Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 14:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Low audio quality
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
sanjuro

Joined: 13 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 03:56    Post subject:  Low audio quality  

Hi,
i am trying Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 on my old laptop, but i have really low sound quality in vlc player comparing to sound quality in windows vlc. It sounds like there is some echo. I think there is some kind of realtek audio chip. Any general suggestions? thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 05:26    Post subject:  

Hi sanjuro

Welcome to the kennels Cool

Its possible you sound isn't configured or you need a different driver. Not heard of people experiencing echo.

the command

alsamixer

will set the sound levels and chose which card.

---

Have you tried you the ALSA sound wizard ( in setup menu )? Make a backup (while its not in use) of your save file first, or try without using savefile.

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HowToAvoidLoadingSaveFile


any luck?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sanjuro

Joined: 13 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 18:26    Post subject:  

thanks for reply. i have tried it but nothing chnaged. There is a little echo, but the sound is so tinny. And sound is quieter than in win. This is only problem i need to solve because i really like puppy, really fast on old lenovo. Alsamixer says i have chip Realtek 861. Should i try official driver for linux os from their official sites or there is some community driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 20:47    Post subject:  

looking at the latest driver from Realtek looks like ALC861 is already included in ALSA under HD Audio codec.

what are the contains of /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

and what is the output from aplay -l ?

(edit- are you using version 5 of 5.28 ? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70855
more help at-
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/PuppyOnLaptops +
http://www.linlap.com/)

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sanjuro

Joined: 13 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jul 2012, 09:16    Post subject:  

contents of alsa-base.conf ->
http://pastebin.com/i42TArSw

result of aplay -l is
Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC861-VD Analog [ALC861-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


yes i am using lucid 5.28
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
postfs1


Joined: 27 Mar 2010
Posts: 831

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 18:40    Post subject:  

http://www.opensound.com/linux.html
_________________
  • I don't know why laboratories are named a hospitals.
  • The alive personage is like a tea bag with granules of unknown density inside, at that one the packet was made of organic material and was placed in the evaporated liquid or liquid.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 20:21    Post subject:  

according to https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-source-2.6.22/+bug/138322
adding either

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack

or

options snd-hda-intel model=auto

to

alsa-base.conf may work

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0831s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0432s) ][ GZIP on ]