Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 22:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How to disable internal dialup modem? [SOLVED]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 01:18    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Dewbie writes:

Quote:
But do mention the surge up front; it could've caused any number of internal problems in the computer that prevent the external modem from working properly.


For example: what kind of problems?
And, can they be fixed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 01:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
For example: what kind of problems?

The surge could've fried some of the computer's circuitry.

Quote:
And, can they be fixed?

I wouldn't bother; it would cost less to buy a used computer.
But let's not get ahead of ourselves.
How about testing that external modem with another computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 02:45    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Dewbie Writes:

Quote:
But let's not get ahead of ourselves.
How about testing that external modem with another computer?


Ah! excellent idea. I have several vintage machines that can carry Puppy-520 which is the system on the machine in question. I'll set one up tomorrow and give the new modem a try.

News at 11:00.

Thank you, Dewbie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 09:13    Post subject:  

I have one external BB modem for the "normal Tower/desktop pc" and one internal for a netbook .

Both use the kernel driver named "option.ko" .

Whenever i need to now which port(s) the option driver has attaced to i do a
Code:
dmesg | grep ttyUSB

even for the internal one
( don't know if its onboard with http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PBGA or in a socket or attaced mini-card )

that usually show something like this :
Quote:
[17118.675469] usb 1-4: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[17118.676902] usb 1-4: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB1
[17118.688989] usb 1-4: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB2

so even " inbuild " with a slot for the SIM card my driver claims USB associations .

If the modem would be defect, i guess i would find some info in /var/log/messages, the dmesg command without grep filter or /tmp/bootkernel.log issued by the kernel .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 13:29    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: Report on Modem Test Using Other Machines and a Different Puppy
 

Results of Modem Test

Modem:Wintec-FileMate-56-k-ModemCX

Machine in question: Toshiba Satellite 1415-S115, 512 RAM
Operating System: Puppy-520 Live CD
Kernel: 2.6.33.2 (i686)
SeaMonkey 2.0.11
Machine has internal modem which no longer has supported driver.
This machine was running the external modem with no issues until a power surge.*
The external modem appeared to be fried.
We bought a new modem same brand as old modem. (Wintec-FileMate-56-k-ModemCX)
We also bought a USP battery/surge protector backup.

*The operating system PRIOR to the surge was a full install on the HDD.
I cleaned off the HDD using GParted.
I ran fschk, pfix=RAM, and several other cleanups that I don't remember now.
I replaced only the lupu save file (I had made a backup prior to the incident) onto the HDD.
I am having him run the OS from a Live CD.

Modem Wintec-FileMate-56-k-ModemCX doesn't respond. (see above thread)

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Modem: Wintec-FileMate-56-k-ModemCX
Responds with no issues to:

Toshiba Satellite 2805-S401, 256 RAM
Puppy 4.3.1 frugal install on HDD
Kernel 2.6.30.5 (i686)
SeaMonkey 2.10
Pupdial:
String 2 ATZ
String 3 ATQ0V1E1 S0=0&C1&D2+FCLASS=0
ttyACMO
auto connect
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Modem: Wintec-FileMate-56-k-ModemCX
Doesn't respond to:

Dell Inspiron 5100
Puppy 520 on USB Drive (SanDisk Cruzer Blade 4gb)
SeaMonkey 2.0.10
Kernel 2.6.33.2 (i686)
Pupdial:
String 2 ATZ
String 3 ATQ0V1E1 S0=0&C1&D2+FCLASS=0
ttySL0
auto connect and stupid mode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 23:17    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Test to Determine if Machine is Healthy

I have done a further test with the machine in question:
Toshiba Satellite 1415-S115, 512 RAM.

I removed the lupu-520 save file from the HDD. (There is a backup on a flashdrive)
I removed the Puppy-520 Live CD.

I booted the machine with Puppy 4.3.1. Live CD.
The modem was detected.
I did a *probe*.
The modem Wintec-FileMate-56-k-ModemCX and Pupdial worked with no issues.

The environment is this:

Kernel 2.6.30.5 (i686)
SeaMonkey 1.1.18
Pupdial:
String 2 ATZ
String 3 ATQ0V1E1 S0=0&C1&D2+FCLASS=0
ttyACMO
auto connect
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 23:35    Post subject:  

I was just going to ask you to test the Toshiba Satellite 1415-S115 with 4.3.1 (k2.6.30.5).
Great, looks like nothing's fried. Smile
That's strange, though...it worked OK before the surge with Lucid 5.2.0, and now it doesn't?

Anyway, if you're looking for something newer with kernel 2.6.30.5, try this or this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 00:03    Post subject:  

What are the drawbacks to using Puppy 4.3.1. with it's kernel?
I would update Seamonkey using Shinobar's .sfs solution.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78601

How come Puppy-520 kernel worked fine with Pupdial until ....?

Regarding this issue...
Does it matter that that he was receiving huge picture files from friends who don't understand that he is on dialup and what that means as far as transmission times?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 00:35    Post subject:  

Quote:
What are the drawbacks to using Puppy 4.3.1. with it's kernel?

4.x .pet packages have been discontinued in the main repository, http://distro.ibiblio.org.
However, shinobar and others still periodically release them.

Shinobar also maintains his own version of 4.3.1.
It's called 431JP.

The 5.x series (including kernel 2.6.30.5) versions still get new .pets.

Quote:
How come Puppy-520 kernel worked fine with Pupdial until ....?

I forgot to ask:
Have you tried Lucid-520 modem setup with the puppy pfix=ram boot option, minus the save file?
Save files do get corrupted sometimes.

Quote:
Does it matter that that he was receiving huge picture files from friends who don't understand that he is on dialup and what that means as far as transmission times?

That shouldn't matter in the context of this problem.
Do they know how to send him .zip files?
That should reduce the download times--maybe just a little bit, but with dial-up, everything helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 00:52    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Quote:
Have you tried Lucid-520 modem setup with the puppy pfix=ram boot option, minus the save file?


At the time I was struggling with the *Inode* issue I did a pfix=RAM. The *inode* issue according to our local tech was probably caused by a power surge. He noted many power surge problems coming into his shop the week the machine went down. The wiring system is questionable where the machine is used. And, the machine had an inadequate surge protector. We've had lightening storms unusual for this area.

My memory is foggy as to what I did then as far as pfix=RAM with/without lupusave file. I'm pretty sure I did the pfix=RAM without the lupusave file being present.

I can do a pfix=RAM on the machine without the lupusave present, but...
if the lupusave file is corrupt then when I put it back after the pfix=RAM won't the bad lupusave (if it is bad) just be present again?

Also, can I somehow replace ttySL0 with ttyACMO in some control file somewhere?
I tried replacing it in etc/Wvdail.conf I *saved* etc/Wvdial.conf but that didn't appear to make any difference to Pupdial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 01:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
I can do a pfix=RAM on the machine without the lupusave present, but...if the lupusave file is corrupt then when I put it back

If the lupusave file is corrupt, then you'll need to delete it and make a new one.

That's why pfix=ram is such a valuable boot option.
It's great for diagnosing problems.

Quote:
Also, can I somehow replace ttySL0 with ttyACMO in some control file somewhere?
I tried replacing it in etc/Wvdail.conf I *saved* etc/Wvdial.conf but that didn't appear to make any difference to Pupdial.

Honestly, I don't know.
I never mess with that stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 01:13    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Quote:
If the lupusave file is corrupt, then you'll need to delete it and make a new one.

Oh groan!...

I've tried Wary before on several different machines but seems like it has issues.
I'll take a look at Lucid 525 Retro-2.6.30.5 again.

Not sure what to do...

Thank you Dewbie,
Thank you Karl Godt (I learned something from your post, Karl, helpful but didn't solve issue).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 04:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Oh groan!...Not sure what to do...

If the testing is too much hassle, just stick with 4.3.1.
After all, you know it works. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 00:24    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Hi Dewbie,

That's exactly what I'm going to do.
I'll do a frugal install and add Shinobar's Seamonkey update .sfs.

So simple.

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 17:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
I tried replacing it in etc/Wvdail.conf I *saved* etc/Wvdial.conf but that didn't appear to make any difference to Pupdial.

I have reported this here : http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=632972&search_id=505523010#632972
Quote:
Pupdial owerwrites its /etc/wvdial.conf configuration file everytime, so
the suggestions written into it, to comment out lines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1095s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0201s) ][ GZIP on ]