Screeny - screen capture utility

Paint programs, vector editors, 3d modelers, animation editors, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#21 Post by 01micko »

Hello Monsie

Sorry for the delay, your post just caught my attention.

I will have a look at your issue and see if it can be resolved in the next version.

Cheers

EDIT: hmmmm... it works fine here. Are you putting this command in /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal?

Code: Select all

<Key keycode="111">exec:screeny</Key>
It certainly seems strange if you actually get the screeny gui showing yet it fails to work :? . Maybe a conflict? Any errors in /tmp/xerrs.log?
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Monsie
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu 01 Dec 2011, 07:37
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

Screeny - screen capture utility

#22 Post by Monsie »

Hi Mick,

Thanks for getting back to me.

Yes, I did indeed have the key binding set in jwmrc-personal just the way you indicated... so tonight, just for kicks I tried it again, and this time Screeny did "save" the snapshot, but the file showed up in text format... :shock: So, then I tried to re-boot Wary but was not able to... I kept getting a kernel panic, and no amount of re-booting with the various troubleshooting options would help...

To make a long story short, it appears that my Wary Puppy CD is corrupted. I have been having intermittent problems with booting it since the summer at least... I thought it was because I was running pupmode 13 but as it turns out, now I cannot boot up Wary 5.3 from the CD alone, whereas Puppy 4.3.1 and Wary 5.2.2 work just fine in my latest test, and in fact, I am running Wary 5.2.2 in live mode as I post this...

So, I will have to burn a new copy of Wary 5.3 and once I get Puppy set up again the way I like it, will try this again. If I do happen to have further glitches with setting up Screeny, I'll let you know... but as I suspect, I think the problem (all along) is due to a messed-up CD.

Monsie
My [u]username[/u] is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#23 Post by 01micko »

Hi Monsie, thanks for letting me know. Hope you get your installation fixed.

Meanwhile, I have released 0.5. Has some new "features" (erm, which I promised it wouldn't get :roll: ). Sorry, no cursor feature, too hard basket in the context of the program.

EDIT- 0.6 is out, fixed potential bug with setting an insane delay (not a positive integer), use hard coded 1-10 instead in a combobox
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Monsie
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu 01 Dec 2011, 07:37
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

Sreeny - screen capture utility

#24 Post by Monsie »

Just an update for the record...

I burned a new copy of Wary 5.3 and so far, so good :D Luckily, my save file on my usb flash drive seems to be intact, so it did not take long to get up and running again.

Screeny 0.4 is working just fine when configured to run with the keyboard through JWM :) so I will have to try the newest version next...

Monsie
My [u]username[/u] is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: Screeny - screen capture utility

#25 Post by L18L »

01micko wrote:...
0.5 posted
...
-windowed shots get the forum compat treatment if chosen too, be aware that small windows get enlarged, but if you don't want that turn off forum compatibility
...
my hacked /usr/local/screeny/screenfunc wrote:#!/bin/sh
#functions for "screeny"
#set work dir
#121006 L18L do scale only if width is greater than 600 px

APPDIR=$(pwd)
export APPDIR

case $1 in
snap_func1)
{
WINDOWID="$(xwininfo -frame|grep "Window id"|tr ' ' '\n'|grep "[0-7a-f][0-7a-f]")"

xwd -id "$WINDOWID" | xwdtopnm | pnmtopng > "$CAPTURE"
}
;;

snap_func2)
{
WINDOWID="-root"

xwd $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmtopng > "$CAPTURE"
}
;;
forum_func1)
{
WINDOWID="$(xwininfo -frame|grep "Window id"|tr ' ' '\n'|grep "[0-7a-f][0-7a-f]")"
#121006
WINDOWWIDTH="$(xwininfo -frame|grep Width:|cut -d':' -f2|tr -d ' ')"
[ $WINDOWWIDTH -gt 600 ] \
&& xwd -id $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmscale -w 600 | pnmtojpeg > "$CAPTURE" \
|| xwd -id $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmtojpeg > "$CAPTURE" #121006

}
;;
forum_func2)
{
WINDOWID="-root"
#121006
WINDOWWIDTH="$(xwininfo -frame|grep Width:|cut -d':' -f2|tr -d ' ')"
[ $WINDOWWIDTH -gt 600 ] \
&& xwd $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmscale -w 600 | pnmtojpeg > "$CAPTURE" \
|| xwd $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmtojpeg > "$CAPTURE" #121006

}
;;
esac
Have fun :D

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#26 Post by 01micko »

Nice idea L18L

One problem, 2 calls to xwininfo means 2 clicks..

I simplified the original var and separated it,

Code: Select all

WININFO="$(xwininfo -frame|grep -iE "Window id|Width")"
WINDOWID="$(echo "$WININFO"|grep "Window id"|tr ' ' '\n'|grep "[0-7a-f][0-7a-f]")"
WINDOWWIDTH="$(echo "$WININFO"|grep Width:|cut -d':' -f2|tr -d ' ')"

[ $WINDOWWIDTH -gt 600 ] && \
xwd -id $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmscale -w 600 | pnmtojpeg > "$CAPTURE" || \
xwd -id $WINDOWID | xwdtopnm | pnmtojpeg > "$CAPTURE" #121006
While the code is technically slower I don't think it matters.

Attached is an experimental version with the above, but I didn't add the fullscreen code. If your res is less than 600 then something is wrong or your eyesight is poor! Plus all of Puppy's icons would be squashed up. I guess if you ran in vertical mode then it would be warranted, but I just think that the case for not out weighs the case for. :)

Oh yes, I tried to add gettext to the experiment, doesn't quite work with the menu tooltips and the help/about.

Cheers!
Attachments
screeny-0.6.5exp.pet
gettext and a mod to L18L's fix added
(3.37 KiB) Downloaded 1074 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Screeny - screen capture utility

#27 Post by L18L »

Hello Mick,
yes my eye sight is poor but my screen is 1920 px wide :D
and I did not think about small screens < 640*480 :roll:

Anyway attached is v 0.6.5.1exp
It does NOT contain screeny.pot because using Barry´s momanager you do not need it.
German translation in MoManager-de-screeny...

# (c) Mick Amadio, 01micko@gmail.com LGPL 2012(see /usr/share/doc/legal)
#L18L HELP in tmp/screenyHELP, help &
# splitted in smaller chunks
# added: File, Help, delay, preferences, splash messages
# message about smaller than 600 px trashed
. gettext.sh # enable multiple variables in message (see eval_gettext)
# version 0.6.5.1

Have fun and keep the faith
---------------------------------
LO-downloader extended
Attachments
MoManager-de_DE-screeny-0.6.5exp.tar.gz
(2.47 KiB) Downloaded 1058 times
screeny-help.png
(35.65 KiB) Downloaded 1120 times
screeny-0.6.5.1exp.pet
(3.03 KiB) Downloaded 1076 times

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#28 Post by 01micko »

Hi L18L

Works well :) . I switched to de_DE.UTF-8 to try it out.

So.. what's the best way to package an NLS file for version 0.7? (considering mo-manager so others can translate).

Once a couple more translations are in I think it's ready to be a replacement for mtpaintsnapshot at the woof level.

Ha.. for a proggy I started touted to have NO features it sure has evolved :lol:
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Screeny - screen capture utility

#29 Post by L18L »

Hi 01micko,
you wrote:...best way to package an NLS file for version 0.7? (considering mo-manager so others can translate)....
For getting more translations I suggest you post in Localization Project
with a link to post 1 of this thread where version 7 will be available.
And the hint use momanager should be sufficient.
But also pointing to MoManager translation manager in
[url=file:///usr/share/doc/HOWTO-internationalization.htm]HOWTO internationalize applications[/url] (klick file /usr/share/doc/HOWTO-internationalization.htm)

Packaging a *NLS.pet is merging the different /usr/share/locale .... only
and not the /usr/share/applications

Thus the translator can post just the MoManager...screeny...tar.gz produced by momanager. Nothing else than
- version 0.7
- the momanager and devx
is needed to make the localization of version 0.7.
:D

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#30 Post by 01micko »

OK, thanks L18L

I have posted 0.7.

NLS only includes /usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/screeny.mo (I think that's right :roll: ) at this stage.

For those who have L18L's 0.6.5.1 version there is no functional difference at all with 0.7 so no need to download it. It's only the version that changed.

See main post (with link to language support thread)
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#31 Post by RSH »

Screeny is not working in LazY Puppy. :cry:
Image
How can this be fixed?
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#32 Post by 01micko »

RSH wrote:Screeny is not working in LazY Puppy. :cry:
Image
How can this be fixed?
Maybe gettext is not installed properly? The gettext.sh script should be in $PATH and eval_gettext is a function in that script. Just check your gettext package and maybe renew it from the lucid repos (Lazy is based on Lupu, yeah?)

If you have at least gtkdialog-0.8 it will work if the executable "gtkdialog" is in $PATH. This can be a symlink, often it's labelled "gtkdialog4". I could put in some gymnastics that find the correct exec but it has been around long enough now that distro maintainers should be aware. I believe wary/racy/precise/dpup all have similar symlinks and so it works fine there.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#33 Post by RSH »

Thanks for you quick reply.

Yes, LazY is based on Lucid 528-4.

Lucid 528-4 dosn't have the gettext.sh also ---> only a binary "gettext" in /usr/bin ---> as is in LazY.

Downloading and installing gettext_0.17 from the lucid repo gives no success.

Changing

Code: Select all

eval $(gtkdialog -p SCREENY -c)
to

Code: Select all

eval $(gtkdialog4 -p SCREENY -c)
in line 183 inside the screeny script doesn't give any success (in lucid 528-4 gtkdialog is a symlink to gtkdialog3, gtkdialog4 is already installed in LazY)

Maybe the gtkdialog error is just a result of the missing gettext.sh script?

Any OS from where i can grab this script?
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#34 Post by RSH »

Hi 01micko.

Thanks for the script. Unfortunately no success. Only the error messages have changed. :cry:

Image

BTW: 0.6 seems to work.
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#35 Post by 01micko »

Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#36 Post by RSH »

Yes, that works. :D

Thanks a lot for the help.

Image

Seems like i had to download and install gettext_base_0.17 instead of gettext_0.17 from the lucid repo. :lol:
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

Screeny Question

#37 Post by mistfire »

Does the Screeny work by pressing Print Screen button on keyboard?

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

Re: Screeny Question

#38 Post by 01micko »

mistfire wrote:Does the Screeny work by pressing Print Screen button on keyboard?
See here and try it.. should work ok, put that code in the bottom of /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal (replace if it has an entry for mtpaint) and restart jwm. It is default in the new slacko (when released).
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
charlie6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 04:03
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

screeny in dpup-Exprimo

#39 Post by charlie6 »

Hi Mick !
screeny works OOTB in dpup-Exprimo as xwd is already present in it.;
have just installed screeny-0.7-noarch.pet + screeny-0.7-NLS.pet;
have used RSH forum member's Edit-mo-rtc-0.1.pet for po to mo translation (see Localization project screeny 's thread) ==> many thanks to RSH :-)
Cheers, Charlie

User avatar
Tman
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 21:39
Location: Toronto

#40 Post by Tman »

I installed screeny and xwd in the Wary 5.1.1-based Solidpup511B_Lite-beta3.1

From the terminal I get an error message similar to what RSH reported:

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/screeny: line 9: gettext.sh: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/screeny: line 182: eval_gettext: command not found

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 16, near token '</label>': syntax error
Solidpup already comes with gtkdialog 0.8.2.
I had to install a newer gettext for it to work. Attached is my compiled gettext for wary.

Thanks, micko..
Attachments
gettext-0.18.1.1-lite-w5.pet
(34.07 KiB) Downloaded 1002 times

Post Reply