Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 11:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3.2 alpha (shooting for 5.3.4)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 10 [143 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jul 2012, 06:51    Post subject:  

@Jades... probably a firmware issue for carl9170, I only used stock woof firmwares and a lot changed in the jump from 3.1x to 3.2x series kernels, that's why I stuck with 3.1x for 533.

@shinobar, congrats on releasing a Japanese version of Slacko! Is it well received among the Japanese community?

-

I have been a bit busy lately and that is only going to get worse as my study load increases.

This Sunday is "catch up day" Laughing

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jul 2012, 09:15    Post subject:  

@Jades. You should post dmesg result after you have booted to the desktop:
dmesg > dmesg.gz and post the file to the forum. It should show the wireless load attempt and what the failure is and also what firmware does it try to load, even the name of the firmware with version numbers.
Other way is to run pmodemdiag command and post the created tar ball here.

@micko. If you check with: modinfo carl9170 , you get the firmwares which it wants and then check the /all-firmware/carl9170 folder if there is some firmware missing. You get the firmwares from kernel org:
git clone git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git

Edit. Except the carl9170 does not seem to be in kernel org firmware tar ball.
There is only one firmware dependency for it in my kernel: firmware: carl9170-1.fw

Last edited by pemasu on Sat 14 Jul 2012, 09:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jul 2012, 09:33    Post subject:  

Hmmm.. yes, same carl9170-1.fw exists in slacko, so definitely need dmesg output to see why it doesn't load.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 21:19    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
@Jades. You should post dmesg result after you have booted to the desktop:
dmesg > dmesg.gz and post the file to the forum. It should show the wireless load attempt and what the failure is and also what firmware does it try to load, even the name of the firmware with version numbers.


I've attached the resulting reports, one from a start without a savefile (chose 0 option at file selection prompt) and one using one which is fairly old and been upgraded a few times. The latter was working properly with 5.3.3 before its most recent upgrade.

pemasu wrote:
Other way is to run pmodemdiag command and post the created tar ball here.


I'll get back to you on that, I want to check its output for stuff like passwords and MAC addresses before posting.

Hope this helps, and thanks for replying. Smile
dmseg-mer-5332-sv.gz
Description  dmesg output on 5332 boot with save file. WN111v2 not working.
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmseg-mer-5332-sv.gz 
Filesize  39.41 KB 
Downloaded  258 Time(s) 
dmesgmer5332.gz
Description  dmesg output on 5332 boot without save file. WN111v2 not working.
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmesgmer5332.gz 
Filesize  41.84 KB 
Downloaded  257 Time(s) 

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 22:44    Post subject:  

Thanks Jades

Try the firmware pet attached. If it works fine I'll merge it with the main build.
carl9170-fw-1.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  carl9170-fw-1.0.pet 
Filesize  9.69 KB 
Downloaded  264 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5711
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 01:18    Post subject:  

Still running a frugal install of 5.3.3.2 on the old P4 test box........everything appears to still be working pretty well.

# report-video
intel
Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.3.2 on Mon 16 Jul 2012

Chip description:
2.0 VGA compatible controller
Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
oem: Intel(r)865G Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)865G Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: intel

X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rob_0126

Joined: 10 Jul 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 09:56    Post subject:  

I tried out slacko. I wanted to report a minor bug i found.

When I used the usb install, when you goto select the iso image(to install sys from), if I have to search for the iso image on another drive in the file browser, and goto select it, then click ok, I get an error(i forgot what it said exactly-something to the effect, couldnt do it).

But if the iso image is in the initial folder(I can copy the iso image over), and then select it, everything is ok.

Hope this is helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5086
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 16:46    Post subject:  

rob_0126 wrote:
I tried out slacko. I wanted to report a minor bug i found.

When I used the usb install, when you goto select the iso image(to install sys from), if I have to search for the iso image on another drive in the file browser, and goto select it, then click ok, I get an error(i forgot what it said exactly-something to the effect, couldnt do it).

But if the iso image is in the initial folder(I can copy the iso image over), and then select it, everything is ok.

Hope this is helpful.

I have found this is normal results.
What I find that works is to mount the device the iso file is on.
In a file manager, go to location of the iso file.
Left click on iso file to mount it.
Now run the USB install.
it seems now able to find the iso file.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 20:30    Post subject: Pburn 3.7.1  

Pburn 3.7.1 fixed the help file issue.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23881

EDIT: 3.7.2: Bugfix for BD-RE

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Wed 18 Jul 2012, 20:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 14:13    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Thanks Jades

Try the firmware pet attached. If it works fine I'll merge it with the main build.


Thanks. I've given it a go and the news is somewhat mixed.

On the bright side, as soon as the Pet had installed, and I disconnected and reconnected the dongle, the WN111v2 was visible and I could set it up. Settings have remained over several boots now. When it is working the speed seems to be normal.

Unfortunately, I'm still getting an odd problem which I saw in 5.3.2.1 where the connection seems to stop working after a while. The desktop icon still shows it as connected, but if I ping the router or other devices on the network then nothing happens. Hitting Ctrl-C to exit ping shows 100% packet loss, and trying to ping the machine from another computer on the network gives a Host is Down error.

If I then run Network Wizard again, loading the wireless profile and putting the machine and router IP addresses back in again, the connection is restored but after a while the problem re-emerges.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 17:33    Post subject:  

Hi Jades,

This is a driver issue with the kernel module.I had the exact issue several years ago with the rtl8187 driver but over the years the devs fixed it.

Does this work well with other kernels?

There is a work-around you can employ. I suggested it earlier in this thread here. Give it a try.

Thanks for your report.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 18:11    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hi Jades,

This is a driver issue with the kernel module.I had the exact issue several years ago with the rtl8187 driver but over the years the devs fixed it.


Thought that might be the case, I have had issues with the WN111v2 and Slacko before. On 5.3.1 and the test builds leading up to it, it worked - sort of, chucked out a load of interference on audio and was very slow. The connection stayed up, however.

01micko wrote:
Does this work well with other kernels?


Now's as good a time as any to further confess to not being up with the finer points of Linux (still!), do you mean you want me to try the pet you posted earlier with other versions of Puppy?

FWIW, the dongle works out of the box with all Lupu releases from 501 [1] to 528 005 inclusive. Also works perfectly on Slacko 533. I assume the solution is not a simple case of just using the drivers off that.

01micko wrote:
There is a work-around you can employ. I suggested it earlier in this thread here. Give it a try.


I'll have a look and get back to you, hopefully sometime tomorrow if I have time.

01micko wrote:
Thanks for your report.


My pleasure. Glad to help, even if sometimes it seems to me that my 'help' means I prod something and go "It's wrong!" Wink

Notes:-

1. In fact, the excellent performance of Puppy on the Pentium D machine meant I abandoned the original idea of only using Puppy on the K6-2 500 and using something like Ubuntu on the former machine.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 18:29    Post subject:  

Further to my previous reply...

01micko wrote:
I used this code: (credit @tempestuous)
Code:
echo "iwconfig wlan0 rate 5.5M fixed" >> /etc/rc.d/rc.local
(starts when machine boots)


Just to confirm, is the effect of this command to add a line to rc.local which throttles the speed of wlan0 to 5.5Mbps, and which is only executed after reboot? I know it should be obvious, but thought I'd check first. Don't want to waste your time with reports of "barely crawls along at 5.5Mbps" if that was the intended effect. Wink

Quote:
I know it seems slow but it's probably faster than your internet so the only time it will affect is on LAN browsing/transfers. You can try 11 instead of 5.5 or even higher if you are adventurous.


Considering that our broadband speed at home is 8Mbps on a very good day (could buy higher speed but can't see the point) I think I'll manage.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 19:16    Post subject:  

Hi Jades,

Yes, a reboot is needed, but you can try to bring down the interface, run just the command iwconfig wlan0 rate 5.5M fixed and bring the interface back up and try to connect. (A reboot is easier Wink )

If your connection seems stable then you can try the value of 11 instead of 5.5.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 601
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 11:30    Post subject: 5.3.3.2  

Besides the no-pictures showing in xscreensaver???? The only other problem encountered thus far is the CLOCK in Pwidgets keeps disappearing (sometimes) after running Internet.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 [143 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0976s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]