Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 01:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Fujitsu Esprimo 5905 + Slacko: how to use Ethernet?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2012, 07:45    Post_subject:  Fujitsu Esprimo 5905 + Slacko: how to use Ethernet?
Sub_title: Broadcom BCM5751
 

I just bought a Fujitsu Esprimo 5905 from Morgan Computers to run Slacko 5.3.3 on. It has a Broadcom 5751 Ethernet driver for Windows on it but I need the Linux driver; I tried to link to the following site but the link was down ---- http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3553. Is there a slickpet with this LAN driver on it? Otherwise can someone tell me where to find it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11118
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2012, 08:47    Post_subject:  

Will you please tell us where you found that link so maybe it can be fixed? It's out of date.
Is this the thread you meant?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2012, 09:29    Post_subject:  

On my machine, the Broadcom 5751 is handled by the tg3 module.

1. Run "lspci -k". What driver is associated with your device?

2. Run the "lspci -nn" command. Determine the [vendor:product] ID codes. It should be something like [14e4:1677]. Report back.

3. Run "ifconfig". Is there an "eth0" device? Did it get an IP address? What is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2012, 09:57    Post_subject:  

Good advice from rcrsn51.
Notice he didn't directly give you what you asked for - to locate/install a new driver?

... and there's something conspicuously absent from your post - what did the Network Wizard tell you??
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2012, 13:02    Post_subject:  

I got the link from the following website in this forum http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=3553: go to Page 2, end of first line of first entry. This is not an explicit link but a simple text entry. This is the same address as the link you suggested, but it does not help. Still looking at other replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11118
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2012, 16:15    Post_subject:  

Never mind, I give up. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 17:23    Post_subject: Fujitsu Esprimo 5905
Sub_title: Slacko : how to use the internet
 

Thanks to rcrsn51 in Canada. A very useful reply; sorry it's getting late here in the UK so I'll leave the results of running ispci and ifconfig till tomorrow. I get a bit slowed down as I have to communicate with my existing machine then change cables over to the #Esprimo to do some testing then go back to communicate with the rest of the world. Anyway I noted that you are using the tg3 module in conjunction with a Broadcom5751, which is what I have. I used the Network Setup/load module to load the tg3 module which was successful as was the test for interface. This showed 'Interface' eth0: 'Type' internet: 'module' tg3: 'Device info' pci Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5751 Ethernet pci Express. Went to internet connection wizard, selected 'detailed network info', eth0 a few lines of info ending in interrupt 17 - I don't know what this means. Went to Barry's simple network setup selected eth0 but it failed to connect. Question why? I have a copy of the DHCP log which I'll send tomorrow. Ran out of time to do any more tonight. Thanks to tempestuous in Australia. Hope the results so far are useful. Good night!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 17:36    Post_subject:  

You never answered Questions #1 or #2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 11:35    Post_subject: Fujitsu Esprimo 5905
Sub_title: Slacko : how to use the internet
 

To rcrsn51, here are the answers to your questions I promised in my previous post.
1. lspci -k. The driver is shown as 'Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit pci Express (rev01)'.
2. lspci -nn. ID codes are [14e4:1677].
3. ifconfig. eth0 is displayed but there is no IP address.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 12:21    Post_subject:  

Quote:
lspci -k. The driver is shown as 'Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit pci Express (rev01)'.

What is the rest of this entry? Is it "Kernel driver in use: tg3"?

Here is the problem with diagnosing your situation. It appears that Slacko is auto-installing the correct driver. Then it should automatically get you an IP address. So there should be no need for you to run the Network Wizard.

1. Does this machine have Windows on it? Does it have a working network connection?

2. Look at the back of the machine where the Ethernet cable plugs in. Are there any LED lights? Are they blinking?

3. Are you connecting through a router? Is it refusing to give the new machine an IP address?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 17:12    Post_subject:  

http://www.broadcom.com/support/ethernet_nic/downloaddrivers.php

NetXtreme I Desktop/Mobile
Download drivers for the following chipsets:
5702, 5705, 5751, 5752, 5753, 5754, 5755, 5756, 5761, 5764, 5782, 57760, 57761, 57765, 57766

Drivers download: ------> Linux (tg3) 3.122n 06/04/12 Download Zip File

tg3 seems to support huge variation of pci id`s. It might be that slacko kernel driver just is not compatible with your pci id.

Compiling the right source would ensure that you have right working tg3 kernel driver in use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 17:55    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
It might be that slacko kernel driver just is not compatible with your pci id.

NETTKNUT wrote:
ID codes are [14e4:1677]

Those ID's are correct in Slacko.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
NETTKNUT


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Location: Wales

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 12:43    Post_subject: Fujitsu Esprimo 5905
Sub_title: Slacko : how to use the internet
 

Thanks pemasu for the download link to several BCM chips you listed. Also I found it had a useful manual and details of a DOS based diagnostic system for the chips.

Thanks rcrsn51; lspci -k. There is a single line describing the BCM5751 driver as I reported before. There is nothing else on that line, the next line reads: "Subsystem. Fujitsu Technology Solutions Device 1096" There was no mention at about the Kernel driver.

The Fujitsu machine came with XP installed. I played with it for a while to make sure there was nothing wrong before wiping enough space on the HD to form a new ext3 partition and switching to Puppy. I found no trouble with internet access from Windows.

I looked at the connector panel at the back of the machine; the LAN socket has two LEDs, a green one and a yellow one but they did not blink.



I note your remarks about diagnosing my situation; it looks as if I'll need to try something else as well as googling for more info

As far as my meage knowledge goes I am not connected through a router; I get my broadband from my telephone line by means of a splitter box which connects to a (modem?)-box, the output from which is the LAN connection to my machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 13:51    Post_subject:  

Our machines have the identical Broadcom network adapter, except for the (rev) number.

Mine works fine in Slacko, but it looks like yours can't find the right module. Try these commands:
Code:
modprobe tg3
ifconfig eth0 up
killall dhcpcd
dhcpcd eth0
ifconfig

Did you get an IP address? If not, run
Code:
dmesg

Are there any messages about the adapter?

Have you tried any older Puppies on this machine?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2940
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 19:58    Post_subject:  

NETTKNUT, what you have for Internet is called DSL -- Digital Subscriber Line. The box that connects to your telephone line is a DSL Modem. You probably have special filters on all telephone jacks in your house, with a special one for the jack that connects to your Modem.

If you don't have those filters, that will cause other problems down the line -- i.e. the DSL won't work.

If you want to read enough technical info about this stuff to make your head explode, look here for the Wiki article on DSL --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_subscriber_line

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0833s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]