Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 12:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 5.14.2 Beta 4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 14 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 14:21    Post_subject:  

A few additions to the release notes preview previously posted here:

Wine-1.5.14-i486, Samba-4.6.5, Skype-4.0.0.7 (thanks to meeki) and some of the latest PupMates from radky via the Update repo.

Hi Barburo,
Thanks for the feedback. I'm seeing the same behavior with Compiz effects here. I thought it was because I have two monitors connected. Compiz (and, in KDE4 if Desktop Effects are enabled) has some overhead and slows X start up and running. I noticed that when I installed ATI Catalyst driver, X takes a few seconds longer to start up. Lighthouse has some startup scripts that do housekeeping, background management, drive icon label refresh and WM adjustments, no doubt slow things down a bit also.

Of course you can experiment with disabling some of the optional items in the Startup / Autostart folders by moving them to DisabledItems, e.g., xscreensaver-daemon-LHP. Before doing so, restart X and open /var/log/Xtime.log to see how long X took to start up. I noticed that it is faster on a successive X restart than on first start from boot up. Xtime.log should indicate start times for each X startup and WM used since the last reboot.

Lighthouse has some bells and whistles that most other Pups leave out, like show/hide desktop icons, more choice of WM, etc., so it will never be as snappy as Fatdog64. But I try not to add anything unless it serves a purpose, and still think it is much more agile, secure and open to customizing than Windows. I've found that uninstalling Pets can be problematic due to whiteouts left by the layered file system, and personally use SFS whenever possible. Chrome is rather complex as well. Even has its own Flash player, called Pepper.

It would great if MacPup offered a 64-bit version, or if Woof could build x86_64, then it would make incorporating Woof updates more straightforward.

Regards,
TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 16:30    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:
Q5sys wrote:
Dont know if this is a hard coded issue or not, but Drives Manager only seems to be able to view 4 drives in each catagory. I have about 9 USB drives on my system and it can only see 4. If I disconnect one that it does see... then another one will fill that spot.
Can this be changed?
Yes, Radky noted a similar bug earlier and I'm working on both.

For now, try
Code:
pmount-puppy
in a terminal. If that is satisfactory, you can revert Drives Manager back to pmount-puppy with this:
Code:
cp -f /usr/sbin/pmount-puppy /usr/sbin/pmount

Puppyt,
Thanks for the update. Sorry about the difficulties. Try snap2 snapshot backup in the Utilities Menu. More info at http://standish.home3.org/snap2

Regards,
TaZoC


Were you or Radky ever able to figure this one out?

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 17:18    Post_subject:  

Q5sys,
Over the summer, L64_Update-514u2.pet via the Update icon on the desktop:
Quote:
Updated DrivesManager 1.5, (thanks to Radky) and Pmount. Either can be launched from the Filesystem Menu, after the package manager has finished.
The update to 1.5 put the drives in a scroll box, so should be able to manage all of them.

In LH64 5.15 DrivesManager 1.7 adds a small info button next to each drive, which can display device properties of the drive or optical disc, (using disktype) without mounting it.

-TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 17:30    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:
Q5sys,
Over the summer, L64_Update-514u2.pet via the Update icon on the desktop:
Quote:
Updated DrivesManager 1.5, (thanks to Radky) and Pmount. Either can be launched from the Filesystem Menu, after the package manager has finished.
The update to 1.5 put the drives in a scroll box, so should be able to manage all of them.

In LH64 5.15 DrivesManager 1.7 adds a small info button next to each drive, which can display device properties of the drive or optical disc, (using disktype) without mounting it.

-TaZoC


Awesome thanks.
I tried building the latest XFCE package... I built it fine... but it wont load. Just attempts to load and then jumps out to prompt again.
Not sure the issue.

I'll turn my attention to trying to get my LXDE sfs to work sometime this coming week.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 17:41    Post_subject:  More info on Amazon movies  

Meeki and Tozac:

I got Amazon movies to work on my x32 machine again.
Ideas that might make it work in Lhp. [I understand its low priority]
I'm not good with installing files that are not sfs or pets. Or I would try it myself
but I can't find the latest flash x64 as a sfs or pet.

Install firefox 14. DONT let it update, yet. Now install flash version 11.2.202.243.

Once Flash is installed and working in Firefox, let firefox update to the current version.

Reboot the computer.

Now try amazon movies.

If this still does not work, check to be sure Firefox is using the latest version of flash.
That was the the last problem I had to fix to get amazon movies working on
my x32 machine. Even though installed, Firefox was not using latest flash version.
I hope you avoid this by installing flash in Firefox 14.

Hope this helps.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 17:47    Post_subject: Re: More info on Amazon movies  

Pete22 wrote:
Meeki and Tozac:

I got Amazon movies to work on my x32 machine again.
Ideas that might make it work in Lhp. [I understand its low priority]
I'm not good with installing files that are not sfs or pets. Or I would try it myself
but I can't find the latest flash x64 as a sfs or pet.

Install firefox 14. DONT let it update, yet. Now install flash version 11.2.202.243.

Once Flash is installed and working in Firefox, let firefox update to the current version.

Reboot the computer.

Now try amazon movies.

If this still does not work, check to be sure Firefox is using the latest version of flash.
That was the the last problem I had to fix to get amazon movies working on
my x32 machine. Even though installed, Firefox was not using latest flash version.
I hope you avoid this by installing flash in Firefox 14.

Hope this helps.

Pete


There is another round-about way to make it work in LHP. But its rather backwards... Use Virtualbox and run slacko or another 32 bit puppy inside LHP. Then run your amazon movies in that vbox. If you enable seamless mode it shoudlnt be that obvious that you're going about it this way. This is actually how I run any windows apps that I need to run. Keeps me from having to worry about wine compatibility. lol

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 07:19    Post_subject: LHPUP amd amazon  

Pete22 wrote

Quote:
Meeki and Tozac:

I got Amazon movies to work on my x32 machine again.
Ideas that might make it work in Lhp. [I understand its low priority]
I'm not good with installing files that are not sfs or pets. Or I would try it myself
but I can't find the latest flash x64 as a sfs or pet.

Install firefox 14. DONT let it update, yet. Now install flash version 11.2.202.243.

Once Flash is installed and working in Firefox, let firefox update to the current version.

Reboot the computer.

Now try amazon movies.


Thanks! ya helped me solve this one.

OK to run your amazon videos do it in these steps.

1 install hall pet
http://www.lhpup.org/update/L64-514/System/hal-0.5.14-x86_64-3.pet
restart computer. (if Hal is installed and you have rebooted before your good)

2)install flash
http://www.lhpup.org/update/L64-514/Internet/Flash-11.2.202.238-x86_64.pet
again if you have this your good

3)Download Firefox 16
http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/

4) unpack it and enter the dir. Then run it. It will look like crap because its not built right for LHPUP. Point of this is some how firefox on its first install run looks for hall. The way that firefox 13 pet is built for LightHouse it does not find it. I can only guess that when it was built all pretty for lighthouse hal was not installed.

5) Exit Firefox and delete the DIR and firefox16 if you wish

4) now run your normal copy of firefox thats on light house. It will go through its install thing like 16 did.

I was then able to play my amazon videos.

Go fig eh.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
meeki


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Portland OR

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 07:19    Post_subject:  

The old flash worked fine but I also built the new one for ya too


Flash-11.2.202.243-x86_64.pet
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12968946/lighthouse/Flash-11.2.202.243-x86_64.pet


Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4298
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 15:18    Post_subject: Remastering in LH64  

I know that LH64 has a remaster app that's similar to Puppy's.

But, Puppy's tool is a bit much for novices who are NOT knowledgible about Linux strructure or Puppy nuances.

JamesBond offers an example for consideration.
  1. here, and
  2. here too
Question
Would this provide any add'l insight for LH64 as it progresses to Alpha-Beta?

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 16:56    Post_subject:  

Just some issues,
Did anyone else have problems with pburn in LH64? I recently tried making audio CD copies onto hard drive, and then burning new - as well as making on-the-fly copies. Pburn kept halting on a strange error until I found it wasn't keeping track of the default cd and dvd drive settings (as preset using the setup wizard). Might be just me, but did anyone also find issues with pburn? I think the problem is fixed now, after a few reboots and default resets.

How do I rip an audio CD into aac+? Burek makes a few useful comments in this thread regarding the codec http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=630051#630051 I tried using VLC in LH64 but ran into problems - trying to do a batch conversion of an entire library I guess, where VLC seems to be configured to do single selected tracks... I tried to find other solutions to batch conversions of media files in Puppy (like 'Transcoder for ffmpeg', audio only), but I think I'll have to slink back to something like S.U.P.E.R. in windblows Sad

tazoc, thanks again for pointing out snap2 for backups. I've experimented with both backups and mirror and put them on separate partitions, away from the savefile. However, I noticed recently that Gdmap shows that a ghost file of the L64-514.sfs keeps reappearing in a Data/Snap2Mirror/mirror/mnt/home/L64-514/ directory - even after I manually delete it. Chews up a big chunk of my normal save file but I can't seem to make it disappear using the choices in the snap2 GUI. Lurking in the /initrd/pup_rw directory, but I can't remove it (naturally) - something to do with Spot? Am i missing something really (stupid) obvious to solve this mystery? Removed all mirror setting etc and re-issued a default backup directory on a non-puppy (savefile) partition, but it persists?

Cranked up one of my usb scanners recently - an HP G2410 covered under SANE- but I simply could not get it identified with the hardware wizard (PupControl). Sorry to hassle you further with this now, but I think I got xsane and the scanner going on other puppies - could be just me - I'll try it again later and feed back.
(By contrast, I never had any problems setting up a usb Lexmark T632 printer, with CUPS. VERY happy with what I can do with it in LH64.)

Here's perhaps a project for you meeki - a java-based media server http://www.subsonic.org/pages/index.jsp. Would it be feasible to compile this in a 64-bit environment, or would a suite of lighter applications for media serving in Puppy do, instead? More nooby-friendly GUI's for Monkey- and Samba- servers perhaps, already in LH64?

Thanks again tazoc for this fabulous environment that's my choice for the home office/system. Smile

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4298
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 20:46    Post_subject:  

@Puppyt brings interesting view (indirectly this member does) to this thread. He's asking for consideration of a JAVA app. I think what's really at heart for all of is JAVA as an OOTB component of our PUP(s). Then, applications and deployment begins to change. For some of the many JAVA apps, its just a copy and run.

As most are aware, I think our community must stop ignoring the fact that JAVA is with us to stay. And, for at least the next several years, its use is only going to grow (xPads, xPhones, xTVs, and soon xSurfaces).

We are reaching a time when JRE or its open-source twin must be a part of OOTB experience as PUPPY(s) continue to mature.

Its not just one application (audio or video or streaming or ...). Its the OS which supports applications which do those things. The PCs, the LAN, the WAN, and the devices which we use are a combined community which should have common means of use and transfers. This is just one of the more obvious in these new modern times.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 21:26    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
As most are aware, I think our community must stop ignoring the fact that JAVA is with us to stay. And, for at least the next several years, its use is only going to grow (xPads, xPhones, xTVs, and soon xSurfaces).

We are reaching a time when JRE or its open-source twin must be a part of OOTB experience as PUPPY(s) continue to mature.


I think part of the reason that JAVA is not pushed more in OS development is its track record for vulnerabilities. Afterall the estimates of the last vulnerability to be made public was that it would affect over a billion users worldwide. No serious dev is going to make something that shoddy a core component of an OS, unless they want to constantly release new versions.
But Puppy has another way... As shown by what TazOC has done. He's released JRE as a SFS module you can load if/when you need it. That way when it needs to be updated, it can be updated simply and easily, leaving the rest of the system separate. There's no reason someone couldnt create an additional SFS with Java apps built in. I did so for the java version of Jdownloader a while back.

There are just under 2000 known Java vulnerabilities. Keep in mind that many people rip on Microsoft for their buggy software. Windows XP has just over 5000 exploits available. So Java has a bit under half the vulnerabilities available publicly. That's going to prevent it being included as a core component, by a community (unix/linux) that puts alot of emphasis on not releasing vulnerable software.

Dont misunderstand me, I'm not a hater of Java. I love what it can do... but it's implementation is, and has been rather bad. It's ability to do what it can, also has a dark side.

For me and my systems... I'd Java be an optional component that I can add or remove as wanted.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 23:50    Post_subject:  

Yup. Sadly, a necessary evil in many respects. Is there an alternative? Sorry about my joustings with java...

Edit: Rattled the above off in extreme haste. Yes, I agree entirely with Q5sys - only let the java out of its bottle when needed (and avoid the apps that use it, look for alternatives).

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4298
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2012, 20:55    Post_subject:  

I acknowledge what you share. i am in no disagreement with wanted a stable, safe environment. But, even Linux has vulnerabilties, as does Apple, and as noted MS. But, the answer is NOT to ignore it especially when its needed.

The Apple and Android community has found methods of deployment. We need automation to handle it for this communit's products. Not one of us is going to NOT use LightHouse because JRE is present. If the implementation is stable and safe, it should be judged that way. LH64 has just great-great features that makes it so very simple for new and experienced users to tap. And, its so, so fast. Admit it, you (and I) love it. And we love what TaZoC and yourself and everyone offers.

We cannot continue to hide behind our skirts. We must provide environments that attract users; and, at an alarming rate if possible. Linux on the desktop is srinking along with new PC sales. There are already a Billion users of SmartPhones with xPads expected to reach that in less than 2 years. And by 2015...the numbers are so alarming that it forced the IPV6 timetables.

Not to derail the thread, but, I believe that there is much mileage to be obtained should there be an OOTB allowing even greater apps to be brought into the fold.

But, we must mature. There is NO SUCH THING AS WHEN YOU NEED IT. WE Need it.

Here to help. I don't mean to sound in disagreement. I am not, this is just some information for our use and understanding

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2012, 21:16    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:

The Apple and Android community has found methods of deployment. We need automation to handle it for this communit's products. Not one of us is going to NOT use LightHouse because JRE is present. If the implementation is stable and safe, it should be judged that way. LH64 has just great-great features that makes it so very simple for new and experienced users to tap. And, its so, so fast. Admit it, you (and I) love it. And we love what TaZoC and yourself and everyone offers.

Those communites are also WAY bigger than we are and have major $ behind them. Puppy is a small scale OS, that fits a niche market. Inside that small community, the LHP community is even smaller. TazOC himself admited in this thread that he had gotten less than $100 in donations. If he had the same $ backing as Apple, and the same amount of Devs... maybe LHP would have automation. Keep in mind the entire Puppy Community has been unable to make automation work.
As for us not using LHP becuase of JRE being installed... Its not installed on my system. I have it as an SFS which I load whenver I need to run a Java App. Otherwise it remains off.

gcmartin wrote:

There is NO SUCH THING AS WHEN YOU NEED IT. WE Need it.

I really hope you're exaggerating when you say that. If you aren't... well I'm not even going to comment.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1270s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]