Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 20:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 95 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 93, 94, 95 Next
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 14:04    Post_subject:  

@elroy:

DLing now.

Never heard of the Carolina dog -- skimmed the Wiki article you linked, rather educational indeed!

I'll keep you posted on how it works out.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 14:22    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Never heard of the Carolina dog.

Nor had I. Hence when Geoffrey suggested it as a name, and I read up on it, it was more than obvious that Carolina would be a great name. Plus the fact that "Carolina Linux" rolls off of the tongue quite easily...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3202
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 15:56    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
An adrive and a zdrive.. Interesting..

First impression is good. Booted up fairly quickly, correctly configured my vid card (gma45), my sound card, and barked.. Nailed the 1366x768 (instead of 1360 which some get wrong), and GL worked OOTB..

As with most 3 series kernels, I had wireless problems..
This is not a Carolina issue, but a kernel issue..
If my wireless card (RT5390) isnt physically turned on during boot, before the kernel is loaded, it WILL NOT turn on.
So, I rebooted accordingly, and it remained on..
It was seen as wlan0 under the pci2800 driver, as with Precise and Lupu Pups.
However, it failed as such:

Strangely, every post concerning this error and my card, pertain to Gentoo!
It is a firmware issue, and could be easily corrected I believe, I`ll get back on that..
Forgot to try ndiswrapper Embarassed which works well for this card.
When I shut down, and attempted to make a savefile, I got:
"dev/ not found"
Could be a fluke, I`ll retry that again as well and get back, hopefully from Carolina itself....

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 16:12    Post_subject:  

cannot use "Carolina Custom Builder" because many required files are not in Carolina repository...

i might use Carolina without Adrive and just add a few required apps via .pets and/or Puppy Package Manager"...

also... might keep the Adrive if i could delete certain apps with "Remove Builtin Packages",.. eg, LibreOffice and Thunderbird

anyway... excellent os... hope you will continue to maintain it...

ps: currently using Saluki-023 with "custom" Adrive...

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 16:21    Post_subject: Carolina puppy  

Beautiful puppy, best I've seen lately.

I particularly like the single click option.

Problems so far, no floppy and grub4dos only.

I have several puppies installed on my P4 but Win XP as my main OS. I want it to boot to XP without menu so puppies are booted by floppy.

I tried adding Caroline to the grub menu but it won't work.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 19:30    Post_subject:  

Very nice splash screen! Kinda retro with the monochrome amber sorta look there. I have to say I like it Very Happy

Alas, this Thinkpad is a very nice Pentium M system and PAE doesn't like Pentium M CPUs. So I will try it (later) on another box -- the very nice Compaq (now there's two words that don't really go together!) desktop I have with 2gb RAM and an AM2 Athlon64 CPU.

...in the meantime, you get a vote from me for a non-PAE version to be made available. I don't need PAE anyways, there's exactly one system in my entire house with more than 3gb RAM and it's not likely to run Puppy any time soon as it's my mother's.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 23:21    Post_subject:  

Posting from within Carolina.

Not bad. A couple points...

(1) I suspect your compilation of the ath5k driver is a little bit funky. I haven't had connectivity this bad in quite some time Wink either that, or it goes to sleep almost instantly. At least it keeps trying to reconnect! (Persistence is a virtue here.) FWIW, it might be a failing card. I pulled this one from spares.

(2) my volume is turned up all the way and it's barely audible. Could be the cheap dang eMachines speakers I have plugged in, which are not really amplified -- or at least do not require a separate power lead -- but I'm not sure. FATSlacko has the same problem.

(3) pmount takes an awful long time to pull up and does not recognize the media card reader (FATSlacko is much better here -- it is quite snappy and does recognize the reader).

(4) the menu is completely different from nearly every other Puppy I've used. Menu changes = much user frustration.

That said, other than those four things, and the ginormous size, it's pretty good stuff. I like it! On the graphics end of things, I love the wallpaper selection. It's not extensive, but it's pretty good for Puppy. The transparent tray is a cool thing as well. That's a new one for me Smile

Overall: 8.5/10 for reasons above. -2 points for the four issues, -0.5 point for the size, +1 point for the wallpaper and the cool transparent tray.

EDIT: one other thing... a choice of browsers would have been nice. Perhaps the ever-present Browser-Installer? Firefox is really slow compared to Chrome (my current favorite).

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1700
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 23:24    Post_subject:  

elroy wrote:
tlchost wrote:
No sound using either the multiple card wizard or alsa

Did you run the alsa mixer from the terminal to ensure that none of the devices were muted? That's the only thing I can think of, outside of maybe needing to load a driver.


When I type alsamixer from the terminal, it tells me I need some kind of directive.

Driver? Where to find it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 00:54    Post_subject: custom-builder patch  

Here's a patch for the custom-builder - patch-001.tar.gz
There's a README.txt file inside that explains what to do.
Afterwards, you'll need to open the package manager and refresh the repo lists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 02:02    Post_subject:  

[quote="tlchost"][quote="elroy"]
tlchost wrote:
Driver? Where to find it?

You may need to do some research and find out which kernel module is needed for that particular intel device, and load it using Control Panel-->System-->Configure Kernel Modules. I believe it's i915, but you may want to research that further to be sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 02:05    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
my volume is turned up all the way and it's barely audible

Open the alsamixer and ensure that speaker and pcm are maxed out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 02:18    Post_subject:
Sub_title: kernel source SFS file?
 

Where do I find the correct kernel source SFS file for use with the devx sfs file for compiling drivers etc?
I am currently downloading the ISO and the devx SFS file and want to make sure I have everything.
That reminds me that I still have to download the patches file also.

Never mind. Embarassed Embarassed I found it under the SFS directory on the site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1380
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 02:39    Post_subject:
Sub_title: kernel source SFS file?
 

8-bit wrote:
Where do I find the correct kernel source SFS file for use with the devx sfs file for compiling drivers etc?
I am currently downloading the ISO and the devx SFS file and want to make sure I have everything.
That reminds me that I still have to download the patches file also.


http://www.smokey01.com/carolina/sfs/kernel_sources-3.2.13-ski.sfs

missed by that much Rolling Eyes

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1380
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 04:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Missing volume notification
 

I noticed that the on screen volume notification was missing, download volume-notification.tar.gz extract and copy xfce4-volumed to /root/Startup,
then either right-click Execute or restartx to activate it, then it shows while adjusting the volume level, there is a xfce4-volumed.txt explaining what to do included.
xfce4-volumed.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   4.89 KB
 Viewed   1522 Time(s)

xfce4-volumed.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1818
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 05:16    Post_subject:  

Is there a default PDF reader?
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 95 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 93, 94, 95 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0995s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0168s) ][ GZIP on ]