Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 23:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Yet Another Samba Share Mounter
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2011, 14:00    Post_subject:  

kennardly wrote:
Is there a way to auto mount the shares at boot ?

Here is the procedure:

1. Using samba-select, build your database of shares. Test that they all work.

2. Drag the folder /root/YASSM onto your desktop.

3. Open your /root/Startup folder and create the following symlink:
Code:
ln -s /usr/local/yassm/samba-automount

4. Reboot and wait a few seconds. All the shares in your samba-select database will be mounted.

5. Open the YASSM folder. If necessary, click the ROX Rescan button.

----------------------------

Samba-automount waits a maximum of 20 seconds for a network connection. If you have a slow network that requires more time, do the following:

1. Open the file /usr/local/yassm/samba-automount

2. On Line 5, change "20" to a larger number.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keith_moon

Joined: 17 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2012, 16:50    Post_subject: Re: Yet Another Samba Share Mounter  

I can't download the pet. Is the download link still valid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1811
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2012, 17:32    Post_subject:  

It's hosted locally on the forum, so, yes, the link should still be valid. However, there's currently an issue or two with the forum (you may have noticed 'garbage' appearing at the top of a page or two, for example), that appears to be interfering with things like the post attachment above. Hopefully, it'll all be sorted, soon.
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sebus

Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2012, 13:42    Post_subject:  

It also works fine on Fatdog64, thanks

sebus
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 21:58    Post_subject:  

YASSM v2.2 is posted on Page 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 23:36    Post_subject:  

YASSM v2.2 don't run in Saluki, I tried YASSM v2.1 and it works fine, I get this message with v2.2
Screenshot-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   6.64 KB
 Viewed   1509 Time(s)

Screenshot-1.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 06:45    Post_subject:  

Please type the command "iproute" and report the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 09:58    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Please type the command "iproute" and report the results.


Code:
# iproute
default via 10.1.1.1 dev eth0  metric 202
10.0.0.0/8 dev eth0  src 10.1.1.11  metric 202
127.0.0.0/8 dev lo

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 10:32    Post_subject:  

Thanks. What is the IP address of the server you are looking for?

Now try:
Code:
nbtscan -q 10.0.0.0/8

Does this find the server? (You may have to kill this command.) If not, use
Code:
nbtscan -q 10.0.0.0/16

or
Code:
nbtscan -q 10.1.1.0-254
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 11:09    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Thanks. What is the IP address of the server you are looking for?


I have 3 nas units ip 10.1.1.2, 10.1.1.3, 10.1.1.7

only the 10.1.1.3 is running to test with



Code:
# nbtscan -q 10.0.0.0/8
# nbtscan -q 10.0.0.0/16
# nbtscan -q 10.1.1.0-254
10.1.1.3         REPOTEC          <server>  REPOTEC          00-00-00-00-00-00


using fping
Code:
LAN IPs found:

10.1.1.1
10.1.1.3
10.1.1.8

Local IP: 10.1.1.11
ipinfo.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.45 KB
 Viewed   1472 Time(s)

ipinfo.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 11:36    Post_subject:  

Thanks. One more:
Code:
nbtscan -q 10.1.0.0/16
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 12:13    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Thanks. One more:
Code:
nbtscan -q 10.1.0.0/16


That gave no result
Code:
# nbtscan -q 10.1.0.0/16
#

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 12:36    Post_subject:  

Thanks. If you run Pnethood from another Puppy (Saluki doesn't have it) can it find your NAS boxes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2012, 23:27    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Thanks. If you run Pnethood from another Puppy (Saluki doesn't have it) can it find your NAS boxes?


With Pnethood I've never had a problem with other puppy's using a network scan of 3 seconds, Saluki has pnethood but I need to adjust the network scan to 6 seconds then it finds the servers.

I have had this problem with lameSMBxplorer, I was never was able to get it to function correctly, it also had issues with ip's in the 10.1.1.0 range and netmask 255.0.0.0, this was discussed here http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=440033#440033.

Don't pull your hair out over it, your version 2.1 works fine and it's easier for me to set the shares manually, the only time it's a pain is if someone arrives with a device that I wish to access, but a quick fping scan will find any new ip's.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jul 2012, 00:46    Post_subject:  

Thank you for this testing - it has been extremely valuable. I had made some incorrect assumptions about how people set up home networks.

I was surprised that "nbtscan -q 10.1.0.0/16" did not find your NAS boxes, because I believe that's how Pnethood does it. But maybe "nbtscan -q -t 3000 10.1.0.0/16" would work.

It's interesting that "nbtscan -q 10.1.1.0-254" did work with the default 1 second time interval.

I will be releasing a YASSM v2.3 shortly.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]