Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 09:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Newbies - Puppy needs YOUR help too!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 56 of 63 [937 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
Louis Lavery

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 15:59    Post subject:  

I've just started using puppy and think it's great. Only downside so far is SeaMonkey (1.1.18), I'm really going to have to upgrade, but that's a two stage process from what I've read. It would have been better if I didn't have to do this upgrade, especially as I'm just starting to learn about linux. I'm using puppy 4.3.1, as that's what I thought I was supposed to do. Perhaps I should have started with some other version, I mean so as to get a better version of SeaMonkey?
But that's the only complaint I've got, I really like the system especially being able to boot from a CD, so thanks to the guys who made this possible.
Regards, Louis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3402
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 18:37    Post subject:  

Louis Lavery"

Welcome to Puppy mate.

Post your hardware specs.
If it is old and low spec there are other versions of Puppy 4.31

""

Official 4.3.2

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54082

Last page...James C

" Still using a full install of 432 v3 for my backup os....
still as solid as when I installed way back when it was released.

Not flashy but it just keeps on working. :)
No problem keeping the browsers updated....
Firefox 9.0.1, SeaMonkey 2.6.1 and Opera 11.60.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 19:36    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Louis Lavery"

Welcome to Puppy mate.

Post your hardware specs.
If it is old and low spec there are other versions of Puppy 4.31

""

Official 4.3.2

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54082

Last page...James C

" Still using a full install of 432 v3 for my backup os....
still as solid as when I installed way back when it was released.

Not flashy but it just keeps on working. Smile
No problem keeping the browsers updated....
Firefox 9.0.1, SeaMonkey 2.6.1 and Opera 11.60.

Chris.


For what it's worth, I'm still running it with no problems and with Firefox 15,SeaMonkey 2.12 and Opera 12 ....it just keeps on working. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 21:58    Post subject:  

Louis Lavery wrote:
Quote:
I've just started using puppy and think it's great. Only downside so far is SeaMonkey 1.1.18, I'm really going to have to upgrade, but that's a two stage process from what I've read.

You have a couple more options, too...courtesy of shinobar:
1. Update SeaMonkey. (An SFS, so it won't eat up your save file.)
2. Update to 431JP, 2012 edition.

Edit:
Active link for Official 4.3.2 is here:
http://www.lamiaworks.com.au/puppy_isos.html

Last edited by Dewbie on Tue 18 Sep 2012, 05:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Louis Lavery

Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 03:48    Post subject:  

Thanks for the quick replies. Between you I think you've given me enough info to keep me busy for a while, it's also given me confidence to do a little experimenting with the systems, thanks. Although I like to keep it simple (KISS as they say in my trade, I write in C++).

@cthisbear: I've a Dell Latitude x300 (love the machine). Not sure what specs you want but have got this off "System Information".

Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.40GHz
Memory 634468 kB
-Display- Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel 82801DB-ICH4
SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
-SCSI Disks-
ATA HTS548040M9AT00
SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SN-324S

I've actually got 2.5 x300s (the 0.5 is a busted machine used for spares) and intend trying things out. I need to run Windows xp/7 as that's what my software (that I write for to earn dosh) runs on most of the time. At present I use one machine for work, I boot to puppy from cd or to windows from hd.
I'll use the second machine for experiments, but always with the intention of keeping the system snug. So if you've any ideas, please let me know.

Thanks, Louis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 04:38    Post subject:  

Louis Lavery wrote:
Quote:
Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.40GHz
Memory 634468 kB

Plenty of power there, for either Lucid, Slacko or Wary. Smile
It's a matter of which one works best and/or which one you prefer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3402
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 04:52    Post subject:  

Specs:

http://www.cnet.com/laptops/dell-latitude-x300-series/4507-3121_7-30468821.html

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 08:17    Post subject:  

Pentium M is a great processor, but avoid any Puppy that
uses an affectation known as the PAE kernel, it will not
work.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RaptureWatcher

Joined: 05 Sep 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 03:18    Post subject:  

i have been using Slacko Puppy 5.3.3 for about a month or so now and i think it is great! The Internet works far better in Slacko than in Puppy Lucid 5.2.8 or in Racy Puppy so i do see a forward improvement!!

though i would like to see Slacko come in a studio iso file that includes all of the software already installed on it so i dont have to download the extra packages, maybe as an option to the normal Slacko iso file.

Also with the SFs files there is a maximum load of only 6 SFs files, i dont understand SFs that well but i would think if there was a larger number i wouldn't have to worry about getting rid of some to get some SFs loaded. It will just make it a bit easier.

Also i have been testing Fatdog64 and i think that Slacko could learn some things from the ultraquick Fatdog64, maybe we could see a Fatdog32 version of Slacko in the future?

Just my 2cents worth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darussell

Joined: 04 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 22:57    Post subject: A Newbie
Subject description: My machine
 

I'm a retired AT&Ter who (years ago) dabble in UNIX. Been nothing but Windows for years, but recently my new son-in-law (from New Zealand) introduced me to Xubuntu, which I promptly loaded on a little SONY UX-180P (UMPC.) That caused me to turn to my trusty old Toshiba Libretto. With only 64Mb RAM, I knew Xubuntu wouldn't cut it, so I looked at DSL (it fired up all the PCMCIA CDROM and floppies) but left me otherwise unimpressed. Then I turned to Puppy Linux.

To install I had to remove the hard drive and put it in a desktop. I will confess, I wnt through the process multiple times over several days, as I found all the Googled instructions either faulty or lacking. However, at long last I got it working; Puppy 4.1.2.

I haven't wrestled yet with getting the PCMCIA devices working, but (unlike DSL) I was able to get wireless network connectivity with an old Microsoft MN720 PCMCIA card. I've got the desktop resized to the Libretto's 800x480, but it is causing me difficulty with some of the built-in apps that go off the botttom of the screen. Seamonkey suffices, but does come to a screaming halt when I encounter sites with excessive scripting.

I've tried downloading Opera and Firefox, but haven't had any luck getting them to work (remember I'm a Newbie!) Any helpful tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

For any interested Libretto eyes, battery life with my old battery is 2+ hours (DSL was almost double that!)

Anyway, looking forward to making friendships and learning further re: Puppy Linux. BTW, should I investigate 4.3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2830
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 23:38    Post subject:  

Does this Libretto have a model number, so we can look up specifications?

64mb RAM is really, really, REALLY low spec. Puppy needs about 256mb at the very bare minimum, 512mb to be really comfortable. You want to either upgrade RAM or put in a generous amount of swap space (format part of the drive as linux-swap).

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 00:24    Post subject:  

Hi darussell -
I wish you every success with your project! A member known as "Libretto100ct" got close to doing a Puppy for Librettos, but I don't know if he ever uploaded the ISO for others to use. I think he left the forums some time ago Sad . This is the thread which you might find useful, and there are some more recent alternative suggestions - libretto pup? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40512.
If you get further, here is another informative post - installing puppy on a Libretto L1/060tncm with pmcia CDdrive http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=20075.
This is a useful starting point perhaps -http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Barebones. I mucked about a bit myself with low-end hardware, maybe this thread could be of help to you- http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48214
- and a last tip - http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html is I think the best search engine for the puppy forums.

P.S. Welcome to the kennels!

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darussell

Joined: 04 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 13:31    Post subject: 4.1.2 on Libretto  

It's a Toshiba Libretto 110CT, a 233MHz Pentium with 64Mb RAM. I've swapped out the hard drive multiple times, but the one currently u=in support of Puppy is a 6Gb. I'm a sucker for small electronics, as I;ve had this Libretto for more than a decade, and I'm trying to further extend its life and productivity. I've done likewise with my little Sony VAIO UX-180P (UMPC) having replaced Windows XP with Xubuntu. I've still got a little IBM PC110 (only sold in Japan) that's about 4"x6"x1.5" that I've got booting and running off a CF. It's a slow 486 that someday maybe I'll investigate some sort of Linux offshoot for play.

Anyway, thanks for the urls; I'll give them a try as soon as possible. Still chasing the missing Menu/Taskbar....

Appreciate your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darussell

Joined: 04 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2012, 13:39    Post subject: Puppy on Libretto  

Forgot to mention: 64Mb RAM is limit on this platform. If you're adventurous, I'm aware of some over-clocking schemes that will take you to 96Mb RAM, but that's it. So far, Puppy doing OK on 64Mb.

Libretto core machine is equipped with two PCMCIA slots. Addl docking station adds two more PCMCIAs as well as a USB, PS/2 mouse, VGA aux, etc. I've got working PCMCIA floppy disk drive and CDROM. Haven't been able to get either working under Puppy, but both fired up under DSL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darussell

Joined: 04 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2012, 22:32    Post subject: Puppy on Libretto  

Well, I re-installed Puppy 4.1.1 on my Libretto, and (by choosing a generic video, rather than the detected NeoMagic Video card) I now have the Menu/Taskbar back. The only drawback is the 640x480 display, rather than the preferred 800x480. Plus this time it is picking up my USB on the docking station. Also still recognizing the wireleass card in one of the two PCMCIAS slots on the computer, but doesn't see the two PCMCIAs in the docking station.

Progress, nonetheless!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 56 of 63 [937 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1133s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0251s) ][ GZIP on ]