Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 15:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko 5.3.3, final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 42 [626 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 19:16    Post subject: Seamonkey-2.11-en-1.sfs  

There is Seamonkey-2.11-en-1.sfs:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78601

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 02:49    Post subject: Request for developers understanding users and SFSs, as well  

shinobar wrote:
There is Seamonkey-2.11-en-1.sfs:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78601
This is not a criticism nor does it intend to be a distraction.

I am very clear on the auguments of Pros and the Cons of SFS versus PET in Puppy Linux packaging, installation, and use.

I, personally, do NOT have any position in either direction; simply, that it just works.

But, this is an appeal for understanding by those who develop subsystems and packages for Puppy.. Please acknowledge the existence of Puppy Package Management and provide a PET as well as an SFS whereever possible for all community members. Some members do not have sufficient skill levels to understand SFS use in PUppy distros,

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 876
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 07:01    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Oscar- there must be a simpler way!

I downloaded.

I unpacked (in /tmp).

Where does the renaming come in?

And do I have to go through /usr/lib/seamonkey/ and check each file against the unpacked one, and replace the old by the new one if they are different?


What I have done is actually very simple. In fact the only renaming I did was as a precaution. I renamed (rather than deleting) the existing seamonkey directory in /usr/lib (which is the old version) to seemonkeyold in case there was any problem and I needed to restore back (which I didn't - it has worked OK on 2 machines running Slacko 5.3.3 so I have now deleted).

The downloaded tarball unpacks as a single directory named seamonkey (so does not need renaming). This can be done anywhere. After the rename just move the new directory into /usr/lib so it replaces the renamed one. No need to do anything with the files inside it.

I guess you could say all you need to do is download (to /mnt/home or /root), delete (seamonkey folder from /usr/lib), unpack (to /usr/lib).

You will find that features such as automatic and manual updates and the crash reporter are now included. Profile information such as bookmarks and settings are not lost because they are stored elsewhere.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 10:01    Post subject:  

Wow! that was easy enough. Thanks-

EDIT: I mean the OscarTalks method. I assume, if updater works now, it will be up-to-date for ever?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 12:21    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Nope, none of that worked.

Edit> Preferences> Advanced> BLANK

and Help has no check for updates option.

Hmmm..

The message appears on a red bar under the menu bar, and has a "check for updates" button, nothing happens there either.

Do we have Seamonkey in full, or are bits cut out to make it lighter?


(edit>preferences>advanced)
You need to click the little triangle to the left
of the word advanced.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 876
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 18:50    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
if updater works now, it will be up-to-date for ever?


I think that in most cases, with most recent Puppies, the update process for Seamonkey goes OK. There will now be a few extra tick-boxes that have appeared in your preferences menu including one for the crash reporter. You can enable automatic updates and I think that will work, although I believe it is better to disable that and just do a manual check and update from the help menu at a time of your choice when you are able to monitor the process.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 781
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 21:04    Post subject: Pets or SFSes -- Why either  

Hi All, but especially for gcmartin:

Pet or SFS? Why either?

Some time ago playdaz wrote about the advantages of "program folders" and provided a tutorial. Then DaveS followed it up by creating pets called Foxyfox and Opera-from-mnt/home (I think). Essentially, to use a program folder all you do is download the latest tgz from Seamonkey, Opera, Firefox, whatever; unpack it in mnt/home and create a symlink of its executable in one of the directories in puppy's executable path. Drag & Drop the symlink onto the desktop and give it a nice icon. Or fancy things up by creating a .desktop file so it shows up in your menu. Voila! the latest Seamonkey, Firefox, Opera. Usable/Accessible in every Puppy. Create a pet of the symlink, icon and .desktop to avoid having to manually recreate them in another puppy.
Program folders work in almost every Puppy configuration: Frugally Installed to a hard-drive, a USB-Drive, included on a CD/DVD [but if the latter, a SaveFile must be used if you want to preserve changes]. I'm fairly certain they'll even work with Full Installs.
Of course, if you're a fanatic about minimalization just unpacking a tgz may leave you with some “unnecessary” files. But as they won't be in your SaveFile, this isn't too great a disadvantage. And you can, if you know what you're doing, strip them out.
Similarly, if a Dev wants to include a browser in his/her Puplet, using program folder's isn't the way to do it. On the other hand, updating a Puplet to the newest version of Opera, Seamonkey or Firefox is a snap. And you can test for problems before discarding the “old, but working” version.
Using program folders has several advantages: Devs don't have to use up their own “on-line storage” or their own bandwidth. Wasn't that one of the reasons for developing woof? But most importantly, devs don't have to take their precious time to compile/modify something that works when obtained straight from the source, Which means that Devs have more time to spend in developing applications which actually require their expertise.
Note, running Opera from mnt/home has always worked. For a while after Firefox 7, Firefox didn't: but Firefox 14 does. Not certain about Firefox versions 12 or 13, nor any version of Seamonkey. And the first run of Firefox from mnt/home (and I think Seamonkey) will still install its preference/config files in / in every Puplet you use it with, but you can move it (specifically .mozilla) to a folder in mnt/home and symlink it back to /, or having done so in one Puplet simply delete the .mozilla file from / and substitute it with a symlink to the .mozilla file you already have in mnt/home. In about a minute, the webbrowser will have the bookmarks and customizations you're used to. But if you want flash, you'll have to install it in each Puplet.
Note on updating firefox (maybe Seamonkey): The safe way is to copy your firefox/seamonkey folder to another directory should anything go wrong. Then click on Menu>help>About Firefox>Check for Updates and follow the instructions. If that doesn't work, you may have to download the tgz directly, or fall back to your old, protected version. With Opera, you have to download the latest tgz. On the other hand, its config/preference/bookmarks are already in your folder on mnt/home.
[Program folders don't have to be on mnt/home. But then you have to mount their partition before you can use them].

Pets or SFSes? For those of us who run several Puplets, neither: rather, program folders.

Posted from Slacko using firefox 14.0.1 on mnt/home. That firefox was updated per the above easy technique from firefox 11.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dk60902


Joined: 26 Sep 2010
Posts: 223
Location: In front of my computer

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 21:29    Post subject:  

grump wrote:
I'm now happy to say that it is stable again. The defrag seems to have fixed matters. Now all that remains is to re-do the installs of the few things I like using.

I wrote earlier today: -

I'm sad to say that Slacko 5.3.3 has cacked itself on my old Toshiba A200 laptop after months of reliable service, and I can't revive it. I run it from a CD and save on the HDD. I've even tried starting from scratch - copied off the save file and deleted the slacko sfs, and it runs ok first time but fails to save the initial setting (eg hostname etc,) properly at shutdown. It saves something but on restart I have a screen full of caution triangles, the default background is missing and it wants to do the initial setup stuff again. Back to Lupo for the time being. I'll defrag the HDD on XP and try again later.

Also posted in the Puppy on laptops thread.


I learned from my mistakes that once I get a good setup going, I make weekly backups of my savefile in case it gets corrupted or I screw something up. I put it on a flash drive, and also another copy on the HD of the computer. All I have to do is delete the corrupted savefile and replace it with my backup. I'm up and running again.

_________________
HP P6115y/AMDX2 2.5 GHz/8GB RAM/750GB/WinVista Home Prem SP2 64 bit Dual Monitor (Saluki23 w/ Compiz, Slacko533 PAE w/ Compiz on USB stick)
Compaq Presario 2195us 1GB RAM Lupu 5.2.8.5 off CD/Retired WinXP 4/8/14
Nexus 5 (rooted), Lumia 820 WP8.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5142
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 01:57    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
1. I've just downloaded...
slacko-5.3.3-highmem-PAE-SCSI.iso

2. If I burn the live CD and run it with access to the slackosave.3fs file for...
slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI.iso
Will this cause a problem?
Or will it be able to update the slackosave file OK?

Well, this would really be downgrading the save file from Slacko 5.3.3.1 to 5.3.3
Only way to know is try it.
Not really sure what the update process, for save files, would do with that.
I do not think the PAE would be an issue and the difference between Slacko 5.3.3.1 and 5.3.3 is not much.
I think the best answer is nobody knows till you try it.
Make a backup copy of the save file, you know why. Wink

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5142
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 02:17    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Tried to do THIS with the ISO file, but it couldn't be mounted [as per part 1]. Sad

I've done that OK with the ordinary ISO file [slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI], and that worked OK, and is in use and doing the necessary. Very Happy

Detailed many step process you are trying to do.
First idea is just did step in error.
From my experience with mounting iso files in file managers, it does not mount sometimes and seems to lock in a state where it will not. Nothing seems to work to fix.
I have done a complete reboot of Puppy and mounting an iso file now works.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 04:45    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
First idea is just did step in error.
From my experience with mounting iso files in file managers, it does not mount sometimes and seems to lock in a state where it will not.

Previous to this problem event, every time I tried to complete the process there was no problem; it "just worked".
Or at least, the process could be completed, though sometimes the config change was ineffective.
So this failure to successfully mount the ISO seems most unusual to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 06:03    Post subject: removed 532 and installed 533  

http://imagebin.org/223614
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 06:05    Post subject: removed 532 and installed 533  

sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 08:52    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Tried to do THIS with the ISO file, but it couldn't be mounted [as per part 1]. Sad

I've done that OK with the ordinary ISO file [slacko-5.3.3.1-SCSI], and that worked OK, and is in use and doing the necessary. Very Happy


Did you check the md5? I had no problems mount/unmounting the ISO in Rox, it's on a FAT32 filesystem if that matters.

Don't know about updating the savefile, but doesn't Slacko use a Slackosave.xxx where LuPu uses a lupusave? I don't have a frugal install to check on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KJ

Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Location: Above sea level .. about 320m

PostPosted: Tue 07 Aug 2012, 10:22    Post subject: ROX "rescan" and "home" icons  

Slacko uses "slackosave-xxx.xxx savefile naming. I use Grub4dos to boot it from a ext2 partitioned full size SD card mounded in a USB convertor on my older Acer laptop with great success. You can even manually lock the SD card to "read only" if you want absolutely no saves made to your OS.

Will someone please give me the full paths for the ROX "rescan directory contents" and "change to home directory" icons.

I have used pfind with every *.png, *.rpm combo I can think might work and have viewed hundreds of icons but not these two exact icons. Thanks ... KJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 42 [626 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1174s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0143s) ][ GZIP on ]