Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 13:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12 with 3.4.2 kernel.
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 67 of 89 [1330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, ..., 87, 88, 89 Next
Author Message
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 17:38    Post subject:  

pemasu:
Thanks for that. It will be a while before I can get to that but I will and I'll report back one way or the other.
irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 01:02    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
jrb. See the last rows first.
Thank you of the feedback. Yes...I am curious of why rt73usb does not work.
Hmm....one thought. I do have in sleep.sh (by jemimah) rfkill block command before suspending. There has been several reports with error 132 about rfkill. You can ensure that your wireless is not blocked by executing command: rfkill unblock wlan
Or...better. rmmod rt73usb, then rfkill unblock all, then modprobe rt73usb and try again to rise it up.


The plot thickens. I hope my results make more sense to you than they do to me Laughing

5.X.3.4.2.8 and 9A (the first release) give these results:
Code:
# ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132
# rfkill list
0: phy0: wlan
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: yes
# rmmod rt73usb
# rfkill unblock all
# modprobe rt73usb
# rfkill list
1: phy1: wlan
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
# ifconfig wlan0 up

Frisbee showed nothing
simple network setup failed to connect
network connection wizard said it had failed to establish a connection but when the Auto DHCP button was pushed an ipaddress was successfully obtained.

5.X.3.4.2.9B (the 2nd release) give these results:
Code:
# ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132
# rfkill list
0: phy0: wlan
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: yes
# rmmod rt73usb
# rfkill unblock all
# modprobe rt73usb
# rfkill list
1: phy1: wlan
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: yes
# ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132

total failure connecting

Dmesg gives:
Code:
[   39.366258] Registered led device: rt73usb-phy0::radio
[   39.366276] Registered led device: rt73usb-phy0::assoc
[   39.366296] Registered led device: rt73usb-phy0::quality
[   39.366967] usbcore: registered new interface driver rt73usb


lsmod shows only rt73usb loading

One other odd note, When I established a connection in .8 and .9A if I did a hot boot then wlan0 had no rfkill blocking. Shocked If I did a cold boot then wlan0 was once again blocked.

I should mention that it took me a long time to get any Linux distro running on this machine. It must be booted with
Code:
reserve=0xFFB00000,0x100000
as one of the boot options or it crashes. Perhaps this is affecting the situation as well.

If no one else complains about this problem I'd write it off as odd hardware. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu91


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 144
Location: England. Dpup. Dell Inspiron 1501

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 06:54    Post subject:  

Hi Pemasu,
Hope the first day back to work is going well - good news B43 wifi is detected on first boot, save file creation and shutdown also work as expected.
pmodemdiag-20120808.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmodemdiag-20120808.tar.gz 
Filesize  34.31 KB 
Downloaded  97 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 09:04    Post subject:  

Jrb. Interesting problem. I believe it is hardware and maybe kernel related problem. My hunch of wlan blocked seems to be right. It looks like that when you cold boot with my build....the wlan will be blocked for whatever reason, that seems fact.
I just wonder....if you put those needed commands to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local so...that they are executed before you boot X, would it help the outcome.
Also...you could test sns....after you have disabled Frisbee with Frisbee disable-enable manager: from menu > network and put those commands to rc.local and reboot. Sns wont work before you have rebooted, usually. That is the problem with several connection managers. They interfere each other.
I have noticed that if I rfkill my wlan (with Fn+wireless button) the Frisbee does not always show wireless when I have unblocked wlan.

I dont have better solution to offer.

Stu91. First day is behind. Tough day....as I knew. It is always difficult to tune yourself to face problems after prolonged period of work inactivity...and there really were some of them waiting for me...lol.
For me...it takes some time to be able to keep attention at top the whole work day.
But now at home....little exhausted though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 10:21    Post subject: desktop-restore backup omission  

pemasu,
As I mentioned in a PM to you, your rc.shutdown mod to save the desktop icon configuration is omitted from 5X3429 -- fortunately! That modification of puppy infrastructure is unnecessary and constitutes a "maintenance headache" for you and others. The "standard" way of adding a function to the shutdown process is by way of a "service script" in /etc/init.d, coded to run only at shutdown. I attach such a script and recommend that it be added to the "desktop-restore" .pet package in place of the dangerous user instructions to modify puppy. This can be installed now by anyone needing the desktop-restore function. Here is its content:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#Save desktop icon configuration for desktop-restore function.
case $1 in
 stop)
  mkdir /root/.desktop 2>/dev/null
  cp -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin  /root/.desktop 2>/dev/null
  cp -p /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons /root/.desktop 2>/dev/null
 ;;
esac
If shutdown is the only place the backup is needed, the "backup" part of the desktop-restore script could be removed, making the script do only what its name implies.

I wonder, though, how much it is needed. Is it a workaround for a puppy deficiency that has already been fixed -- or needs to be? Anyway, this script is a non-invasive way to activate the desktop-restore capability.
Richard
desktop-backup_on_shutdown-1.pet
Description  Saves desktop icon configuration at shutdown, to support desktop-restore.
pet

 Download 
Filename  desktop-backup_on_shutdown-1.pet 
Filesize  526 Bytes 
Downloaded  76 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu91


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 144
Location: England. Dpup. Dell Inspiron 1501

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 10:22    Post subject:  

Hi Pemasu,
I just signed up to the free 2GB file hosting on SpiderOak (similar to DropBox) https://spideroak.com/

They have a linux client you can install for backing up / syncing files and the like - just point it to a directory drop some files in and they are automatically uploaded.

I have made .sfs of the spideroak client and uploaded to their server as a test. Smile
https://spideroak.com/storage/ON2HKOJR/shared/517482-1-1003/spideroak-9.9.4.8_5.X.3.4.2.9.sfs?88561eb55cdf2ea17eddce8ee2204e15

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 11:03    Post subject:  

pemasu:

Before doing what you recommended I decided to check out if mplayer worked on the last version I used which was 5x14.

In fact it doesn't work. There is only one app that I use which would default to mplayer but I had not installed it into that version.

Mplayer not working is not a deal breaker, everything else is going well.

irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 11:58    Post subject:  

Irishrm. Could you generate sys-info report.gz like this: Menu > System > System status and config > Sys-info and reprort....and and launch it. Then save it as it suggests but include .gz into file name, like sys-info-120808.gz and post it here from /tmp/root.
I get your comp specs. So that I know what kind cpu and other comp specs you have. I can try to compile mplayer2 tuned for your comp. I still havent found cure to compile generic mplayer2. I am starting to suspect I wont manage it with my quad core comp. But knowing your comp specs at least gives me possibility to compile your comp specs tuned version.

Rerwin. Thank you of your init script for desktop-restore. I dont know how problematic sfs loading is nowadays if you have changed desktop icons. I dont ever retune my desktop icons. But I read now and then from forum threads that people have got problems. If you load sfs, sometimes the desktop icons are restored to their original state. I dont remember anymore what script is behind that behavior. But backing up desktop when you shutdown as background process gives you possibility to have them back easily....when you encounter that problem and start to wonder how to get them back to their previous state. Then the restore utiity comes in rescue. If it is not needed anymore....by woof script update...then the utility can be removed. Anyway....because the backup...with your nice init script makes it easy to add to the build and the backing up does not take much space ( two files copied to safe location )...you have that safety measure done automatically as background process....and the utility comes in rescue.....if needed.

Stu91. Nice find. I check what you have to offer.
EDIT. Just tested it. I created account and uploaded file. But...how did you create that shared url without any shared-key stuff etc ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 14:49    Post subject:  

I tested this experimental version of pfilesearch with the latest pfind
and it worked!!

pfilesearch 131

This was an early version of pfilesearch 131 that Zigbert didn't
want me to use.

_______________________________

The newest version of audacity 2.0.1 works with the
latest Exprimo.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=645419#645419

____________________________________________________

I tested Charlie6's latest wacom driver and it worked with my
Bamboo digital tablet and latest Exprimo

_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 16:33    Post subject:  

pemasu:

I think this is what you need.
Please don't waste too much of your valuable time on this.

irishrm.
sys-info-120808.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-120808.gz 
Filesize  37.83 KB 
Downloaded  82 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 17:06    Post subject:  

Irishrm. You could try mplayer2 from this link. It has been compiled for my laptop, but my laptop is also intel i5 quad core...as yours. And I have intel graphics also. I though compiled it as native which makes it best optimized for my comp....but it might work for you. If not...I try to compile it with more conservative multicore version.

Link:http://smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-exprimo/mplayer2-i5-quadcore-git-080812.pet

If it does not work, in my exprimo repo is several mplayer2 compiles. Just check them until you hopefully find working version: http://smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-exprimo/

And this is no problem for me. This is learning process. And I have already created build, so I need something smaller to do. I will probably update next the 5.X.14 build to 5.X.15.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 753
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 17:49    Post subject:  

I have tried to compile LMMS Linux MultiMedia Studio in Exprimo and was wondering if anyone would like to test it out. Backi requested it.

I included the qt 4.8.0 libs from Pemasu's .pet and it seems qt-core looks for some ICU libs which would add lots of bloat to a package which is already quite big. Did a search and some are describing this as a known issue or bug of qt.

LMMS starts and runs OK from the menu. Console complains but I think you can just ignore it. Installing ICU cures the console whinges but it is 8.5 Megs as a .pet and 20 Megs unpacked.

Any thoughts?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=643240#643240

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
soundNICK

Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 17:51    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
<drastic snip>.


pemasu oooOOOOoooOOOO this one... the August 5 update...
everything is fixed ! I now get monitor automatically sized to
1600 or so... all drive icons and menus are on screen - this was broken
in older dPup-Xprimo I had. Even flash player app worked first
time, from the built-in icon and launcher.

all my pets made with earlier dpup-Exprimo work well, and I made
several more, just to test... with a correct editor, my pet script works
no problem. In other distros... precise and fatSlacko... no blender could
be made to work... in your latest, blender pet made from PPM works
right away, so good !

the screen layout is just right... I can put each application icon around
the lines extending from puppy face - a great organizer built in
for free : -)

thanks so much for all your efforts... the dpup-squeeze series is favorite
of mine, as it is debian.

Excuse me... I have to go and break something so I can file a bug report : -)

soundNICK

Last edited by soundNICK on Wed 08 Aug 2012, 17:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 17:54    Post subject:  

Thanks. soundNICK was my main debugger and tester when I created my first Snow Puppies. Good to hear of you again. Most of the talk were kept in puppylinux chat...where I nowadays visit quite seldom...even though there is really nice guys always when I visit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 08 Aug 2012, 18:28    Post subject:  

OscarTalks. You have used Qt-4.8.0 libs meant for Lucid Puppy based Polarpup. It had that icu libs problem. Those darn icu libs. I had somehow the iculibs installed when I compiled qt for Polarpup...and qt compilation sniffed them.
But my qt-4.8.0 libs for dpup does not. I have learned my lessons.
So take the libs from here: http://smokey01.com/pemasu/QT-4.8.0-dpup/libs/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 67 of 89 [1330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, ..., 87, 88, 89 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1084s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0205s) ][ GZIP on ]