Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 12:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 99 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Author Message
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 23:43    Post_subject: Re: Different laptop now has internet  

Pete22 wrote:
The new Carolina updater and a new install solved my network problems.

Just wondering. I don't see those nifty Xfce tweaks that we got as a pet in
saluki a short time ago. Are they here some where? Or are they coming
before the final release?

Check out the Control Panel under the Desktop heading and you'll find the XfcePowerTools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 23:58    Post_subject:  

linux wrote:
We did have a problem with the touch-pad playing around I assume it needs a specific driver.

You can adjust touch-pad settings from the Control Panel in the Hardware section. There two tiers of tabs. On the second tier you'll see Touchpad. Try this first before trying the next suggestion.

If you can't get it to work from there, try going to Control Panel-->System-->Configure Kernel Modules and choose "click here to add new module". Be patient as it takes quite a while to gather all of the module information. Once it finishes initializing, you'll see two columns. The left will be populated, the right empty. Scroll down the left until you see rt8187, click on it to highlight it, and then click the "Add" button. Click "OK". "EXIT" the Configuration dialog, and then reboot. You'll have to be sure to be using a savefile, as a RAM boot won't save the settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 11:39    Post_subject:  

@Geoffrey & Elroy...

Just a brief note to THANK YOU again for Carolina...

As you may know, I am a big Saluki fan... it has been my primary OS from Tman's first build, ie, luki-001... ((ps, I realize that after the first few builds, Jemimah took over))... Saluki is a fantastic OS... but, since it will not be maintained... I finally realized that I must move on...

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I am now using Carolina-001 as my primary OS... with a customized Adrive... and, I wanted to say that Patch updates/fixes was very creative...

Also, I wanted to let you know that I really like the Midori Browser... even with all the bugs...

It would be great if someone could take over Jemimah's efforts and make Midori more desirable for the PuppyLinux Community... it is easily configured, it is simple, it is fast... and, it is only 4MB... or thereabouts...

I wanted to let you know that when using Saluki... Midori would crash 4 or 5 times per day... however, with Carolina... Midori seldom crashes... I wonder why???

Anyway, keep up the good work... and, THANKS again...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 15:17    Post_subject:  

yr1945 wrote:
...I just wanted to let you know that I am now using Carolina-001 as my primary OS... with a customized Adrive... and, I wanted to say that Patch updates/fixes was very creative....

Thanks for the kind words of support, yr1945. Both Geoffrey and I are also big Saluki fans; that's the main reason we decided to do this. Also, speaking for myself, this has been an invaluable learning experience.

With the size of the Carolina ISO, we thought it best to come up with some method of fixing bugs in a simple manner rather than requiring Carolina users to download a large ISO every time we fixed a few bugs. While it certainly isn't a one-to-one correlation of what Carolina-002 will be, at least it helps make it more usable without having to force people to spend most of their time downloading large ISO's every few days. It's also a great way to test if a fix works correctly.

I'm glad that you're enjoying Carolina, and I hope your enjoyment continues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 16:23    Post_subject:  I am hoping for a couple of tweaks  

You inherited this one from from Saluki.

Problem: I always go in and set my default programs before I get started
doing much. And you guys have set evince as the default pdf opener, which is great.
However, when I first open a pdf in Carolina or saluki it always tries to
to open it with epdfview. I go in to set run action. It says open with:
epdfview "$1"

As near as I can tell epdfview is not installed. Maybe it is, but I can not get it to run.

The Open With menu always includes epdfview instead of evince,
as does Send To. But they have the caution sign to warn you that it
is a broken link.

[By the way: You will notice that there are at least three programs that
always show up in Open with and Send to with caution signs.]

If wishes were fishes I would like both Open with and Send to to include Evince.
And while your at it, I would like to add petget too.

Now for an added feature request that relates to this same problem.:
Firefox can not open any file or folder even though it looks like it could.
See the example below:

Why doesn't the Send to listing come up so a user can at least
choose an application to open a file, or exo-open to open a folder?

Or better yet: is there a way that Firefox can be configured so it uses the
correct program to open files and folders? Could this open with or
send to command be linked to the default applications somehow, so
that the files and folders would open when they are clicked on? .

If this could be done, it would make Carolina stand out in the crowd of
Puppies as even more friendly to nongeeks, and/or folks new to linux.


Pete
Currently firefox will not open files or folders.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.74 KB
 Viewed   1113 Time(s)

Currently firefox will not open files or folders.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1435
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 10:48    Post_subject: Re: I am hoping for a couple of tweaks  

Pete

Your wish is our command, this is being dealt with, it took me a while to work out you are using Roxfiler, I'll remove the non existent apps, add evince and petget.

As for Firefox that will be seen to also, in the mean time in the popup that say's choose, navigate to /usr/bin/xdg-open and tick the checkbox to use it every time,
this is linked to exo-open, then the Thunar filemanager will open the containing folder or use Open to run the appropriate application.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
a0damasco


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 12:53    Post_subject: wallpaper  

http://www.4shared.com/photo/owiUByLJ/Carolina02.html
VistaPrevia.png
 Description   
 Filesize   41.3 KB
 Viewed   975 Time(s)

VistaPrevia.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1435
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 19:21    Post_subject: Re: wallpaper  

a0damasco wrote:
http://www.4shared.com/photo/owiUByLJ/Carolina02.html

I'm unable to view or download this image, it appears an account is needed.

To keep the file size to a minimum, the images for backgrounds should be in the jpg format and from a location that is easily accessible.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
a0damasco


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 01:20    Post_subject: Re: wallpaper  

Geoffrey wrote:
a0damasco wrote:
http://www.4shared.com/photo/owiUByLJ/Carolina02.html

I'm unable to view or download this image, it appears an account is needed.

To keep the file size to a minimum, the images for backgrounds should be in the jpg format and from a location that is easily accessible.



photo upload
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 549
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 06:00    Post_subject:  

Here's a wallpaper for Carolina. The original image is from http://www.publicdomainpictures.net so there should be no problem.

Edit: Updated with the better logo and added another wallpaper with the "howling carolina".
carolina-sunset.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  carolina-sunset.jpg 
Filesize  332.95 KB 
Downloaded  438 Time(s) 
carolina-desert-sunrise.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  carolina-desert-sunrise.jpg 
Filesize  588.09 KB 
Downloaded  425 Time(s) 

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1435
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 07:43    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Here's a wallpaper for Carolina. The original image is from http://www.publicdomainpictures.net so there should be no problem.


Thanks, looks good, here is a better image of the stamp it's transparent and blends in better without the sharp edges.


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
a0damasco


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 10:22    Post_subject:  transmission  

Sorry for my bad English. I use a translator.
I can not use transmission. It just closes. Someone has got it?
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 11:35    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Here's a wallpaper for Carolina. The original image is from http://www.publicdomainpictures.net so there should be no problem.

Edit: Updated with the better logo and added another wallpaper with the "howling carolina".

Very nice!

EDIT: I want to use these with Carolina-002, perhaps one of them as the default. The only thing I'd suggest is moving the logo up 5 to 10 pixels so that it doesn't interfere with the task-bar. Other than that, I find it very tasteful. Well done!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linux

Joined: 09 Oct 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 12:50    Post_subject:  

elroy wrote:
linux wrote:
We did have a problem with the touch-pad playing around I assume it needs a specific driver.

You can adjust touch-pad settings from the Control Panel in the Hardware section. There two tiers of tabs. On the second tier you'll see Touchpad. Try this first before trying the next suggestion.

If you can't get it to work from there, try going to Control Panel-->System-->Configure Kernel Modules and choose "click here to add new module". Be patient as it takes quite a while to gather all of the module information. Once it finishes initializing, you'll see two columns. The left will be populated, the right empty. Scroll down the left until you see rt8187, click on it to highlight it, and then click the "Add" button. Click "OK". "EXIT" the Configuration dialog, and then reboot. You'll have to be sure to be using a savefile, as a RAM boot won't save the settings.


Thanks very much for your help with this. I will try these settings hopefully tomorrow. Sorry for the newbie style questions, I am Windows savvy but just getting to get grips with the puppy Linux. Carolina is very impressive and fast becoming my operating system of choice.

Keep up the great work
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 12:59    Post_subject:  

linux wrote:
Thanks very much for your help with this. I will try these settings hopefully tomorrow. Sorry for the newbie style questions, I am Windows savvy but just getting to get grips with the puppy Linux. Carolina is very impressive and fast becoming my operating system of choice.

No problem, linux. And there's no need to apologize. You're precisely the type of user we're developing Carolina for. If you need further assistance, don't hesitate to post or pm Geoffrey or myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 99 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 97, 98, 99 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1209s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0292s) ][ GZIP on ]