Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 08:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Wary Tiny (81mb)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug 2012, 17:37    Post subject:  

benny,

The Firefox pets that I made should be compatible with pups newer than puppy 4.3.1
That includes Wary/Racy,Dpup, Slacko, Lucid and their derivatives.

http://www.smokey01.com/Tman/apps/firefox/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug 2012, 19:07    Post subject:  

I'm d/l now the ff pet file (ff 14) & the target location is going to be the sda1 cfcard itself for assured persistency purposes only. I have not made any pupsave file, yet.

What I'm planning to do is test that firefox (which is more advanced than my 11.0 that I'm using right now within PL528.005) &, if that version of ff convinces me I'll substitute my 11th with it in PL528 (frugal). Then, I intend to remaster somehow wary tiny for making more space & install that last ff there & make a pupsave file. Hope it works OK...

Thank you for your help with this, Tman!

Edit: Where's the md5sum data?

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry1966

Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 479
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2012, 00:04    Post subject: Many thanks  

Many thanks Tman for this great Pup.

Works really well on my NetVista 6339.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2012, 17:05    Post subject:  

I've not remastered anything yet because I've a more important issue while booting this OS up.

I'm booting from a CFCard (128 MB) in an usb-adapter at an Compaq-HP nx9010, this laptop has no hdd. The 1st time I booted up in Pristine Mode as adviced, when finally d/l FF 14 (pet) installed & ran it I decided to make warysave file at Shutdown. It was created & it still exists within the sda1 cfcard.

The problem is that if I try to boot in Normal Mode all that I can see is:
"Booting Wary Tiny 5.1.1 - Normal Mode
[Linux-bzImage, setup=0x3200, size=0x210680]
"

The laptop halts or freezes to the point that pressing Ctl+Alt+Del doesn't do anything, so to restart I've to press the Power button & always the Pristine Mode.

Is there any setting that I've to take care off, either at BIOS level or linux configuration to make things persistent?

PS. At the splash screen I saw that selecting Normal Mode would mean that the warysave.2fs file will be searched for at hd0,0 but I don't have a hdd. Is this a problem or a generic way of saying that the file will just be searched for at all locations (drives)?

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2012, 17:29    Post subject:  

benny,

I cannot give you a definate answer, because I haven't ever setup Puppy (or any OS) with a bootable CF card.
But I can only think of 2 possible problems:

1) Your save file might be corrupt becuase adding Firefox, along with the additional files that Firefox installs, once you run it for the first time would exceed the size of you save file, since you can only have a maximum of about 48MB, considering WaryTiny is 80MB and your CF card is 128MB.

- To find out if it is a save file problem, first delete your save file.
Next, reboot in Pristine Boot mode and create a new save file without adding any extra pets, and see if WaryTiny boots up in normal mode.

2) If the save file is not the problem, then it could be problem with the menu.lst file. A conventional entry for Normal Mode would be something like this:
Code:

title Wary Tiny 5.1.1 - Normal Mode\nFind and load saved sessions
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /warytiny/initrd.gz
kernel /warytiny/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /warytiny/initrd.gz


If your bootup files are not inside a folder, then adjust the lines accordingly to something like:
Code:

title Wary Tiny 5.1.1 - Normal Mode\nFind and load saved sessions
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /initrd.gz
kernel /vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /initrd.gz


I am not sure what the best "pmedia" option for a CF card is. These are the only solutions I can think of.
If you've tried my suggestions and it still doesn't work, you can post the problem in the ""Howto" section, and other members might be able to help...good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Mon 20 Aug 2012, 15:50    Post subject:  

Thanks, Tman, for replying!

The last time I ran Wary Tiny I installed FF 14 & it created a folder (Opt) with a lot of folders & files within; I deleted all of it because there was no warysave file in the card due to lack of space. Then I shutdown & chose to put a save file at sda1.

When I booted up next time it went right through the same procedure of locale, language, screen resolution, etc.; I checked to see if there was a warysave file & there was none. I rebooted again as before & this time it went right to the desktop screen. OK!

There's a warning stating "Personal storage file getting full, strongly recommend you resize it or delete files!"

Can I create more space by remastering the iso? I was thinking of getting reed of some pre-installed packages that I deem not to be used in the near future, i. e., Batch File Renamer, Gcolor2, Convert File to PDF, Bcrypt File Encryption, Osmo Personal Organizer, FT File Sharing, Firewallstate Scanner, Secure File Downloader, Online As-Blocker, (not sure for what it is Secure ssh Telnet), not sure if I want to have a web browser that I can use to hear streaming media & see youtube's videos if I need Pmusic, if ISOMaster can burn a cd/dvd I might not need Pburn - Burner Tools; there's another tab at the Menu that shows more apps & some of those I don't need them.

The problem is that I never remastered any OS & with so little space don't know how to proceed. Almost sure it's not as easy as deleting things. After starting the Remaster prog it asked me to insert an iso cd but that cd never existed, I d/l the iso file, mounted it & extracted the necessary files to their present location (CFCard) from Puppy Linux 528.005.

Right now both, the VAIO & the HP are On & connected to the web via a dsl modem (via lan), which makes me thing if it isn't possible to share (for the moment) an unused partition in the VAIO's hdd?

Any ideas? Do you recommend me to post a 'copy' of this issue in the "Howto" section?

Thanks!

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2012, 16:23    Post subject:  

benny7440 wrote:

Can I create more space by remastering the iso?


Remastering can be a tricky process, and you would need more disk space in order to remaster. Also, you wouldn't save much space if you removed the apps that you've listed above, because they are really small.

EDIT: removed erroneous statements.

For you, I recommend booting Wary Tiny from a USB stick. If your bios does not allow booting from a USB stick, try installing Plop Boot Manager onto your CF card to give you the option of booting to a USB drive.

Plop installer for Grub/Grub4Dos - Extract folder to the first partition where the mbr is located, and add a menu entry to your Grub Legacy or Grub4Dos menu.lst

http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager/intro.html

See also the following thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=648138
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2012, 15:48    Post subject:  

currently using wary tiny... when i click on the desktop i get a window about workspaces... can this feature be disabled ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2012, 16:34    Post subject:  

yr1945, I am not sure if you can disable that feature, but you can try modifying /root/.icewm/preferences
Make sure you keep a backup copy of the original. "1" is to enable a setting, and "0" ... the number zero is used to disable a setting.

(Don't add the quotation marks, of course)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2012, 19:46    Post subject:  

thanks Tman... i was able to make the desired changes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2012, 11:02    Post subject:  

Tman... just an observation relative to Wary Tiny (and, maybe, other puppies as well)... i just stumbled upon it... perhaps, you already know...

anyway, after installing firefox 15.0.1 pet... and, using the existing browser icon that comes with the desktop... by making it the default icon... all open firefox windows automatically closed when i clicked this icon to open another firefox window... when downloading a file this became frustrating because it deleted the downloading files...

however, i found that if i just deleted the "browse" icon that was automatically placed on the desktop at first start up... and replaced it by going to usr/share/applications and getting the firefox.desktop and placing it on the desktop... all open firefox windows do not close when i open a new firefox window(s)... strange ??

anyway, not sure if i made myself clear... but wanted to share this situation just in case it surfaces in your future endeavors...

PS: i tried Solid Pup Lite 2.5... it's fantastic... however, for the time being, i am staying with Wary Tiny... i guess because i do not use many apps... and, Wary Tiny is lightning fast on my laptop... i just love it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2012, 11:42    Post subject:  

Hi yr1945,

No that is not a bug with Firefox...I just set it up that way. /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser will only display 1 instance of Firefox, while running it from the menu will allow multiple instances.

Running once instance is my preference ... I just open multiple tabs.
Also, at home, my 4 year old son and wife, who just mainly know how to use a browser and shutdown the machine ... it avoids me having to fix anything when/if Firefox crashes, and it avoids me having to close multiple windows for my son.

defaultbrowser will automatically recover from a crash if you click on it...
running Firefox from the menu will not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2012, 20:21    Post subject:  

Tman... thanks for the explanation... it sounds like a good strategy now that i understand it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 14:43    Post subject:  

Tman... if you are there... could you explain to me in a few "simple" steps how to run the midori v046 browser on Wary Tiny?

I installed Jemimah's Saluki pet and then all the missing dependencies... but, Midori still will not open.

Thanks for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 21:04    Post subject: Midori  

Tman... if you are there... could you explain to me in a few "simple" steps how to run the midori v046 browser on Wary Tiny?

I installed Jemimah's Saluki pet and then all the missing dependencies... but, Midori still will not open.

Thanks for your support.

PS... welcome back... you were missed!

I should add that I use Wary Tiny as my main OS. It is very small...lightning fast... and very stable. I only added a couple of apps. Everything else I needed was included in your ISO. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1000s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0160s) ][ GZIP on ]