Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 16:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
FATSlacko
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 7 [94 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 11:03    Post subject:  

...one other thing: LibreOffice takes FOREVER to open any of its programs.

This is on a Compaq with an AM2 Athlon64 and 2gb RAM.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 13:16    Post subject:  

Hi,

Using Slacko 5.3.1 @ 2.0GHz with 640MB RAM "my" LibreOffice 3.3.0.4 sfs (with its QuickStarter icon in my tray) will load any of its components instantaneously upon clicking its program icon (see picture).

Using seaside's loader the sfs loads instantaneously (without automatically updating the JWM Menu) though it does take some 20 seconds to add QuickStarter to my tray, but as can be seen from the other picture there is just under 75MB RAM used so it can comfortably remain available indefinitely.

A browser (dillo) is also minimised to my tray and I can minimise Opera, SeaMonkey and many other apps, all ready for instantaneous use, and not exceed my 598MB of usable RAM and without needing a Swap facility.

I have not seen QuickStarter included in later versions of LibreOffice and I have not investigated any advantages of later versions as I seem to have all I need.

My regards
resource usage.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   7.48 KB
 Viewed   828 Time(s)

resource usage.jpg

tray icon menu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.93 KB
 Viewed   829 Time(s)

tray icon menu.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 16:05    Post subject:  

@Jasper: IIRC LibreOffice dropped the quickstarter at some point, although I'd have to double-check that since I'm relying on memory here (and mine has been known to lie to me -- good thing brains can't Blue Screen like a Windows box!) Doesn't matter really either way -- LibreOffice 3.5.something is built into FATSlacko and I'm not going to bother with stripping it out and putting in an older version. Especially when I've got 3.5.something on my other system as well -- I really don't see newer and older ODF files files being compatible with each other. So I'd either have to drop down to an older version of both (ack) or put up with this the way it is (ack).
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 16:54    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
... newer and older ODF files files being compatible with each other. So I'd either have to drop down to an older version of both (ack) or put up with this the way it is (ack).
Are you referring to ODF being opened by various version or are you referring to the screen rendering of ODF created by LibreOffice.

The ONLY issue I have run into is that Abiword likes MS docs, but has made a mess of ODTs created by Libre or Google office.

Please share what you've found in using files from one verson of LIbreOffice with another version of LIbreOffice.

Thansk in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 17:18    Post subject:  

Opening ODFs, and I haven't "found" anything. It's an assumption, but a logical one.

You know how one version of MS Access is generally incompatible with the next, in terms of file format? Same thing. It's assumable that the ODF format between versions of Open/LibreOffice gets tweaked a little and so an older O/LO version wouldn't read something made on a newer version.

Backwards compatibility is common to the point of nearly being industry standard. But what I'm talking about is /forwards/-compatibility and that's pretty rare.

Really what I want is a way to make the opening of LO in FATSlacko faster. I suspect that the quickstarter is the way to go if it's in there. If not... I dunno.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 07:43    Post subject:  

starhawk,

Doubtless you'll have some compelling reason why you cannot leave any selected LibreOffice program(s) minimised for future instant access.

So, possibly: http://www.codechewing.com/library/speed-up-libreoffice-load-time/ may help.

Is forever >5", >10", >15", or what?

My regards

PS In another thread you agreed SeaMonkey stinks. RSVP there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 12:29    Post subject:  

Upon clicking the icon "write" on the desktop to bring up LO Writer, it takes upwards of a minute before the screen appears. I can time it exactly if you so desire Razz

On a system as modern as this, that's simply unacceptable. My laptop (less capable and older Core2Duo, spoiled with a copy of WinXP) takes about half that time to open the same. There's a problem here!

I will see if that website's tips are helpful in a little while.

I do not see a reply from you (or anyone else, for that matter) to my Seamonkey post in the thread you mention -- or am I confused as to what you meant?

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2472
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 13:37    Post subject:  

Someone posted over at the Inkscape forum about that program being slow to start. Its often something that is over looked by developers. In Inkscape the bottle neck appears to be in the font loading.

Someone has reported a bug with the logo display timing a long time in LibreOffice see (maybe windows only though)-
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=46436

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9220
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 16:39    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Upon clicking the icon "write" on the desktop to bring up LO Writer, it takes upwards of a minute before the screen appears.


I cannot duplicate this problem. I set up an old HP Athlon machine with 768 MB (the minimum recommended RAM). I did a frugal install of FATSlacko onto a USB hard drive.

After bootup, I can launch Writer in under 10 seconds. Subsequent starts only take 3 seconds.

However, my install only has LibreOffice in the menus, not on the desktop. So I don't know why your setup should be so different from mine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 18:48    Post subject:  

OK, that's really really weird.

I'm running a frugal install to the HD, a spare 160gb IDE model. I hope the drive isn't failing!

EDIT: if it is, no big, I've got desktop IDE drives aplenty.

EDIT2: Processor spec shows up at boot, hadn't noticed. Here's detailed specs, then...

200W Dell Power Supply
Athlon64 3500+ Socket AM2 CPU
2gb RAM (as 2x512mb + 1x1024mb)
160gb IDE HDD (random from spares)
Dell OEM Foxconn ATi RADEON X600 PCIe x16 Graphics Card (phew!)
WiFi card (random from spares)

Er, one other question... how can I keep the SFS-Load-On-The-Fly popup from popping up each and every boot?

EDIT3: Jasper, your article helped a lot -- although the quickstarter is apparently optional and was not included in the build for FATSlacko. A pity.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9220
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 20:48    Post subject:  

Are you accidentally loading another Open/Libre Office from an SFS package?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 21:03    Post subject:  

I have not installed any SFS packages at all. The only thing I've installed so far IIRC is Chrome, and that from Slickpet. (FWIW, there WAS a graphics card driver installed, but I wiped that out with a new install.)
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 15:48    Post subject:  

starhawk,

This is definitely worth trying. Install PupMenu 2.8.1 pet from radky if you don't already have it. Load libreoffice-startcenter then load writer, calc or whatever from StartCentre - you may find it faster than loading any particular program directly.

To re-launch use the Launch history button.

My regards

You said the earlier link helped. Approximately how many seconds did it save and if PupMenu helps, how many extra seconds does that save?

Also, what is your compelling reason why you cannot leave slow loading apps minimised to your tray - so enabling instantaneous reuse with a single click?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 21:29    Post subject:  

starhawk,

See the picture and google to find the pet, then run it and make your choices then your LO sfs will be made automatically.

Making the sfs look about 20 minutes (with my high quality 1998 desktop with 2002 motherboard replacement and slow Broadband).

The first run of the sfs took about a minute - the second loading was very fast - you tell us how fast it is for you. If it isn't fast get your machine repaired or ........

I use an ext4 formatted 16GB usb2 flash stick, said to read @ 22MB/s which cost about US$10 delivered.

My regards
LO-3.6.1-and-Slacko-5.3.1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   5.87 KB
 Viewed   534 Time(s)

LO-3.6.1-and-Slacko-5.3.1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 20:41    Post subject:  

FATSlacko does not need any install for either of the followings:
  • JRE
  • LO
  • SAMBA
Everything is operationally there, including other Puppy traditional packages and some! And it works without any need to access the web, download, or add....unless there are other packages or subsystem you want to add to FATSlacko's already rich features included.

As he has shown, it appears that there is something that is creating an interference.

I am going to ASSUME you did NOT remaster FATSlacko. Let try this:
  • Restart FATSlacko. At BOOT menu, type the following
    Code:
    puppy pfix=ram

  • Setup FirstRUN with all of you proper localization needs including the hostname
  • This will cause a desktop restart (not a system reboot...a desktop restart).
  • Please "time" the 2 following items and post back, please
    1. First, Go to the MENU>Business>LO (or writer)
    2. Next, click the Write Icon on the desktop to start LO Writer
Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 7 [94 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0881s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]