Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 23:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
changing monitor refresh rate?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
newuser
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 12 May 2005, 22:39    Post_subject:  changing monitor refresh rate?  

how do i change this? default is 60Hz. it is killing my eyes.
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10928
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 May 2005, 23:05    Post_subject:  

Mine too, on a CRT. Don't notice it on an LCD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2005, 08:40    Post_subject:  

With the Xvesa Kdrive X server, we are stuck with it.

GuestToo was exploring some technique that maybe could change refresh rate, but so far we have nothing.
Xvesa is small, which is why we use it, as does Damn Small and others.

Some day, though, we'll migrate to something more adjustable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10928
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2005, 10:54    Post_subject:  

Here's the Xvesa Man page.
Xvesa was written mainly for handhelds, which use LCD screens where flicker isn't a consideration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2005, 13:49    Post_subject:  

i did look at the problem, but didn't do very much, mostly because my machine doesn't have a problem ... it does not run at 60hz (i can't stand crt's running at 60hz)

i think you can boot DOS, run a DOS program to set the refresh rate, then boot Puppy using loadlin or gujin, and it's supposed to keep the refresh rate

as an alternative, Xfree or other X drivers could be used ... i wondered whether the Xfree version used by XOAF or SImpleLinux (?) ... X windows on a floppy ... would work with Puppy ... but i haven't tried to get it to work yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 May 2005, 19:01    Post_subject:  

http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/3182

Found this interesting article. Dont know that product would do any good.

Also found copy of a dos prog called UniRefresh 1.42

Tiny prog so uploading if anybody wants to try it. Is GuestToo saying DOS settings of video refresh wouldnt be changed if done before loadlin loads Puppy? Can somebody provide little more detail how this would work? Why arent settings changed after Puppy boots?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newuser
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 14 May 2005, 21:29    Post_subject:  

i once used sci-tech display doctor long ago, with my computer that im trying to run puppy on.

i dont remember if i ran into any problems changing the refresh rate..it's been too long ago.

we used to run games in dos, and it used the refresh rate scitech had set in dos....as for puppy, i dont know if it will take the refresh rate changed in dos mode..i have not tried it yet.
Back to top
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2005, 04:07    Post_subject:  

The Sci-tech prog mentioned in the article is a linux version! I didnt go try and look it up to see if its even still available or applicable to Puppy's video setup.

UniRefresh which I uploaded for anybody to try is supposed to be more advanced than DOS version of Sci-tech one. I didnt try it though if I bother to look up exact info on my monitor, guess it would be fairly easy since I use loadlin to boot Puppy. Could even maybe include it on a boot floppy to experiment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]