Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 02:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
roar-ng and Subito GNU/Linux 0.9.5 Beta
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 09:34    Post_subject:  

You configuration is invalid; you have supplied an invalid architecture: it should be either i686 or x86_64 for Arch.

EDIT: see the configuration here if you need an example.

EDIT 2: it seems mplayer2 is screwed up. Since it depends on Python 3, it cannot be built using Slackware's Python. Also, syslinux fails to build for some reason - I'm still investigating this.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 09:39    Post_subject:  

smokey,

the arch is missing in your url e.g. i686 ...

EDIT: ah iguleder you been faster (and you know more about that ...)

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 09:59    Post_subject:  

Forgot to mention - make sure you work against the latest version (here).

Currently, there is a development branch called "raspberry-pi", which has many improvements. I'm going to merge it back to the master branch soon.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1844
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 11:28    Post_subject:  

I progressed a lot further this time but encountered a lot of command not found errors.

Never got to build an image.

See attached output from Terminal window.

Regards
smokey01.txt.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  smokey01.txt.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.42 KB 
Downloaded  322 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 11:37    Post_subject:  

Well, that makes lots of sense - take a look at the package list you used - it's pretty much empty. You don't even have a C library or a kernel. Evil or Very Mad

But yes, you used roar-ng right - kudos for that. Now, get a real package list (as the one here) and run 1download, 2createpackages and 3builddistro again.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1844
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 11:40    Post_subject:  

Yes, already doing that now.

It's not so clear to us old chaps.

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 11:42    Post_subject:  

That's why you have this.
_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1844
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 11:48    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
That's why you have this.


I read the readme.

What would be easier to understand is if you had a fully configured conf directory so following the ./1 ./2 ./3 & ./4 would have produced something.

You are much cleverer than the average bear.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 12:20    Post_subject:  

Great news! I got both Syslinux and mplayer2 to build.

The former had an issue with LDFLAGS - for some reason, it reads it from the environment but fails to build with my custom flags.

The latter required Python 3, so I got Python 3.1 from Debian to work (extremely hacky!).

I'm currently uploading all packages - you'll have to run 0setup, 1download and 2createpackages again. Make sure you clean processed-packages from remains of the previous .rxz packages.

EDIT: smokey01 - I improved the README and added details documentation of the configuration. Packages are still uploading, shouldn't take very long.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1844
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 12:48    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:


EDIT: smokey01 - I improved the README and added details documentation of the configuration. Packages are still uploading, shouldn't take very long.


Thanks mate.

It's generating a lot of "command not found errors" during the ./2createpackages stage. Is this normal?

Anyway, after 02:00 better go to bed.

Thanks for your help and advice.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 12:53    Post_subject:  

Yes, it's normal. That happens because you don't have AdvanceCOMP or OptiPNG installed.

The result is a larger, less optimized distro.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1844
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 20:19    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
Yes, it's normal. That happens because you don't have AdvanceCOMP or OptiPNG installed.

The result is a larger, less optimized distro.


With AdvanceCOMP and/or OptiPNG installed, is it larger?
Is it better with or without?

It's slowly starting to make sense but just when I think it's safe to go back in the water, another bugger bites me.

During the ./2createpackages:
squashfs-tools (subito)
Error: squashfs-tools-4.2.rxz does not exist under packages.

It appears squashfs-tools-4.2.rxz has not been downloaded. I guess it's pretty important as it's required to build the iso.

I re-ran ./1download but it still did not find the package. Is it missing or is something wrong with the script?

I guess you wouldn't notice as it would already be in your packages directory from previous ./1downloads.

Should I comment all lines out in the conf/package_list or are these files required when building slackware?

###################################
# Subito GNU/Linux-specific stuff #
###################################
subito|subito-desktop|subito-desktop|exe,dev,doc,nls
subito|locale-gen|locale-gen|exe,dev,doc,nls
subito|advancecomp|advancecomp|exe>dev,dev,doc,nls
in the conf/package_list or are these files required when building slackware?
.
.
.


I don't fully understand what packages are required. It would be nice to have a default list of bare minimum for each distro, or is this list it?

I also read in the manual: ./3builddistro
"It is recommended to edit the script before its execution, in order to tweak various parameters, such as the default desktop background."

In sandbox/rootfs there doesn't appear to be a backgrounds directory where I would expect it /usr/share/backgrounds. Do I need to manually create this directory and populate it with backgrounds?

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2012, 13:16    Post_subject:  

It's better with AdvanceCOMP and OptiPNG - they're used to shrink the ISO. Get them installed on your distro.

And no, you can't build "slackware", but you can build a distro which contains packages taken from Slackware. If you don't have any other AdvanceCOMP package, use the one in the example I gave you.

By the way - the manual was removed from recent versions of roar-ng. It's totally irrelevant - if you still have it, get a newer version.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 20 Aug 2012, 14:22    Post_subject: missing Sublito V1 ISO  

Iguleder wrote:
Uploading the 1.0.0 stable release to this directory. It's 248 MB, since the ISO contains the devx.

Here's the list of the ISO contents: ...
Hi @Iguleder.

I saw this post to this thread, but, I cannot find the ISO you present. Has it been moved or placed somewhere else?

Thanks in advance. ... Also see PM

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 21 Aug 2012, 08:59    Post_subject:  

I guess you need what is referred to as "git"

I know nothing about it but I failed to download
due to me have no "git"

Here is a link to the ReadMe of latest version 2013?
https://github.com/iguleder/roar-ng-ii/blob/master/README

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0881s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]