Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 10:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 08:53    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
01micko, note that your file_sharing_no_bins has the x86 binaries in it still.


Embarassed

And Embarassed

Gave credit to HairyWill, but that was Pnethood, sorry Kirk!

Just started woofing an Armedslack... if it works I'll post some diffs for woof.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lumi

Joined: 24 May 2010
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 21:15    Post subject: resolution  

i tried puppy on my Rpi and monitor and the resolution seems locked to 1824x984 and i cant change it too 1920x1080.

am i able to change this somewhere as xorgwizard isnt detecting the correct resolution

thanks

ah found out how. you need to plug sd card back into windows in my case, browse to the sd card and edit the config.txt. add the line disable_overscan=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 22:30    Post subject:  

Well, getting close to alpha3!

I just now fixed the reshaping of the background image to suit wide-screen. At first boot, the background was coming up distorted.

I also fixed gnome-mplayer appearing in the Utility menu, now in Multimedia menu.

The biggest problem now is sound. I would like to get that sorted before upload alpha3 -- if it is sorted, might bump it to beta1.

Pmusic is broken? So, we need a little music player that works.

A mixer that works.

A audio tray applet that works.

I wonder if any of the other distros have fixed these sound problems?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 00:52    Post subject:  

Quote:

I wonder if any of the other distros have fixed these sound problems?


Any of the multimedia based distros must have done (not tried any)

No doubt this has been tried
Quote:
You need to set hdmi_drive=2 in the config.txt and then on boot modprobe snd_bcm2835

http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting#Sound

As I understand it Debian Squeeze only has an Alpha driver available
- so the driver is in the kernel turned off? Not sure.

Non working sound would be OK for an alpha 3 as you know

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 00:57    Post subject:  

I'm just installing my "SLR" (SLacko for Rasberry Pi, built from Armedslack-13.37) to an SD card, used Barry's kernel, latest .img (july 7).

It will be a very different build (if it works). It has later Alsa than Debian, see if that makes a difference to sound.

If the image works but sound doesn't I might try a build from -current.

LATER: boo.... kernel panic on boot.... hmmm..

"Kerenel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel. See Documentation/init.txt for guidance."

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 09 Jul 2012, 02:25; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 01:03    Post subject:  

looking forward to Mick making using of woof on ARM Smile
Good luck Mick Cool
Thanks to everyone compiling pets for Puppi SAP

Meanwhile antiloquax is probably still busy Confused
He may be able to create a mega-devx.sfs . . .
Programming gone mega . . .
I can say that the Arch files seem much more up to date (as one would expect) but also faster

Arm the world
. . . with Puppy's

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 05:56    Post subject:  

Hi Lobster,
Yes - I have been quite busy - but mainly with programming things. The last issue of the MagPi had something by me on Scratch and I am hoping to get something in the next issue - a game in Python.

So, I haven't got around to experimenting further with SAP Sad
The programming side is important if we want the Foundation's good wishes: Python with Tk, Scratch and maybe stuff like Greenfoot / Alice.
mark

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 06:20    Post subject:  

Hi,

I got a problem with PPM.

Downloading the packages was OK, but when processing packages into a standard format, every line looks like
Code:
program_name /usr/local/petget/find_cat: line1: syntax error: unexpected "("
. Stopped with ctrl-c.

Now at least debian-squeeze-main was broken. Well, it's allways good to have a backup Wink . So I copied back the original debian packages and I can use PPM again.
Is it me (maybe a corrupt img) or a general problem?

Audio, mp3:
Code:
amixer cset numid=3 1
for headphones/ audio jack
and
Code:
amixer cset numid=3 2
for hdmi works fine with gxine

Video is la little bit less stuttering with gxine than with gnome mplayer. In both cases no full sceen possible. VLC isn't reliable with Rasp.

I've read in the Raspbmc forum:
Milhouse wrote:
The Raspberry Pi Foundation have indicated that a codec pack (for MPEG2, DTS, DD etc.) with full GPU acceleration may be made available for the current Pi's "for under £10" at some point in the future. The cost is to satisfy the licensing requirements, but certainly a more powerful Raspberry Pi is not required.

Once available, current Pi's should be able to decode (and maybe even encode) pretty much anything using just the GPU.

Looks like that software decoding is too much for the Rasp. Maybe changing the ARM/GPU memory split in start.elf could help a little bit? Not tested.

For mp4 (and some avi movies), omxplayer seems to be the best for now (plays even 1080p.mp4 Wink, but sound only via audio jack ).

~Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 07:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
Yes - I have been quite busy - but mainly with programming things. The last issue of the MagPi had something by me on Scratch and I am hoping to get something in the next issue - a game in Python.


Good news.
I am too lousy a programmer to do much programming but I sincerely hope a new batch of programming language creators is enabled.

Some of the best and simplest to use languages have been propriety (Curl, Amos, Dark Basic). My feeling is many kids are going to want to design with GUI enabled or built in, type languages, such as with Smalltalk . . . but that is another story . . .

MagPi is a great mag. Cool

Here is our current status as I understand it
with sickgut chomping at the leash awaiting actual hardware to create a 'Console/Debian Puppi'


I am awaiting alpha3 from Barry, with or without sound . . .

xcowsay 1.4 code might be available for compiling
which makes a surprisingly good way of doing presentations . . .
Still working on mine . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 09:04    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I'm just installing my "SLR" (SLacko for Rasberry Pi, built from Armedslack-13.37) to an SD card, used Barry's kernel, latest .img (july 7).

It will be a very different build (if it works). It has later Alsa than Debian, see if that makes a difference to sound.

If the image works but sound doesn't I might try a build from -current.

LATER: boo.... kernel panic on boot.... hmmm..

"Kerenel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel. See Documentation/init.txt for guidance."


I need to upload latest Woof, will do that asap.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 09:10    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:
Audio, mp3:
Code:
amixer cset numid=3 1
for headphones/ audio jack
and
Code:
amixer cset numid=3 2
for hdmi works fine with gxine

Video is la little bit less stuttering with gxine than with gnome mplayer. In both cases no full sceen possible. VLC isn't reliable with Rasp.


I am jealous that you guys have working sound, even if it is stuttering!

This is my sound status:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02889

...I have suggested how alpha3 can be setup so that sound works, if any of you guys have further suggestions, let me know.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lumi

Joined: 24 May 2010
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 16:16    Post subject:  

will the little music player support flac files? and pure bitstreaming?

make a nice little music player to my dac then Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 16:25    Post subject:  

IIRC thunor wrote a music player but I think it only supports mp3/ogg, depends mpg123, ogg123.

Mplayer likely has support for most formats, maybe thunor's app could be made to use it?

BarryK wrote:
I need to upload latest Woof, will do that asap.


Thanks!

EDIT: I hacked thunor's playmusic (sorry thunor!)

diff:
Code:
diff -ru playmusic-0.1.7/funcrcfileWrite playmusic_mplayer-0.1.7/funcrcfileWrite
--- playmusic-0.1.7/funcrcfileWrite   2011-12-06 22:41:30.000000000 +1000
+++ playmusic_mplayer-0.1.7/funcrcfileWrite   2012-07-10 08:00:51.383796981 +1000
@@ -25,19 +25,25 @@
    ## Write the players section.
    if [ $1 = new ]; then
       ## Find a flac player.
-      if [ -n "`which flac123`" ]; then flac="flac123 -q"; fi
+      if [ -n "`which flac123`" ]; then flac="flac123 -q"
+      elif [ -n "`which mplayer`" ]; then flac="mplayer -ao alsa"
+      fi
 
-      ## Find an mp3 player.
-      if [ -n "`which mpg123`" ]; then mp3="mpg123 -q"
+      ## Find an mp3 player. #prefer mplayer on raspi
+      if [ -n "`which mplayer`" ]; then mp3="mplayer -ao alsa"
       elif [ -n "`which mpg321`" ]; then mp3="mpg321 -q"
       elif [ -n "`which madplay`" ]; then mp3="madplay -q"
       fi
 
       ## Find an ogg player.
-      if [ -n "`which ogg123`" ]; then ogg="ogg123 -q"; fi
+      if [ -n "`which ogg123`" ]; then ogg="ogg123 -q"
+      elif [ -n "`which mplayer`" ]; then ogg="mplayer -ao alsa"
+      fi
 
       ## Find a player for other.
-      if [ -n "`which playsound`" ]; then other="playsound"; fi
+      if [ -n "`which playsound`" ]; then other="playsound"
+      elif [ -n "`which mplayer`" ]; then other="mplayer -ao alsa"
+      fi
 
       ## Find a wav player.
       if [ -n "`which wavplay`" ]; then wav="wavplay -q"
diff -ru playmusic-0.1.7/main playmusic_mplayer-0.1.7/main
--- playmusic-0.1.7/main   2011-12-06 22:41:30.000000000 +1000
+++ playmusic_mplayer-0.1.7/main   2012-07-10 07:32:19.880379245 +1000
@@ -121,8 +121,9 @@
    exit 1
 fi
 
-## Create a temporary directory.
-TEMP_DIR=`mktemp -d --tmpdir ${TARGET}.XXXXXXXX`
+## Create a temporary directory. #hack for rpi 120710
+#TEMP_DIR=`mktemp -d --tmpdir ${TARGET}.XXXXXXXX`
+TEMP_DIR=`mktemp -dt ${TARGET}.XXXXXXXX`
 if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
    echo "Error: Couldn't create temporary directory."
    exit 1



It should play whatever mplayer supports. There is a pinstall.sh that makes it the default in woof or in a running puppy you get the option to make it default.

Have fun!
playmusic_mplayer-0.1.7-noarch.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  playmusic_mplayer-0.1.7-noarch.pet 
Filesize  18.75 KB 
Downloaded  297 Time(s) 

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 09 Jul 2012, 18:14; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 74
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 17:11    Post subject: Raspberry pi and SDHC
Subject description: Writing image to SDHC
 

Hi

I am looking for suggestions as to what I am doing wrong. I can't get the Puppy SAP image to my SDHC. The history so far.

I have recently received my board. To get it to work reliably I had to add two parallel power supply wires to the +5V and 0V USB lead to achieve a stable 5V at the board TP1 and TP2. It then booted up the debian programme using their procedure to write it to the SDHC and my keyboard and mouse attached to a powered usb hub works fine.

Knowing my hardware is OK, I have then used Barry's procedure to write the image:
# unxz --stdout raspi-sd-4gb-sap6-5.95.img.xz | dd of=/dev/sdb
# sync
In my case it is sdb1

It writes the image but it is not then recognised by the system and does not produce an icon on the screen. dmesg shows that the SHDC is seen with errors (Unhandled sense error). If inserted to the board the PWR light comes on but not the OK green LED. To get the SDHCs to work again I have to use the HP usb utility.

I have tried this with two SDHCs and got the same result. I have also tried the raspberry pi method by uncompressing the SAP file and using a modified version of their command:
dd bs=1M if=raspi-sd-4gb-sap6-5.96.img of=/dev/sdb1

Looking at the debian SDHC it has a 75MB vfat partition and a large ext4 one. Should I have done something to the partition of the SDHC first?

Sorry this is bit of a ramble. I am running out of ideas.

Peterw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2012, 18:40    Post subject:  

A question about the Puppy Package Manager.

I wanted to add some board games to SAP Alpha2, so I entered "Ace-of-Penguins" to the "Find" field of PPM. PPM promptly found the file in debian-squeeze-main, I checked "examine dependencies" and PPM downloaded the file and any necessary dependencies and gave me a final "Successfully Installed" message.

I closed down PPM and went to the "Fun" menu, hoping to find some new games there, but there were no new items in the menu.

I went to the console and used "find" to look for *ace-of-penguins* and all of the files were found in various directories of "/usr" and a session can be initiated with something like "/usr/games/ace-frecell" or "/usr/games/ace-taipei".
So the question is, does PPM not install programs into Puppy's menus if they are not a dot-PET package?

Another observation about PPM. I must have somehow accidentally un-ticked "debian-squeeze-contrib" and "debian-squeeze-main" as repos, because they disappeared from the list at the top of the PPM main page. I clicked on "Configure package manager" and re-ticked those two repositories, clicked on "O.K." and exited PPM.

However on re-entering PPM, those two repos are still missing from the list (and if I again go into "Configure package manager", those two repos are again un-ticked).

When I look at /root/.packages/REPOS_DISTRO_COMPAT I find "http://us.debian.org/debian" which I assume is debian-main. PPM seems to be not remembering that I want to include debian-squeeze-contrib and debian-squeeze-main. Or do I need to edit REPOS_DISTRO_COMPAT?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 17 [246 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1161s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]