Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
No Sound No Network on new Dell E6420
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2012, 14:26    Post subject:  No Sound No Network on new Dell E6420  

I’ve tried both lupu-511 and lupu-528. Network wizard says “Puppy cannot see any active network interfaces”. ALAS says “no supported PnP or PCI card found”

I have no problem with network or sound with either version of puppy on my D630.

I'm lost!

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2551
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2012, 15:29    Post subject:  

Hi Bill, it may be that your hardware needs newer drivers than are available in normal Lupu. Have you tried Lupu-Plus? It's available here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=622054#622054

If that does not help I would recommend trying ThinSlacko here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78228
It seems to handle a wide range of hardware, although not intended for PAE needs (although there is a PAE version of Slacko available).

Another goody is RacyNOP which does handle PAE if needed. It's quite good with new hardware. This link goes to a newly modified version of RacyNOP:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81031

By the way - I didn't like your Windows Vista. Puppy is so much better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2012, 17:47    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:


By the way - I didn't like your Windows Vista. Puppy is so much better.


Thanks greengeek for the info. I will take a look at that stuff.

By-the-way, we try not to talk about Vista too much around here anymore! Embarassed

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3414
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2012, 19:05    Post subject:  

Running on Ubuntu so Try Lucid 528.05 version.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1756166

Specs:

Dell Latitude E6420

http://www.dell.com/us/enterprise/p/latitude-e6420/pd

Is the wireless switched on....Light showing

:::::::::

Don't want to confuse you....probably another card....
but here is what I did with a sound issue in the past.
It might give you a workaround.

" In Alsa Equaliser Mixer
I changed to >> default >> and it is now showing
>> Conexant Cx20590

Try my test mp3...as there is no bark.

= xine engine error
Input plugin failed to open mrl /mnt.

Alsa Equaliser control is off...>> I turn it on.
Alsa Mixer shows...But mp3 fails again.

Chipset says alsaequal

Hit F6 >> highlight says >> enter device name

I select >> Default

Card >> HDA Intel PCH

Chip now shows >> Conexant CX20590

Hit F5 >> give Master a few more hits upwards

Esc...Still errors. bugger bugger

But Xine plays off my usb...yeah.

Open up Pmusic to add the mp3 from SDA2.
It decides to play. "

""""""

My tip....go >>> DpupExprimo5X327

links here

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=653842#653842

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5262
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2012, 21:12    Post subject:  

Bill, Google tells me that your ethernet device is:
Intel 82579LM Gigabit LAN, device ID 8086:1502

and your wifi device is:
Intel Centrino 6205, device ID 8086:0082

These are both quite recent devices, so it's not surprising that an older version of Puppy such as Lucid fails to support them.

For your ethernet device, the updated e1000e driver I posted here (for Puppy Lucid) will get you going -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=453685#453685

but for your wifi device, you need a newer version of the iwlagn driver, which is not possible to upgrade in Puppy Lucid.
You will need to move up to a Puppy version with newer kernel for that.
Other forum members here will point you towards an exotic range of Puppy derivatives ....
my advice is to stick with official releases - the current official release is Puppy Slacko 5.3.3.
I just checked now, and 5.3.3 supports both your ethernet and wifi device ID's.
I don't know about your audio, but there's a good chance that's supported too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2012, 12:37    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:

my advice is to stick with official releases - the current official release is Puppy Slacko 5.3.3.
I just checked now, and 5.3.3 supports both your ethernet and wifi device ID's.
I don't know about your audio, but there's a good chance that's supported too.


Thank you so much tempestuous!
I downloaded Slacko 5.3.3 and now sound and network are working right out of the box!!

I do however have one minor annoyance
. I want to turn off the tap function on my touchpad, but when I run flSynclient I get the "Couldn't find symaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded?". I had this with my old laptop running lupu-511. The work around was to run xorgwizard from a command line which I guess forced the driver to load and then run flSynclient again. Unfortunately this dosn’t seem to work in Slacko (or perhaps it's my new laptop)

Would you happen to know which file to edit to simply disable the tap function? It’s driving my crazy! Thanks! Confused

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 764
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2012, 14:04    Post subject:  

Hi Bill

go to root/etc/X11/xorg.conf

and find this section of the file


Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "SynapticsMouse"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "LeftEdge" "120"
Option "RightEdge" "930"
Option "TopEdge" "120"
Option "BottomEdge" "650"
Option "FingerLow" "14"
Option "FingerHigh" "15"
Option "MaxTapTime" "0" <<<<<<<<<<<< this needs to be set to 0 as shown.
Option "MaxTapMove" "110"
Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
Option "MinSpeed" "0.3"
Option "MaxSpeed" "0.75"
Option "AccelFactor" "0.030"
Option "EdgeMotionMinSpeed" "200"
Option "EdgeMotionMaxSpeed" "200"
Option "UpDownScrolling" "1"
Option "CircularScrolling" "1"
Option "CircScrollDelta" "0.1"
Option "CircScrollTrigger" "2"
EndSection

HTH - very best regards - Ray

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2012, 20:37    Post subject:  

Thanks Ray. Unfortunally none of that is in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. All that is in the InputDevice section is the following
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

I'm guessing this is because the synaptics driver is not loaded.

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 764
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2012, 22:31    Post subject:  

Bill - you could try this - but make a backup of xorg.conf first. (xorg.conf.bak)

Unzip and rename the attatched generic laptop file to “xorg.conf” and copy it into /etc/X11, then restart X.

JFYI (This file may already be in your X11 folder)

Should the worst occur, ie everything gets scrambled, (don’t think that should happen)
just rename your xorg.conf.bak, back to xorg.conf and restart X again.

HTH - regards - Ray
Xorg.conf-generic-laptop.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Xorg.conf-generic-laptop.tar.gz 
Filesize  775 Bytes 
Downloaded  246 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0764s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]