Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Macpup 529
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 14:41    Post_subject: smbclient is NOT SAMBA. it is one small feature.
Sub_title: We should try to not confuse those that use Puppy distros
 

Hi @Runtt21. Thanks for looking at ths further for understandng.

Yes, I know about the SAMBA cleint. But that is only to support a Puppy network search package.

Thsi is NOT SAMBA, the package. Think of it like a library striped out of SAMBA to support another package created and used for PUPPY purposes.

SAMBA IS the abilty to share files from a Linux PC with other PCs on the LAN. It has a component SMBClient that support PC discovery on the LAN, but, that is only one of SAMBA's components. ONLY the Puppy distros I mentioned ship with SAMBA.

Being up-front with what's delivered will not diminish the quallity of your distto. But, information you provide to distrowatch will be more accurate. And, I, personally regard MACPUP as a quality distro.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 771
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 16:18    Post_subject:  

Hi - just a small something FYI - can't get Pfind to work.

Made sure I had not done something totally dim, like forgetting to mount the drives I was searching.

Tried to install the latest Pfind - but no go. That was as far as I got.

Tested all the other Precise derivatives, they were all ok, switched WM to JWM, but still no go.

Looked inside 529.sfs to see if anything obvious was missing (not that I really knew what I was looking for).

Anyway - just so you know. Best regards - Ray

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 23:46    Post_subject:  

Yesterday we where still at #7 ( three days in a row) now up ti #6 Very Happy
day6.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.78 KB
 Viewed   1653 Time(s)

day6.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 23:51    Post_subject:  

Ray MK , What was wrong with the pfind that is included? It's working for me.
pfind1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   22.85 KB
 Viewed   1540 Time(s)

pfind1.jpg

pfind2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.48 KB
 Viewed   1163 Time(s)

pfind2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 771
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 05:35    Post_subject:  

Hi runtt21

Every time I asked Pfind to search for files or a file that I absolutely knew were on sda1 for example, it would respond saying, file not found.

However, I will try again, although BK has found file corruption in the latest Pfind pet. (although that may not be relevant here)

Will try some more and let you know what happens.

Thanks for checking - very best regards - Ray

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 12:37    Post_subject:  

Ray MK wrote:
Hi runtt21

Every time I asked Pfind to search for files or a file that I absolutely knew were on sda1 for example, it would respond saying, file not found.

However, I will try again, although BK has found file corruption in the latest Pfind pet. (although that may not be relevant here)

Will try some more and let you know what happens.

Thanks for checking - very best regards - Ray

from the roxterm :
Code:
PATTERN='name'
find /mnt/sda1 -iname "*${PATTERN}*"


find should find hidden files . ls command needs -a or -A option to show hidden files .
-iname means "insensitive" while -name would be "case sensitive" .
A common feature of Window is i heard to accept insensitive user names for example .
The only case sensitive windows feature should be for passwds .

btw : ROX-Filer is set to start xterm->rxvt->urxvt, not roxterm when hitting "`" backtick .
( To change this : ROX-Filer Options > Menus > Terminal emulator program )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 13:19    Post_subject:  

Status message after first reboot :

The shutdown went nice . The improvement suggested by me to rc.shutdown implemented by BarryK offer only greater than X in size savefiles seems to work correctly . The secure choice as root and ext3 worked installed frugal to folder on reiser-3.6 fs Macpup_O2 full install . Made 1GB save file . ( Small optical glitch at the end of it : should terminate the dialog by a clear >/dev/console . But thats not important now. )
Booted with all settings seemed saved correctly . e17 still is in german lang mode .

About Opera browser : Opera seems to automatically convert .xz and .pet files into .gz ones and corrupting these . Tried to adjust the MIME settings in Opera without luck :grrr: . Tried both : Save as and simply dl .

About Seamonkey : Seamonkey 2.4 and 2.8 did not start because of platform problems ( 2.4 = 7 | 2.8 = 11 and needs 13 ) . Installed http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/seamonkey/releases/2.12b5/linux-i686/ 2.12b5 and this runs . Seamonkey has the same disordering in the preview as Firefox .

Firefox and Seamonkey dl correctly but still have the .pet problem at some ftp sites to render them in the window instead of opening the DL-Manager .

*

Compiling : BIG BIG PROBLEMS here with older sources >=2 years . A lot of them need to get CFLAGS="-lpthread -lrt -lm" LDFLAGS="$SAME" passed to ./configure .
(The main glibc sub libraries)
Bluez-4.85 compiled, but 4.75 already started to complain .
No bluetooth until now . Will have to check dbus since dbus is older than on Macpup-4 series (guessing the wary dbus) .

*

Compiled a small internet rp game client with gtk-2 : crossfire

*

sh-3.00# uptime
19:11:28 up 1 day, 7:44, load average: 0.88, 0.93, 0.94

on
http://www.dell.com/us/dfb/p/optiplex-755/pd
mini-tower which is in fact a normal tower pc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 15:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Compiling : BIG BIG PROBLEMS here with older sources >=2 years . A lot of them need to get CFLAGS="-lpthread -lrt -lm" LDFLAGS="$SAME" passed to ./configure .
(The main glibc sub libraries)


You should let BarryK know that will effect him too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 11:55    Post_subject: freecraft on Macpup-529
Sub_title: free warcraft clone
 


works

with

http://www.mediafire.com/?sae4rm5shlh1qeh freecraft-1.20-pup4-krg-i686.pet compiled on Macpup Foxy 3 ( 530 KB )

Main TOKNOW : Mouse-Grab in the window : ALT+G to bind the cursor to the window and also to unbind it ( toggle ) .

NEEDS the data files : http://ftp.acc.umu.se/mirror/cdimage/snapshot/Debian/pool/main/f/fcmp/fcmp_1.18.20030311.orig.tar.gz which go to /usr/share/games/freecraft . Probably needs symlink /usr/share/games/freecraft/default -> data .

Needs SDL for which I have packaged a .sfs from Slacko
http://www.mediafire.com/?tchpoa8s2f1ytr9 SDL-Slacko-5-all.sfs ( 2,3 MB )

Needs libiconv for which I have made a .sfs compiled on Macpup-529-Precise
http://www.mediafire.com/?su6man7kw521i9a libiconv-1.14-i686-precise-all.sfs ( 2,2 MB )
Got libiconv from here : http://www.gnu.org/software/libiconv/ . Compiled nicely. make check;echo $?; had been '0' .

( check compiled on Macpup-529-Precise : http://www.mediafire.com/?6uj93yo9c894g6r check-0.9.8-krg-precise-all-i686.pet ( 160 KB ) )

( other forum thread : Freecraft-1.2 old Warcraft2 clone )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 12:14    Post_subject:  

Karl you ROCK !!!!Thanks !!

Would you take a shot at compiling pidgin for precise/Macpup ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 13:38    Post_subject:  

Tja, iconv.h is actually part of the libc6-dev_2.15-0ubuntu10_i386.deb

Pidgin needs

gstreamer0.10_0.10.36.orig.tar.bz2 [ compiled ]

gst-plugins-base0.10_0.10.36.orig.tar.bz2 [ compiled ]

farstream_0.1.2.orig.tar.gz
which needs libnice_0.1.1.orig.tar.gz [ compiled ]

BUT also needs
checking for headers required to compile python extensions... not found
configure: error: could not find Python headers

:CRY:

I am gaming a little hour or two before i check python Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 15:15    Post_subject:  

Not today .

Python.h is missing totally in the devx . Would need python(dev) installed .

Older pidgin 2.7.1 and 2.6.6 need farsight (freedesktop.org (dbus,hal,..)

Even older 2.5.8 and 2.4.2 need meanwhile(Sametime) http://www-01.ibm.com/software/lotus/sametime/

[
sh-3.00# df -m
Code:
Filesystem     1M-blocks  Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3          20771 14788      5984  72% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
/dev/loop1          1008   800       209  80% /initrd/pup_rw



sh-3.00# uptime
21:12:03 up 2 days, 9:45, load average: 1.19, 1.15, 1.19
]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1650
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 16:43    Post_subject:  

Karl, Sir , Thank you very much for your time and effort!! I need all the help I can get. I will look into the python stuff for the devx this week.

I have built an xchat.pet using the ubuntu packages. It works so far But I don't use irc so I don't know if all the functions work. It has all the dependencies included. 11 MB. It's in the macpup529 folder on my macpup page .

We have dropped back to #7 ar DW today . Thing should calm down this week and get back to normal. I should have a new theme or two and some other stuff by the end of the week.

_________________

www.macpup.org http://macpup.org/runtt21
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 17:29    Post_subject: MacPUP are the best !
Sub_title: I will try 529
 

I see You have Xvidcap included. The russian version is perfect, with sound recording working. That is not the case of each Puppy, overall 528.
529 is not Lucid ? We could believe the contrary. I am working now with précise. This distro is OK.

But our dogs are so prolific, i cannot follow all the brand new issues. The next try will be Macpup.
Bonne nuit. Pelo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2012, 01:53    Post_subject: Please improve keyboard fr choice
Sub_title: Little bug in this matter
 

Hello, fine Macpup, as always. 529 should make believe it's a new distro based on Lucid 529, instead of precise. Lucid has a big problem with sound.
I have beeng using Precise since a Week and it works perfectly, wifi and alsa, without repair.
Keyboard set fr at boot, but typing qwerty ! Nous les français on aime pas trop;

Il faut reconnecter la wifi au reboot, pas bon !

Precise do it well, what have you change ?

Tell us how to avoid these little bugs, generally you were better than the original distro !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1322s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0429s) ][ GZIP on ]