Basic Shell (Console) operation for beginners

Booting, installing, newbie
Message
Author
User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#321 Post by technosaurus »

I kinda have a daemon process script in my head but I am not at a linux box to test, maybe someone who is can fix my best guess

Code: Select all

while : do
sleep 1 &
sPID=$!
read TIME < /proc/$sPID/stime
case "$TIME" in
$MYSTARTTIME)record >file.mp2 &
  rPID=$!
  sleep 30
  ;;
$MYENDTIME)kill $rPID
  ;;
esac
sleep 30
done
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#322 Post by Mercedes350se »

Let me state that I am a bash neophyte so I have been "playing" with the above script but I keep getting the error message:

syntax error near unexpected token `done'

Would somebody analyse the script and advise. Please.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#323 Post by technosaurus »

sorry about that, my memory failed me

first I forgot to put the : in parens (:)

I was in C mode and thinking of stat/lstat and that they would correspond to the /proc/PID ... but they are in /proc/PID/stat in a difficult to interpret way (seconds since epoch)

the equivalent is
stat -c %y /proc/pid

but if you are going to do that, you may as well just use date

-sorry, couldn't do a shell only version (well not quickly or easy to follow)

see date --help for the formats

ex.
date +%D@%R
will give you
month/day/year@military time

which will let you do
STARTTIME="05/05/12@22:30"


CURRENTTIME=`date +%D@%R`

if [ "$STARTTIME" == "$CURRENTTIME" ]; then
#your record code here &
rPID=$!
fi

if [ "$STOPTIME" == "$CURRENTTIME" ]; then
kill $rPID
fi
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#324 Post by Mercedes350se »

It appears that there is no provision for CURRENTTIME to be "polled" until such time that it equals STARTTIME or am I missing something?

Shep
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 07:55
Location: Australia

#325 Post by Shep »

Mercedes350se wrote:Let me state that I am a bash neophyte so I have been "playing" with the above script but I keep getting the error message:

syntax error near unexpected token `done'

Would somebody analyse the script and advise. Please.
I fixed the while loop. But can't comment on the rest. :)

Code: Select all

while true
do
sleep 1 &
sPID=$!
read TIME < /proc/$sPID/stime
case "$TIME" in
$MYSTARTTIME)record >file.mp2 &
  rPID=$!
  sleep 30
  ;;
$MYENDTIME)kill $rPID
  ;;
esac
sleep 30
done

Shep
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 07:55
Location: Australia

Re: save-dvb question

#326 Post by Shep »

Mercedes350se wrote:I found this script at:

http://turtlespond.net/scripts/scripts/save-dvb

but it states, in part, "Scheduling is via atd ... ".

Searching I found this site:

http://www.simplehelp.net/2009/05/04/ho ... t-command/

Unfortunately my full 3.01 HDD install does not seem to have this command.

What can I do?
Puppy has the pschedule command.

Also see How to set a cron job.

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#327 Post by Mercedes350se »

Shep,

Thank you for your input.

Regarding pschedule command and cron - it looks as though these are to schedule tasks on a regular basis rather than, in my case, simply recording "as needed".

Shep
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 07:55
Location: Australia

#328 Post by Shep »

Mercedes350se wrote:Regarding pschedule command and cron - it looks as though these are to schedule tasks on a regular basis rather than, in my case, simply recording "as needed".
To install the "at" scheduler follow the links. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76335

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#329 Post by Mercedes350se »

Shep,

Thanks. One more question - where do I extract it to?

Shep
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 07:55
Location: Australia

#330 Post by Shep »

Mercedes350se wrote:where do I extract it to?
It's a single binary file, so wherever you like. 8)

If you type echo $PATH you'll see the directories that are set to be searched for a command, so any of those will do.

IMO /usr/local/bin sounds appropriate

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#331 Post by Mercedes350se »

Thank you.

bakekoq
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 12:45

#332 Post by bakekoq »

Hello, I want to ask about how do we can copy paste the texts from console? I thought that we can right click after blocking the text to the notepad. but, It doesn't work. anybody can help me?

and also, how do I install my wireless? because, my laptop still don't detect any wireless extension when I type: iwconfig.


Thanks before.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#333 Post by Lobster »

highlight text and click the mouse wheel
middle button or both buttons simultaneously
where you want text to appear.

May take a few attempts to get the hang of it . . .
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
russoodle
Posts: 707
Joined: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 17:36
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

#334 Post by russoodle »

@ bakekoq.....hello....
Hello, I want to ask about how do we can copy paste the texts from console? I thought that we can right click after blocking the text to the notepad. but, It doesn't work. anybody can help me?
To paste into a text editor, after you block-select (highlight) your text, go to your text editor and press your middle mouse-button or wheel at the location where you want it.

For your wireless issues, may i suggest you post a new thread for that, because this thread is about console operations.

Cheers,
russoodle :)

oops, Lobster beat me to it :(
[i][color=Green][size=92]The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..[/size][/color][/i]

bakekoq
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 12:45

#335 Post by bakekoq »

Lobster wrote:highlight text and click the mouse wheel
middle button or both buttons simultaneously
where you want text to appear.

May take a few attempts to get the hang of it . . .
it's still not working, Lobster.
I try to click the mouse wheel simultaneously and also try to click right n left button but it's still not appear. I look up into the "edit" menu but the "paste" is still not activated/highlighted.
any info again?

@russoodle: hello.
hmm.. I try to abiword for now, and the Paste is Highlighted for now.but, after I try to click it. nothing is viewed. I don't know the reason why is it hard for me for only copying the console texts to Wine Notepad or Abiword. T_T
Last edited by bakekoq on Thu 12 Jul 2012, 13:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
russoodle
Posts: 707
Joined: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 17:36
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

#336 Post by russoodle »

bakekoq, if you have a wheel-mouse, it should work just by clicking it to paste the text....the simultaneous left-right buttons are only an alternative option for those without a wheel or third button.
[i][color=Green][size=92]The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..[/size][/color][/i]

bakekoq
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 12:45

#337 Post by bakekoq »

thanks a lot for the help guys. I try it in wine notepad but it's not worked. but, after I try in Abiword it worked perfectly. So, I'll try to use abiword for the future to save the text from consoles.
@russoodle: I'll try to post my wireless problem after this post. Please help me for checking the log of dmesg or anothers.

User avatar
russoodle
Posts: 707
Joined: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 17:36
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

#338 Post by russoodle »

Well bakekoq, why not use Geany for pasting text, as it's a text editor? Unless you're more comfortable with AbiWord, which is actually a word-processor.....just my preference, mind you..

Regarding output (log) of dmesg, enter the following code into the console:

Code: Select all

dmesg > /root/dmesg.txt 
That will give you the output from dmesg and save it to a text file in /root.
[i][color=Green][size=92]The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..[/size][/color][/i]

bakekoq
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 12 Jun 2012, 12:45

#339 Post by bakekoq »

ok, I'll try to use Geany in the future. I'm still not familiar with linux and the programs here. so, I still don't know what's good or better for using. yes, I already post the log in the new thread. please help me for the future.

Thanks before.

User avatar
russoodle
Posts: 707
Joined: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 17:36
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

#340 Post by russoodle »

You're welcome, bakekoq....you'll learn more as you go along anyway :)
[i][color=Green][size=92]The mud-elephant, wading thru the sea, leaves no tracks..[/size][/color][/i]

Post Reply