Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 02:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Gnome 3.2 & 3.4.2 !!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 705
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 05:54    Post_subject:  

Update !

Gnome 3.4.2 ! See the first post for a summary of news.
Space conquest!

Cheers !

_________________
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 758
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 18:02    Post_subject:  

Puppy Gnome 3.2 & 3.4.2 !!Space conquest! - has landed

on my 10yr old Acer laptop - and I am very pleasantly surprised at how well it runs on such a ram-challenged contraption.

Thanks Jejy69 for such a nice Puppy - very best regards - Ray

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 23:43    Post_subject:  

Trying this out, just for the sake of trying it Laughing

I think I like the other one better. This one has the same issues with network setup, but it also has an icon problem... the bottom tray is empty of icons, and the larger icons in the "Setup Puppy" (first-run splash screen) show up as blank.

...perhaps it's a graphics driver bug? I'm using the "intel" driver, laptop is a Dell Inspiron 6400 with chipset (integrated, Intel) graphics. The chipset (and therefore graphics processor) is a 945GM.

EDIT: ...actually, I think I like the /other/ GNOME puplet of yours better, anyway -- particularly based on how it works and how it looks. I'll stick to that one, then...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 Aug 2012, 03:52    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Trying this out, just for the sake of trying it Laughing

I think I like the other one better. This one has the same issues with network setup, but it also has an icon problem... the bottom tray is empty of icons, and the larger icons in the "Setup Puppy" (first-run splash screen) show up as blank.

...perhaps it's a graphics driver bug? I'm using the "intel" driver, laptop is a Dell Inspiron 6400 with chipset (integrated, Intel) graphics. The chipset (and therefore graphics processor) is a 945GM.

EDIT: ...actually, I think I like the /other/ GNOME puplet of yours better, anyway -- particularly based on how it works and how it looks. I'll stick to that one, then...


Hi Jejy69

I have a bigger problem - also Intel grpahics - frugal install to my HP550 laptop - I just get an "Oh No! Something has gone wrong - can't recover - logout" screen.

Tried issuing xwin gnome-session from the terminal - same result...

Wonder what can be wrong???

Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 705
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Fri 31 Aug 2012, 06:34    Post_subject:  

Hello !

Gnome 3.x is not yet perfect in Puppy, the fact to install the video driver actives Gnome shell which is not functional.
Indeed, Gnome shell requires hardware acceleration.

You can try the pet package below, this is the gnome fallback session. You'll be able to start Gnome 3.x without Gnome Shell.

Type in the console "xwin gnome-session-fallback".

Gnome shell is really hard to make it work...
gnome-fallback.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gnome-fallback.pet 
Filesize  654.62 KB 
Downloaded  136 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 Aug 2012, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Jejy69 wrote:
You can try the pet package below, this is the gnome fallback session. You'll be able to start Gnome 3.x without Gnome Shell.

Type in the console "xwin gnome-session-fallback".

Gnome shell is really hard to make it work...


Hi Jejy

Got a little further - to a desktop - with your pet but it still had significant problems....missing icons - strange colours (black on black is a bit difficiult to read) - refusal to shutdown etc etc.

Afraid that on my laptop at least this is the first of your splendid puplets that is unusable - precise-mate is definitely my favourite so far.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 705
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Sat 01 Sep 2012, 17:07    Post_subject:  

Oops... Many issues ! Mr. Green I think Gnome 3.x is only to experiment...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2012, 15:07    Post_subject:  

Jejy69 wrote:


Gnome shell is really hard to make it work...


Amen to that! I've been trying for over a year. Do you have a package list somewhere in the system so I can see what gnome packages you are using?
Also... have you had to modify any of the core puppy files to make gnome work?
Id appreciate a quick overview of what steps youve taken, because you've obviously solved some of the issues that I've had in trying to get it to work.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2890
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jun 2014, 22:16    Post_subject:  hello JeJy69
Sub_title: Abiword 2.9.1 what a bug !
 

hello JeJy69. I'm now nearer of you (34340 that will help you). je suis sur PUPPY Gnome. You left Puppy or you are on some forum different from Medor one ?
Abiword 2.9.1 what a bug ! it does record my work !
Gnome paint selection zone then paste ; how do you do ?
gnome.jpg
 Description   Osmo as data base. Gnome paint est de la daube
 Filesize   49 KB
 Viewed   103 Time(s)

gnome.jpg


_________________
Power to USERS, fight for your rights! !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0651s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]