Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 05:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How to disable internal dialup modem? [SOLVED]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2012, 23:14    Post subject:  How to disable internal dialup modem? [SOLVED]
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Other than taking a hammer to the machine...
How is a defunct internal dialup modem disabled?

Machine is Toshiba Satellite 1415-S115 512 mb RAM
System is Lucid Puppy-520

Thank you for any assistance...

Last edited by Sky Aisling on Thu 02 Aug 2012, 23:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2012, 23:39    Post subject:  

When you set up PupDial, there should be an option to check a box to probe for external modems. Have you tried this?

Also, is your internal modem built into the motherboard, or is it a separate card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2012, 23:55    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Hello Dewbie,

Quote:
When you set up PupDial, there should be an option to check a box to probe for external modems. Have you tried this?

Yes
Quote:
Also, is your internal modem built into the motherboard, or is it a separate card?

I don't know. What tool do I use to find out this information?

Edit: Looks like the internal modem is a separate unit from the motherboard.
What appears to be a modem is behind a access panel on back of machine.
Unit is fastened by two screws and what looks like a plug in cable.
When I remove the modem, is there anything I need to do with software adjustment? bios?
When I remove the modem, is there anything I need to do with hardware adjustment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 01:11    Post subject:  

Sky Aisling wrote:
Quote:
I don't know. What tool do I use to find out this information?

You have to open the case and look.
But you need to know what to look for.

Dial-up jacks have 4 pins.
Ethernet jacks have 8 pins.
So pay attention; don't mistake one for the other.

If a dial-up jack is soldered directly into the motherboard, then the modem is onboard and can't be removed.

If a dial-up jack is on a separate circuit board with pins that plug into a socket in the motherboard, then it's a card, and can be removed.
In this case, just remove it, restart Puppy and re-run PupDial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 01:37    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

See edit note in above post.

I have removed the modem.
There is a fold out paper with information attached.
URST 1081
"Telepermit, This Toshiba modem xxxxx my be connected to the Telecom network"
The cable to the modem appears to have two pins.

I restarted machine and initiated Pupdial.
Here is the Pupdial Connection Log message:
Quote:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Cannot open /dev/ttySL0: No such file or directory


Also, dmesg last entry says:

Quote:
phy0 -> rt2500pci_set_device_state: Error - Device failed to enter state 1 (-16)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 02:03    Post subject:  

Sky Aisling wrote:
Quote:
The cable to the modem appears to have two pins.

If you look at a telephone wall jack, it should have 4 pins.
Those are the kinds of pins that I'm referring to.

Is your external modem physically connected to the computer?
Have you checked the external modem option-box in the PupDial menu?
Have you re-probed with PupDial after doing the above?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 02:15    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Quote:
if you look at a telephone wall jack, it should have 4 pins.
Those are the kinds of pins that I'm referring to.

Is your external modem physically connected to the computer?
Have you checked the external modem option-box in the PupDial menu?
Have you re-probed with PupDial after doing the above?


Yes, telephone wall jack has 4 pins
Yes, external modem connected to machine
No, haven't checked the external modem option-box in PupDial menu.
Yes, I have re-probed with PupDial except for the option-box check.
(will check option-box now)

EDIT: Where is *option box* in PupDial menu? Nothing listed as *option box*.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 02:35    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Here is screenshot of Pupdial modem selection.
Says modem was detected.
pupdial1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  pupdial1.png 
Filesize  163.89 KB 
Downloaded  531 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 02:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
EDIT: Where is *option box* in PupDial menu? Nothing listed as *option box*

That was just a figure of speech, not a literal description.

Quote:
Says modem was detected.

The Modem Internet Dialer box should show that, but it's being covered by another box in your screenshot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 02:52    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

A quick background on this issue:

This isn't my machine. I help a friend out who is new to computers and only has dialup access where he lives.

His external modem was working fine until he had a power surge that came through the telephone lines. His modem was fried. He purchased the same brand and type of modem again plus a UPS battery backup/surge protector.
Now, we are having dialup issues. It appeared that the system is recognizing the internal modem (which no longer has tech support) at bootup. I hoped by removing old modem the new modem would have a chance of being detected. Hence this thread.

The machine and system seem to be working fine. I did fschk and tested the wifi functions all seem ok.

Edit:
It's late here. I'm going to "sleep on it". and take a look again in the a.m.
Thank you for your input, Dewbie, I'll ponder your words again in the morning.
Sky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 18:40    Post subject:  

Sky Aisling wrote:
Quote:
A quick background on this issue...His external modem was working fine until he had a power surge that came through the telephone lines. His modem was fried. He purchased the same brand and type of modem again plus a UPS battery backup/surge protector.
Now, we are having dialup issues.

This should've been disclosed in the first post. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 00:42    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

Hello Dewbie,
Gosh, I didn't think it made any difference? Embarassed The machine and system checked out ok after I did the disc check and tested the system and restored his settings and personal files.

Taking the old modem out of the machine assures that only one modem is the center of interest. I guess I can call the thread solved in that we successfully disabled the dialup modem for this particular machine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 01:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
Gosh, I didn't think it made any difference? Embarassed

Context is everything.

Quote:
I guess I can call the thread solved in that we successfully disabled the dialup modem for this particular machine?

That's your call.
Then, if the new external modem doesn't work properly, you might want to start a new thread.

But do mention the surge up front; it could've caused any number of internal problems that prevent the external modem from working properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 906
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 01:10    Post subject: How to disable internal dialup modem?
Subject description: System recognizes internal modem before external modem
 

I am way out of depth on this one.
How would the surge affect the new external modem?
The newly purchased external modem is not working correctly.
That's why I thought maybe if I disabled the old internal modem I could narrow down the issue.
The first external modem worked fine right out of the box.
(Both external modems are same brand and specs.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 01:15    Post subject:  

Clarification:
Quote:
But do mention the surge up front; it could've caused any number of internal problems in the computer that prevent the external modem from working properly.

Last edited by Dewbie on Thu 19 Jul 2012, 01:26; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]