Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 12:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 42 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2012, 23:18    Post subject: Re: bold or normal  

shinobar wrote:
tiangeng wrote:
<MenuStyle>
<Font>DejaVu Sans-12:bold:oblique</Font>
</MenuStyle>

I added "BOLD",I deleted "bold",it's ok.

You also need to remove the dash(-) from 'Sans-12' so that the titlebar (of the windows) can show Chinese characters.
<Font>DejaVu Sans 12</Font>


Wrong. This misinformation has been around for a very long time.

JWM recognises the Xft format as shown here:
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/fonts.shtml

Jwm does not recognise <Font>DejaVu Sans 12</Font>, and instead falls back to using the default GTK font -- which, most likely, is DejaVu Sans, or whatever else has been set as the font in the gtkrc file.

I other words, you can put any gibberish into those tags, ex <font>yabby doo dah 12</font> and it will give the same effect.

That's my understanding anyway.

Correction:
Um, no, I don't think that JWM will fall back to using the default GTK font if it can't understand the <font> tag -- probably it will use the default Xft font.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Thu 20 Sep 2012, 21:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2012, 23:51    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Barry

Did you find that seamonkey wouldn't compile against system cairo? Perhaps vpx too if yours isn't recent enough. Can you post the mozconfig please? It certainly has grown a few megabytes in the past couple of years and this version as against 2.11 grew over 1 M. (When I compiled in Slacko, the official mozilla version was smaller once I removed the modern theme).


Here it is:

Code:
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=@TOPSRCDIR@/objdir-sm-release
mk_add_options MOZ_CO_PROJECT=suite
ac_add_options --enable-application=suite
ac_add_options --enable-system-hunspell
ac_add_options --localstatedir=/var
ac_add_options --sysconfdir=/etc
ac_add_options --prefix=/usr
ac_add_options --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu
ac_add_options --disable-dbus
ac_add_options --disable-accessibility
ac_add_options --with-system-bz2
ac_add_options --disable-updater
ac_add_options --disable-parental-controls
ac_add_options --enable-places
ac_add_options --disable-gnomevfs
ac_add_options --disable-gnomeui
ac_add_options --disable-system-sqlite
ac_add_options --disable-system-cairo
ac_add_options --enable-strip
ac_add_options --with-system-jpeg
ac_add_options --with-system-zlib
ac_add_options --enable-libxul
ac_add_options --enable-storage
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --with-default-mozilla-five-home=/usr/lib/seamonkey
ac_add_options --enable-jsd
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
ac_add_options --disable-crashreporter
ac_add_options --disable-libnotify
ac_add_options --with-system-libvpx
ac_add_options --disable-gio
ac_add_options --enable-chrome-format=omni



However, I will be including libnspr and libnss in the next release of precise Puppy, so next time that I compile SM, for Ubuntu (and Debian) cases anyway, I will use "--with-system-nspr" and "--with-system-nss".

Note, I prefere "--enable-chrome-format=jar", unfortunately that is broken at installation. Another case of inadequate testing -- omni is "flavour of the month" and that is all the developers have bothered to test.
[/code]

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5479
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 00:29    Post subject:  

Any work being done on fixing the graphics issues, several people have had, with first boot?
In general older Nvidia graphics cards do not like Nouveau driver.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 11:10    Post subject:  

About BOLD fonts :
bash-3.00# xlsfonts | grep '[0-9]b.*'
6x13b
7x13b
7x14b
8x13b
9x15b
9x18b
Code:
xlsfonts | grep '\-b.*'

shows a bunch of fonts ie
-misc-dejavu sans-bold-o-normal--0-0-0-0-p-0-iso8859-1
but
Code:
xlsfonts | grep '\-b.*' | grep 12

shows no *dejavu sans-bold* s .

* NOT in any Ubuntu based Puppy atm though *
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4496
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 13:43    Post subject: Precise has a minor logic flow at system startup  

@Barry. Again, I just tested the most recent Beta6.

FirstRUN has the same problem. As it turns out, it is NOT SHOWING the LAN tailoring section even though the PC has adapter on the motherboard. It appears that FirstRUN is "keying" on an active wire in the adapter versus merely looking for the adapter ONLY.

FirstRUN really should present LAN tailoring no matter if a wire in present in eth0 or NOT. This reduces any need to revisit LAN tailoring steps when a wire is connected or if WiFi is started.

Hopefully BK is following this.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 655
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 19:47    Post subject:
Subject description: Full install (again) failing from Frugal
 

G'day,

I had earlier reported in this thread, problems with this Precise-Pup version when trying to use the Universal Installer to create a Full Pup using the Frugal's /home directory as the source for the install files - no CD/DVD involved.

I thought the problem was fixed by freshly re-formatting the Full's partition before using the Universal Installer.

But alas, my (last-time lucky?) Full Precise.5.3.93 was compromised by a non-functioning Pet I had tried and when I took the usual easy way out by re-installing the Full from the Frugal, the computer froze during the "copying files" step, and has each time I have tried the Universal Installer.

I increased the size of the Frugal's Save file and also installed the AMD proprietary driver into the Frugal, as well as trying with the Full's fresh target partition in ext2 and ext3, but nothing has so far allowed a Full install.

I do not have this problem with pemasu/oldyeller's Precise-based Pup.

David S.

[Post-script]
Tried a direct Full install from a Live CD and had no problem getting a working Full Precise-5.3.93. Seems like using the Universal Installer taking the Frugal->Full path using the 'Directory' as source for install files has the problem. Universal Installer from LiveCD->Full is OK (so far).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 14:40    Post subject:  

Not getting 2barks - sound is 'up'.
Installed Firefox from PPM and Opera from their website. Neither appear in the menu, subsequently, even after an X-reset. Firefox doesn't run from the console, but Opera does. Unfortunately, Opera doesn't actually browse - it just sits there. SM functions but I still don't like it.

Re. FULL, ds45, quite a few of us are hoping BK will run his magic wand over the PUI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 19:00    Post subject: jwm fonts  

BarryK wrote:
shinobar wrote:
You also need to remove the dash(-) from 'Sans-12' so that the titlebar (of the windows) can show Chinese characters.
<Font>DejaVu Sans 12</Font>


Wrong. This misinformation has been around for a very long time.

JWM recognises the Xft format as shown here:
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/fonts.shtml

Jwm does not recognise <Font>DejaVu Sans 12</Font>, and instead falls back to using the default GTK font -- which, most likely, is DejaVu Sans, or whatever else has been set as the font in the gtkrc file.

Tnx Barry for the lecture.
The problem with <Font>DejaVu Sans-12</Font> is the DejaVu Sans does not have full UTF-8. It cannot display the Chinese/Japanese fonts which we add.
We have solved this by using <Font>DejaVu Sans 12</Font>, but now i see the jwm does not recognize the description.
Now I find <Font>Sans-12</Font>, or just <Font>-12</Font> is a better solution for the multiple fonts.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 11:48    Post subject:
Subject description: display fail
 

precise-5.3.93 initial test

After kernel load.... either blackscreen or illegible 'scrunched' cl mssgs

Ctrl+Alt+backspace ineffective (only hardoff works), cannot load xorgwizard, various boot codes like "puppy pfix=nox" still give blackscreen or illegible 'scrunched' cl mssgs after kernel load....

Looks like precise-5.3.93's a non-starter for me Neutral
(probably should have started earlier with '2.69 or '2.71 rather than the latest)
____________
test on: i686 machine
processor - Pentium 3 @1GHz
RAM - 512M
vidcard0 - RV280 (aka ATI Radeon 9200), AGP
vidcard1 - not used, but also RV280 (switched off in BIOS - aka Radeon 9200SE), PCI (old-style)
soundcard - emu10k1 (aka Creative Audigy 2 ZS or SB0350)
boot/save method - liveCD multisession (cd-rw media)
limitations - no printer, no internet connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 21:41    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Any work being done on fixing the graphics issues, several people have had, with first boot?
In general older Nvidia graphics cards do not like Nouveau driver.


I don't know any neat solution. Beta6 has the 'nv' Xorg driver, which should work -- run xorgwizard and explicitly choose 'nv'.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 21:46    Post subject: Re: jwm fonts  

shinobar wrote:
The problem with <Font>DejaVu Sans-12</Font> is the DejaVu Sans does not have full UTF-8. It cannot display the Chinese/Japanese fonts which we add.
We have solved this by using <Font>DejaVu Sans 12</Font>, but now i see the jwm does not recognize the description.
Now I find <Font>Sans-12</Font>, or just <Font>-12</Font> is a better solution for the multiple fonts.


Perhaps it is time for me to upgrade DejaVu fonts to the latest version.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 21:49    Post subject:
Subject description: display fail
 

`f00 wrote:
precise-5.3.93 initial test

After kernel load.... either blackscreen or illegible 'scrunched' cl mssgs

Ctrl+Alt+backspace ineffective (only hardoff works), cannot load xorgwizard, various boot codes like "puppy pfix=nox" still give blackscreen or illegible 'scrunched' cl mssgs after kernel load....

Looks like precise-5.3.93's a non-starter for me Neutral
(probably should have started earlier with '2.69 or '2.71 rather than the latest)
____________
test on: i686 machine
processor - Pentium 3 @1GHz
RAM - 512M
vidcard0 - RV280 (aka ATI Radeon 9200), AGP
vidcard1 - not used, but also RV280 (switched off in BIOS - aka Radeon 9200SE), PCI (old-style)
soundcard - emu10k1 (aka Creative Audigy 2 ZS or SB0350)
boot/save method - liveCD multisession (cd-rw media)
limitations - no printer, no internet connection


Perhaps I should do a build of Precise Puppy without the 'nouveau' Xorg driver, only 'nv' -- either nv or vesa Xorg drivers should work.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 01:01    Post subject:
Subject description: display fail
 

BarryK wrote:
`f00 wrote:
precise-5.3.93 initial test

After kernel load.... either blackscreen or illegible 'scrunched' cl mssgs

Ctrl+Alt+backspace ineffective (only hardoff works), cannot load xorgwizard, various boot codes like "puppy pfix=nox" still give blackscreen or illegible 'scrunched' cl mssgs after kernel load....

Looks like precise-5.3.93's a non-starter for me Neutral
(probably should have started earlier with '2.69 or '2.71 rather than the latest)
____________
test on: i686 machine
processor - Pentium 3 @1GHz
RAM - 512M
vidcard0 - RV280 (aka ATI Radeon 9200), AGP
vidcard1 - not used, but also RV280 (switched off in BIOS - aka Radeon 9200SE), PCI (old-style)
soundcard - emu10k1 (aka Creative Audigy 2 ZS or SB0350)
boot/save method - liveCD multisession (cd-rw media)
limitations - no printer, no internet connection


Perhaps I should do a build of Precise Puppy without the 'nouveau' Xorg driver, only 'nv' -- either nv or vesa Xorg drivers should work.

`foo has radeon hardware. Probably radeon.modeset=0 would work at pfix=ram or on the kernel line.

In my opinion, leaving out nouveau would hamper the other 90% (a guess) of nvidia users that haven't reported their success with nouveau. As I said, I have 4 that all work flawlessly in precise ranging from an old Vanta to fairly new cards.

That said, they would all likely boot ok with nv/vesa only, but perform poorly. Actually, on my Vanta I get "out of range" on the monitor with vesa. There have been attempts around the forum to use xvesa (yes, x is not a typo) to boot to a desktop and choose. I don't think that's the answer because once a choice is made then that may fail if the user has no knowledge.

I would say documentation is the answer. Make users aware that strings like "xxxx.modeset=0" are available if graphics don't work. Be aware that radeon users are in the same boat with KMS. I had the same card `foo describes and had varying results w/wo KMS (it died recently Sad ).

2c

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 13:51    Post subject: Precise Puppy beta6, Sept. 11, 2012
Subject description: precise 5.3.95
 

I did a manual frugal install to an 8gb flash drive.

Report Video 1.3 - Fri 21 Sep 2012 on Precise Puppy 5.3.95 - Linux 3.2.29 i686

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller:NVIDIA CorporationGF108 GeForce GT 430](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v0p1 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver used: nvidia

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (524x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

# glxgears
62762 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12552.279 FPS
63014 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12602.629 FPS
63012 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12602.297 FPS

It's working well here.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   181.39 KB
 Viewed   715 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 22:19    Post subject: Grisbi 0.8.2 runs perfectly on Precise
Subject description: Pets available on the 'forum francophone' (Médor)
 

Precise Puppy is a very reliable distro. All is working on my Medion AKOYA.
We hold now very good agrarian tractors with Slacko, Racy, Precise Puppy. but i have very old plows. Thanks to the one who has made a lifting to the old grisbi 0.5.0 available for Puppy until now.
Nous avons des distros qui fonctionnent. Si vous pouviez moderniser les outils qui vont avec, ce serait parfait.

Bonne journée. Have a nice day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 42 of 59 [875 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1289s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]