Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Jul 2015, 19:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Author Message
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 3138
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 07:24    Post_subject:  

Is there a way to graft Startmount into a live CD? I got a message saying something like "startmount can not be used in a live environment, you must install Puppy to use it"
(Sorry, that is not verbatim, it was a couple of days ago)

I would like to remaster a live CD so that it will autodetect and automount all available HDDs and usb drives, and startmount looks promising if it can be built in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
glene77is


Joined: 17 Aug 2010
Posts: 119
Location: Memphis, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Oct 2012, 13:37    Post_subject: Re: mounting linux file systems on lupu-528.005  

shinobar wrote:
shinobar wrote:
Tested on a flash install of lupu-528.005.

Same test on Slacko-5.3.3-pae. It mounts at the first try.

/tmp/bootstsinit.log wrote:
First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
Success.
Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
mount: /dev/sdd1 already mounted or /mnt/sdd1 busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/sdd1 is already mounted on /mnt/sdd1
Fail.


Shinobar,
Great program.
Thank you for the effort.
Enjoy reading your coding.
Good sense of organization


Works under Slacko 5.3.3 on USB Pen_Drive.
Had to manually 'find' the script, and 'permission' it, then 'exec' it. OK!

Have re-written bootstsinit.log as a sand-box script
to be a wrapper for my own dev code:

Code:


# sand-box.sh
# idea from shinobar

echo "***  `date`  ***  my_bootstsinit.log " >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

mkdir -p /mnt/sdd1

echo "First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1" >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1 && echo "Success."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log || echo "Fail."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

echo "Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1"  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1 && echo "Success."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log || echo "Fail."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

geany  /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

Cool

_________________
Puppy Linux is more fun than a barrel of M$ monkeys Razz
glene77is --- {^,^} --- electricity is shocking, Memphis, TN, USA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Amaponian

Joined: 30 Apr 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2014, 13:30    Post_subject:  

I've got this message (same problem of johofman):

You are running a USB install. Ensure your session is saved for Startmount

I DO have a save file. Save Interval: 180. My puppy is 5.2.8

*************************
I'm starting from a USB flash drive.

Any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 2066
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 13:42    Post_subject:  

Hello,
darkcity wrote:
I've noticed it gives a few errors if run from terminal luci 529 puppy-

I didn't see any answer about this issue? Rolling Eyes
I get the same running Puppy precise 5.7.1... Confused
Code:
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
ok
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
cat: /root/.startmount/progitem_list: No such file or directory
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe

How to get rid of these "Broken pipe" error lines which continue and continue to be written to xerrs.log as long as the program is running?
Thank you!

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 4740
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 28 Feb 2015, 14:54    Post_subject: Startmount sda 3 : pet installed, does the job  

Startmount sda 3 : pet installed, does the job
i symlinked a lot of Qt libraries available in my linux partition sda3 to usr/lib . Previously i handly mounted sda3 when arrived to my desktop. Startmount does it during install.
Que demande le peuple ? That is fine Smile
I store the pet in my suitcase. i did'nt take time to read the eleven pages, but i am doing it.

_________________
Root is the glass, Pelo wants the wine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
LazY Puppy


Joined: 21 Nov 2014
Posts: 519
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 28 Feb 2015, 21:30    Post_subject:  

Here is my Script to mount any drive I want to mount:
Code:
#!/bin/bash -a
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Mount a submitted drive
# 2013-08-06 RSH for LazY Puppy
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

drive2mnt="$1"
if [ "$drive2mnt" = "" ]; then
   echo "Need a drive to work!"
   echo "No drive (sda1, sdc3 etc.) to mount submitted!"
   exit 0
fi

# Sort out swap and mounted partitions
blkid  | egrep '(hd|sd)' | egrep -v "/dev/loop*" | egrep -v "swap" | cut -f 1 -d ':' | sed 's/\/dev\///'>/tmp/list_of_drives
sort -u /tmp/list_of_drives > /tmp/sorted_list_of_drives
mv /tmp/sorted_list_of_drives /tmp/list_of_drives
for drive in  `cat /tmp/list_of_drives`;
do
   if [ "/mnt/$drive" = "/mnt/$drive2mnt" ]; then
      mkdir -p /mnt/$drive2mnt
      if [ "`blkid /dev/$drive2mnt | grep -o "TYPE=.*" | cut -f2 -d '"'`" = "ntfs" ]; then
         mount -t ntfs /dev/$drive2mnt /mnt/$drive2mnt
         else
         mount /dev/$drive2mnt /mnt/$drive2mnt
      fi
   fi
done

exit 0


Call:

Code:
mount_a_drive sda1


to mount drive sda1.

Use this line to mount cd drives also:

Code:
blkid  | egrep '(hd|sd|sr)' | egrep -v "/dev/loop*" | egrep -v "swap" | cut -f 1 -d ':' | sed 's/\/dev\///'>/tmp/list_of_drives

_________________
RSH
No Smart-Phones, no FaceBook, no Twitter etc...
but: LazY Puppy!
Copyright is NOT Copyleft: good people are aware of this and respect both of them!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0734s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]