Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 03:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
[Solved]Ess-18xx driver not working
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
nonekiller

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 04:10    Post subject:  [Solved]Ess-18xx driver not working  

I have a compaq presario 1655 with a ess 1869 audio card, i have clasic puppy linux 2.14x top10 http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42553 and its the only pupy linux that detects my audio card. after that it says its installing the driver but there is still no sound, i sound control icon in the right of the menu bar says its full volume but there is still no audio, can someone help me?
Last edited by nonekiller on Fri 20 Jul 2012, 15:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 04:46    Post subject:  

What are your hardware specifications?
(processor speed, RAM, etc.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nonekiller

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 12:58    Post subject:  

-Computer-
Processor : Pentium II (Deschutes)
Memory : 157MB (62MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.21
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 17 Jul 2012 01:06:20 PM GMT+8
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : unknown
X11 Vendor : (null)
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ES1869 - ESS AudioDrive ES1869
-Input Devices-
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
PC Speaker
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>
-SCSI Disks-
ATA HITACHI_DK227A-4
TOSHIBA CD-ROM XM-1802B
P.S. my processor runs at 266
and in my bios it says:

sound:enabled
Base i/0 adress 220-22F
interrupt: irq 5
DMA channel: DMA 1
DMA channel: DMA 0
FM I/0 adress: 388 - 28b
MPU I/0 Adress: 330 - 331

FIXED: went into ect/modprobe.conf and edited "options snd-es18xx dma1=1 dma2=5 irq=10" to the values in my bios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 16:55    Post subject:  

Might be a good idea to:

* Boot with puppy pfix=ram option.
* Go into Menu / System / GParted partition manager.
* Set up a 360MB Linux-swap partition.

This will make things easier down the road, in case you run out of RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 795
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 17:57    Post subject:  

I have a similar sound card in my laptop, and I am having problems in Akita.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 18:15    Post subject:  

My Compaq Deskpro P2/350 has es18xx onboard audio.
Wary works with it, no problem.
(specifically 5.1.1 k2.6.31.14 and k2.6.30.5; and 5.1.4.1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2444
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 18:18    Post subject:  

@nonekiller thanks for reporting fix ; -)


Quote:
FIXED: went into ect/modprobe.conf and edited "options snd-es18xx dma1=1 dma2=5 irq=10" to the values in my bios


@ bark bark bark

did you try this fix? or trying Wary as Dewbie suggests? More info would probably be need to solve the problem, like which Akita http://scottjarvis.com/page112.htm

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 18:25    Post subject:  

Oops, I wasn't paying attention; bark_bark_bark's laptop has only 64MB RAM.
So Wary might be a bit heavy.
A full installation might work.
(More RAM would definitely help.)

As is, he would need about 448MB of swap.
(RAM) or (RAM + swap) = 512 MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0519s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]