Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 21:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Weird problem with wireless connection (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
geo909


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Crete, Greece

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2012, 21:57    Post subject:  Weird problem with wireless connection (Solved)
Subject description: Will connect once only if I change my router password
 

Hi all,

I have this weird problem with my network connection:

I can initially connect to my wep-secured network using any of the tools
provided by puppy 5.28. Once I reboot to puppy or even start puppy
without a saved session, I cannot acquire an ip address (please see
attached screenshots). However, if I change the password of my
d-link router I can connect once; if I reboot I cannot connect unless I
change my password on the router again.

Note that I don't have any such problem when I connect to my network
using xp or some other linux setup from this or some other computer.

Please, any help would be very appreciated! Any ideas?

PS. When I say 'change the password' I mean connect to the router
from another computer and change the wep password; please see the
attached screenshot.
untitled.JPG
 Description   This is the security settings of my router
 Filesize   148.87 KB
 Viewed   557 Time(s)

untitled.JPG

image-3.png
 Description   Seems I have no problem up to this point, but when I try auto dhcp I do not acquire an ip address, without getting any error message either..
 Filesize   54.93 KB
 Viewed   577 Time(s)

image-3.png

image-1.png
 Description   Connected to the network but no ip?
 Filesize   72.67 KB
 Viewed   578 Time(s)

image-1.png


Last edited by geo909 on Sun 28 Oct 2012, 11:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3454
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 02:20    Post subject:  

geo909:

Seeing no one replied.

"""""""""

528 has Frisbee >> under Network >> as a Pet.

Click on the icon to install.

Wait 30 seconds....till it's up and running.

Now click >> Connect and Frisbee should start.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo909


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Crete, Greece

PostPosted: Sun 21 Oct 2012, 13:46    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
geo909:

Seeing no one replied.

"""""""""

528 has Frisbee >> under Network >> as a Pet.

Click on the icon to install.

Wait 30 seconds....till it's up and running.

Now click >> Connect and Frisbee should start.

Chris.


Thanks.. I tried frisbee, though (my last screenshot is frisbee trying
as well) Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2669
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 21 Oct 2012, 14:18    Post subject:  

Hi geo - you mentioned WEP, yet the router display seems to suggest that WPA is the security mode. I am assuming this must just be a typo or else you would never have been able to connect (I would have thought anyway).

If it isn't a typo then I'm wondering if your router allows one "false" WEP connection to be made in order to allow admin access for configuration (or something odd like that).

I would be inclined to diasble Frisbee and troubleshoot this with the standard "classic" network connection wizard, which I have always found much more successful than Frisbee or SNS (but that's probably just a result of my particular types of hardware).

I would also recommend trying this from a "Live CD" booted with "puppy pfix=ram" to see if a totally fresh environment shows any change in symptoms. Also, if you type ifconfig after trying the auto dhcp step, what IP does it show?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo909


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Crete, Greece

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 18:11    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Hi geo - you mentioned WEP, yet the router display seems to suggest that WPA is the security mode. I am assuming this must just be a typo or else you would never have been able to connect (I would have thought anyway).


Oh boy, oh boy.. How embarrassing.. I spent hours on that, trying all sorts of stuff and command line geekery. I was choosing the wrong security mode. Thanks for figuring that out for me (and sorry for the late reply)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2669
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 03:43    Post subject:  

Excellent - glad you got it sorted. Thanks for posting back to confirm the result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2012, 18:13    Post subject:  

Hey, don't be embarrassed - you were probably fooled by the old Pwireless scan which reports WPA incorrectly as WEP - you wouldn't be the first one....

...... that glitch had me tearing my hair out a while back when trying to connect, until it dawned on me what was happening. One of Puppy's more mischievous little tricks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0591s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]