Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 09:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko 5.4 - FINAL 2 Dec 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 23:35    Post subject: Slacko - next cycle -alpha  

I maximized urxvt and navigated to the games directory,
then did sh nexuiz-linux-glx.sh

I did the same on the nvidia install with much the same result as far
as the output in the screen capture.

Hope it means something to you, it's all geek to me Smile
capture5741.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  capture5741.jpg 
Filesize  154.53 KB 
Downloaded  471 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5893
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 03:15    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

Anyway, here is the original Mplayer version 1.1 as small as I could get it .. 5.3M pet Sad http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/pet_packages-spup/MPlayer-1.1-i686.pet. It works on older hardware but I don't know about older Athlon. I may have to tune the configure options if it doesn't work for you.

Also, I think I fixed the wallpaper setter, see the attachment.


Success with both Mplayer and the wallpaper setter. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 03:52    Post subject:  

Thanks James...

So I found the recipe to link mplayer with external ffmpeg

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/pet_packages-spup/MPlayer-1.1-s-i686.pet 1.6M

That's better!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 04:49    Post subject:  

Hi Mick

1st time ever that I can recall on my pretty bog-standard HP550 laptop ..... intel graphics

Download and frugal install of 5.3.5 alpha - checked md5sum is OK - boots to black screen and ctrl-alt-backspace has no effect so unable to proceed any further.....

Question Sad Question

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 08:49    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi Mick

1st time ever that I can recall on my pretty bog-standard HP550 laptop ..... intel graphics

Download and frugal install of 5.3.5 alpha - checked md5sum is OK - boots to black screen and ctrl-alt-backspace has no effect so unable to proceed any further.....

Question Sad Question

Cheers
peebee


Same result on all 3 listed intel laptops.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1730
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 09:32    Post subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:

Same result on all 3 listed intel laptops.


Same thing here with a new desktop that works fine with slacko 533 PAE

Not sure what command to issue in 533 to determine more information that would be of assistance to you.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 17:56    Post subject: Blank screen when booted to desktop  

Quote:
Same results on my intel video laptops.


If I boot "pfix=nox,ram" I can run xorgwizard and take the vesa option to get to desktop. But, other desktop navigation issues arise.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 19:19    Post subject: Slacko - next cycle -alpha
Subject description: intel graphics
 

I did a manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive.
The only way to avoid a black screen and get to the desktop was to
boot pfix=nox,ram, run xorgwizard and choose vesa + proper resolution.

I installed mesa 8.0.4 from ppm.

# report-video
vesa
Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.5 on Wed 8 Aug 2012

Chip description:
2.0 VGA compatible controller
Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 1Cool
oem: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: vesa

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (339x271 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
3092 frames in 5.0 seconds = 618.388 FPS
3326 frames in 5.0 seconds = 665.160 FPS
3467 frames in 5.0 seconds = 693.200 FPS
#
It's working well enough to run google-earth.
I've just begun testing so that's it so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   164.18 KB
 Viewed   1814 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 00:22    Post subject:  

Thanks for all the intel failure reports.

That is what alpha is about. The only intel I tested was my Brookdale and it booted to a 'vesa' desktop at correct res. I do have my eee to test and I will inherit my son's HP lappy on Monday (845G) as we got him a new HP for his birthday, I don't think Puppy will get near that for awhile! It has radeon graphics anyway.

So far, my hypothesis on all this video trouble is that KMS is the cause. There is a "modesetting" xorg driver which I left out of 533 and also left out of this build but it seems that it is necessary for Intels. Also, for now, turning off KMS should produce a 'vesa' desktop. There is also some critical bugs in xorgwizard, one where it is possible that all drivers in /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers get moved to /usr/lib/x/drivers-backup!!! Not good at all.

KMS is also likely causing issues with radeon and nouveau. I haven't had any nouveau issues yet but it seems it may need to be turned on for radeon/ATI (AMD) cards so that the ati or radeon or r128 driver gets used. Else 'vesa' gets used unless your card doesn't support KMS (older radeons should work fine, mine does).

Also, all this KMS stuff seems to depend on mesa being present as part of the build, not really surprising seeing that Slackware (and most other distros) ship with mesa out of the box. The only other way around I can see would be to recompile all xorg drivers without mesa support, which would be a mistake in my view.

I'm a bit busy at the moment, but maybe in the next week or so I can get to the bottom of all this nonsense and release a decent alpha.

Those who want to persist with Intel testing, try "pfix=ram i915-modeset=0" either at the "puppy" (boot prompt from cd) or on the grub/grub4dos kernel line.

Nvidia and radeon users can try "nouveau-modeset=0" or "radeon-modeset=1" respectively, or if you already have a usable desktop with an ati/amd card with 'vesa' driver you can edit /etc/modprobe.d/radeon.conf and change the 0 to 1.

Also, search for xf86-video-modesetting and install it (slackware repo) if you have modesetting set at 1 (..and mesa-8.0.4 too)

FOOTNOTE: none of the above applies if you use a proprietary video driver.

Remember this is testing and a few save files may get burned!

____________________________________________________________________

On an unrelated note, gparted fails to work on ntfs partitions, it requires ntfsprogs, which aren't in the repos. Slackware 13.37 package should work ok, untested though so YMMV. It is not supported to invoke gparted for working on the partition you have booted off, and should give you a kernel error.

Once again, thanks for reports.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5893
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 00:55    Post subject:  

Finally got around to testing on my P4 with Intel 865 graphics. Boots to a black desktop requiring a hard poweroff.
Trying "pfix=ram i915-modeset=0" now......... no improvement.
Trying pfix=ram,nox ..........chose the "vesa" driver and 1024x768 and got 640x480 but at least it's a desktop.No really usable but a desktop.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 01:23    Post subject:  

Was able to reach a desktop on the 3 laptops using cd
boot and pfix=nox-vesa.
Not one was capable of making a wireless connection.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 10:45    Post subject: Module blacklisting problem  

Hi Mick

Got a working 5.3.5alpha by using the grub4dos edit facility to temporarily add nox to the boot line - and then selecting the vesa driver.

Found that I am unable to blacklist a module - see attached where b43 is both blacklisted and loaded simultaneously.....

Cheers
peebee
capture8325.png
 Description   
 Filesize   53.96 KB
 Viewed   1233 Time(s)

capture8325.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 16:14    Post subject:    

Looking good, You Have already corrected the background setting problem. The only other problem that I've noted is when using PPM, clicking on "Examine dependencies" closes the dialogue box without showing the dependencies so a program with dependencies cannot be installed using the PPM.

Thanks to your fine nouveau-unload, the NVIDIA driver was also easily installed.
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.31 KB
 Viewed   1555 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


Last edited by Jim1911 on Thu 09 Aug 2012, 16:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 16:36    Post subject: Re: Module blacklisting problem  

peebee wrote:
Hi Mick

Got a working 5.3.5alpha by using the grub4dos edit facility to temporarily add nox to the boot line - and then selecting the vesa driver.

Found that I am unable to blacklist a module - see attached where b43 is both blacklisted and loaded simultaneously.....

Cheers
peebee


Thanks peebee for persisting.

I wonder if it's really loaded? I did have a similar issue with nouveau being reported as loaded but I knew it wasn't (with lsmod). The nvidia driver still installed fine, if nouveau is loaded it can't install.

Can you please zip (or gzip) your /etc/rc.d/MOSULESCONFIG file to make sure it made the skip list, or just post the 'skiplist' variable.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 17:35    Post subject: Bibletime 2.9.1  

pemasu's version of Bibletime here works, but only from a prompt, it will not work using the bibletime.desktop file, the menu, or clicking on /usr/bin/bibletime. It does execute from a prompt with the following error message.

# bibletime
bibletime: /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libsword-1.6.2.so)
#

It would be great to have it in your puppy slacko repository that shows up in the PPM if it can work from the menu.

Thanks,
Jim
image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.61 KB
 Viewed   1540 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0981s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]