeaMonkey a few days, I see there is indeed some highlighting, it's just very faint.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Last edited by dennis-slacko531 on Sun 28 Oct 2012, 04:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1571

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 00:58    Post subject: Re: Saving to SDcard  

bigpup wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
Before we get to an all out relegion, freedom of speech/choice etc debate Rolling Eyes ...
Did anyone tried to boot from an SDcard and then save to the entire SDcard partition?
I can see the files there after reboot but puppy keeps booting to pupmode 5, as for the first time.
It would appear that the issue is with the rc.shutdown but before I start digging would be good to know if is not something specific to my card/hardware.
Besides is getting late tonight

Did you format the SDcard in a Linux format?
I think that is required when saving to entire partition.


Yes of course!
I did try another card and is the same thing. So is not the card
Actually one card had Luci saved to the entire partition before and still failed with precise (and yes I also removed the whiteouts). Putted back Luci and works fine.
Saving to a file in Precise-5.4 on the same SDcards, works fine.
So looks like a bug.

Luci was the last puppy I installed saving to an entire SDcard partition and since then many things changed in puppy's init/rc.sysinit/rc.shutdown that could cause this
So again,
Did anybody booted Precise (or any recent woof-based puppy) from an (ext2/3/4 formatted) SDcard and saved to the entire SDcard partition succesfully?
Thx


Latter: This IS a bug! I replaced the precise initrd/init with the one from Lucid 5.1 (last entry: "#100520 pkeys boot param wasn't working for 'uk', 'dvorak'."). Sure enough the saved partitione was recognized the layered file system set and everything was OK.!!!
Putting back the original precise initrd/init in the already set and working (with the luci init) system, fails again and boots to pupmode 5.
From the little that I checked with the failing init the SDcard partitions are detected and logged OK in initrd, so it probably has to do with the logic of determining that the entire mmcblk[0-9]p[0-9], sd[a-z][1-9] is used.
Unfortunately there is a 1700 lines of code difference between the two init files and a massive "find files" rewrite. So I guess is up to Barry.

Latter Later: Turns out that precise also fails to find the files when saving to an entire USB stick partition, not just an SDcard.!

Com'n guys and gals ... Did anybody booted Precise (or any recent woof-based puppy) from an (ext2/3/4 formatted) SDcard or USB stick and "saved to the entire partition" succesfully? ie on reboot the and saved data was recognized and used by puppy.

Last edited by mavrothal on Thu 25 Oct 2012, 12:28; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 01:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
Grumbling: >>> B43 Broadcom.
Have we ever heard of this nightmare??
Most of our devs have squashed this.
Except Precise Puppy 5.4.

From linux wireless b43 page:
http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#Other_distributions_not_mentioned_above

If you are using the b43 driver from 3.2 kernel or newer:
Quote:
After installing b43-fwcutter, download version 5.100.138 of Broadcom's proprietary driver and extract the firmware from it:
1 export FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR="/lib/firmware"
2 wget http://www.lwfinger.com/b43-firmware/broadcom-wl-5.100.138.tar.bz2
3 tar xjf broadcom-wl-5.100.138.tar.bz2
4 sudo b43-fwcutter -w "$FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR" broadcom-wl-5.100.138/linux/wl_apsta.o

download version 5.100.138 of Broadcom's proprietary driver and extract the firmware from it

I just have that newer firmware package in dpups with 3.2.X kernels and newer. Precise Puppy still uses the older b43 firmware package. That could be reason that not all b43 chips works.

People with b43 driver not working situation, could check what dmesg outputs. It could produce b43 needed firmware loading error. Then my post included pet might help.

Here is attached as pet my used b43 firmware folder. Remove first all firmwares from the folder:
/lib/modules/all-firmware/b43/lib/firmware/b43/*
Then install the pet. This is for those broadcom chips which use b43 driver and the firmware does not seem to work. And this is only my hunch of the problem.
b43_firmwares_for_3.2.x_kernels-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  b43_firmwares_for_3.2.x_kernels-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  348.32 KB 
Downloaded  516 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 02:24    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Grumbling: >>> B43 Broadcom.
Why not Frisbee.....for wireless.????
Chris,


Hi Chris

For Frisbee for Precise see:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=85
use Version 2 for Precise

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
badair

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 04:59    Post subject:  

I'll seed for as long as I can! Thanks so much to you other seeders... That saved me over half an hour of download time.

I actually discovered puppy linux today. I've been a casual ubuntu user for awhile, so I'm still pretty new to linux. I'm trying to create a custom multiboot usb with grub4dos right now (I understand there are some issues with puppy, but I'm determined to get it to work).

I may even do away with my HDD ubuntu install and just use puppy. I'm about to load it for the first time in QEMU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 05:08    Post subject: black screen  

I have also had occasional black screens with tool bar on booting. I have followed Shinobar's suggestion and will report back:

Quote:
I propose putting more sleep, simply for all hardware. I mean more sleep at line 57: sleep 1 #let the dust settle after X has started. 120718 reduce 2 to 1.

I propose: sleep 1 ===> sleep 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1795
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 05:34    Post subject:  

This may help.

http://www.smokey01.com/videos/Puppy_on_Flash.mpeg


badair wrote:
I'll seed for as long as I can! Thanks so much to you other seeders... That saved me over half an hour of download time.

I actually discovered puppy linux today. I've been a casual ubuntu user for awhile, so I'm still pretty new to linux. I'm trying to create a custom multiboot usb with grub4dos right now (I understand there are some issues with puppy, but I'm determined to get it to work).

I may even do away with my HDD ubuntu install and just use puppy. I'm about to load it for the first time in QEMU.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 06:13    Post subject: Broadcom wl wifi driver for Precise  

The multi-kernel Broadcom-STA wl wifi driver pet has now been modified to directly support Precise 5.4.

Download from:
broadcom_sta_v5.100.82.112_patched_x86_32-multi.pet

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boon

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 07:17    Post subject: Puppy-Universal-Installer crashes
Subject description: on trying to do full install of Precise Puppy
 

Hi, I already posted this in the beginners section.

I got following problem. Trying to do a full install of Precise on my hard drive, Puppy-Universal-Installer crashes after selecting the partition to install to. When I start puppyinstaller from console, I get:
Quote:

** (gtkdialog4:4524): ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 5, near token '</label>': syntax error



Any idea what is going on?
Thank you for the great work, boon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 07:29    Post subject:  

shinobar and Barry ... concerning the so-called black screen at
bootup issue, I'd be happy to test a modified 5.4 with the larger
wait states on my three PCs here. I would do at least 10 hard
bootups on all three machines.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Blammo2525

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 09:50    Post subject: Pretty nice
Subject description: woof
 

Just playing around with it a bit.Interesting collection of packages defaulted.Fast and smoothe.
Is there a good tutorial on HDD install "along side" like every other Ubuntu derivative offers ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3220
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 13:19    Post subject:  

Blammo wrote:
Is there a good tutorial on HDD install "along side" like every other Ubuntu derivative offers ?


It is called a 'Full install' when a full partition is used by a Linux distro.
The standard linux folders will be created such as /usr, /root, /mnt ....

A 'Frugal install' allows another operating system to be pre-installed
on the same partition. This is the most popular method by Puppy users.

Go to this page and click 'Installation' for useful information...

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HomePage

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 16:01    Post subject:  

Just so Blammo doesn't get too frustrated by being told how Puppy does things, the answer to the question he asked is NO.

For those who have not experienced how Ubuntu and others easily install alongside others by splitting a partition, it is something that would be cool to have in Puppy, but as Puppy was only designed for full installation as an alternative option, it may never happen.

It would be helpful to prospective users to have it brought to their attention some way, that Puppy is meant for frugal install as a first preference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Blammo2525

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 16:42    Post subject:  

kooliepup wrote:
Just so Blammo doesn't get too frustrated by being told how Puppy does things, the answer to the question he asked is NO.

For those who have not experienced how Ubuntu and others easily install alongside others by splitting a partition, it is something that would be cool to have in Puppy, but as Puppy was only designed for full installation as an alternative option, it may never happen.

It would be helpful to prospective users to have it brought to their attention some way, that Puppy is meant for frugal install as a first preference.

Thanks. I opted for boot-run to memory via cd and save session to USB. It's cool but IMNSHO the installer is complete idiocy.
I like the setup and may alter a few things and re-do it with remastersys. The package manager is a bit of a farce as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 629
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 21:27    Post subject: Black screens just about anywhere anytime -only with PAE
Subject description: Frugal only so far tried with PAE
 

G'day,
Precise-5.4 PAE has failed on my 2GB RAM desktop with a black screen every time I've managed to get it running (some blackies during starting). Only as a manual Frugal (files copied from the mounted iso) on my frugals partition (40GB of 49GB used, ~8GB free). The iso checksum is correct.
Not being able to create a Save file with the Frugal 5.4 (fails on shutting down when I've got that far Rolling Eyes ), I tried copying an existing Save file from an earlier Precise Frugal (.97) which was upgraded to 5.4 during starting up. But this froze after about 5 minutes.
I also tried a forum suggestion to use "vga=normal" in the grub menu but booting this way the 5.4 eventually froze or black-screened.

I have a Radeon HD5450 graphics card which has had lots of Save-file issues with Ubuntu/Debian Frugal Pups such that I regularly replace the default linux radeon driver with the proprietary ati pet. I wasn't able to load up the fglrx driver before getting a black screen with 5.4. And couldn't get vesa to work trying the videowizard route.

I had occasional freezes/black-screens with very recent Precises (.96, .97) but these were as nothing compared to 5.4 on my desktop.

Anyway, slackos, Racys and Exprimos (with flgrx) all work very well (including pemasu's early go at doing a Precise-based Pup), so I don't need the imprecise Precise to play around with.

Pity though.

David S.

PS: Precise54-Retro on the other hand has worked perfectly on my (confirmed) PAE-enabled desktop. Frugal & Full RetroPrecises both installed simply and have operated with no freezing nor black screens.

Last edited by davids45 on Sun 28 Oct 2012, 21:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1152s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]