Grub4DosConfig

Miscellaneous tools
Message
Author
User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Grub4DosConfig 1.8.0

#301 Post by shinobar »

Sorry, there was a fault:
#15jun12 v1.8.0: fix was no Safe mode nor RAM mode
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

gcmartin

#302 Post by gcmartin »

Request for explanation/guidance
Edited: 2012-06-27 SOLVED! Remove the pmedia parm and system boots

Code: Select all

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.2
color blue/cyan yellow/blue white/black cyan/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy
title FAT Slacko 533
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/initrd.gz psubdir=/PUP-boots/FATSlacko

# Skip save-session  Run from RAM
title FAT Slacko in RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram,fsck psubdir=/PUP-boots/FATSlacko
  initrd /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/initrd.gz

	o
	o
	o
	o
	o
	o
When this GRUB4DOS boot manager executes, it fails with "puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found".
Yet, the sfs is in the proper folder on the HDD.

Should I move a copy of it to root ("/"), then, the system boots fine.

Questions if you know the answer to this phenomenon
  1. What is missed in the understanding of this?
  2. And what would you recommend to change in the menu.lst entry to instruct GRUB4DOS to find the sfs?
Thanks in advance
Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 28 Jun 2012, 00:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

#303 Post by shinobar »

gcmartin wrote:When this GRUB4DOS boot manager executes, it fails with "puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found".
Yet, the sfs is in the proper folder on the HDD.
USB HDD, or Internal HDD?
'pmedia=usbflash' option may be wrong.
Most safe is to remove the pmedia option.
Or, try 'pmedia=atahd' or 'pmedia=ataflash'(for internal SSD).

I am not sure if the upper case for the directory name is a problem or not.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

gcmartin

#304 Post by gcmartin »

shinobar wrote:
gcmartin wrote:When this GRUB4DOS boot manager executes, it fails with "puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found".
Yet, the sfs is in the proper folder on the HDD.
USB HDD, or Internal HDD?
'pmedia=usbflash' option may be wrong.
Most safe is to remove the pmedia option.
Or, try 'pmedia=atahd' or 'pmedia=ataflash'(for internal SSD).

I am not sure if the upper case for the directory name is a problem or not.
It a USB Flash that is partitioned with a SWAP partition as the 2nd 4GB partition on the 8GB stick.There is NO HDD on this PC, only the USB stick.

I will try your suggestion, tonight to see if that makes a difference. Also, if I remove the pmedia parm, should I expect a change in behavior. The 1st partition on the stick is formatted NTFS.

More information here that may help point to reasons of the error message.

Hope this helps

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found

#305 Post by shinobar »

gcmartin wrote:It a USB Flash that is partitioned with a SWAP partition as the 2nd 4GB partition on the 8GB stick.There is NO HDD on this PC, only the USB stick.
In that case, the menu.lst entry you showed seems quite right.
I suspect the slacko kernel cannot handle your usb.
For you information, the vminuz and the initrd.gz are load by the grub4dos via BIOS, but the main sfs is read by the kernel.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

gcmartin

Solved

#306 Post by gcmartin »

shinobar wrote:
gcmartin wrote:It a USB Flash that is partitioned with a SWAP partition as the 2nd 4GB partition on the 8GB stick.There is NO HDD on this PC, only the USB stick.
In that case, the menu.lst entry you showed seems quite right.
I suspect the slacko kernel cannot handle your usb.
For you information, the vminuz and the initrd.gz are load by the grub4dos via BIOS, but the main sfs is read by the kernel.
Solved

Thanks for the idea Shinobar.

I looked at this over and over and decided that the logic somewhere is flawed in how the bios is presenting the device.

So, I removed the pmedia parameter throughout the menu.lst.

Now the system boots as it should. It find the SFS accordingly and proceeds to produce desktop.

Thanks for the idea. You may now want to determine what should be done should someone else who uses ONLY A Motherboard and a USB for a system and how GRUB4DOS should setup. I can only guess about the internals of GRUB4DOS and what the kernel does.

Hope this info give a clue. Here to help

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#307 Post by don570 »

I've been using Exprimo
and I've found that Grub4DosConfig doesn't do
a good job in writing the entry for the
Porteus distribution. I get a kernel panic if I use your entry.
Here is entry that causes kernel panic

Code: Select all

title Linux boot (sdb5/boot)
  uuid cda1bab9-accf-41f5-89b3-01d7b3433526
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5 ro
  initrd /boot/initrd.xz
  
Porteus is easy to install , just two folders to drag to a partition
(see image)

I would suggest that during the writing of menu.lst that
you check inside the /boot folder for a file named porteus.cfg

Then write a regular entry into menu.lst (i.e. don't use 'ro')

The grub entries needed are similar to Puppy but
the boot options can be different.


Image

____________________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#308 Post by don570 »

This entry got my computer to boot at least
but I will need to investigate to find how to
put in boot options like 'toroot' and 'copy2ram'

Code: Select all


title Porteus boot (sdb5/boot)
  uuid cda1bab9-accf-41f5-89b3-01d7b3433526
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz psubdir=boot pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
 initrd /boot/initrd.xz

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#309 Post by bigpup »

shinobar,

A strange problem, when using Grub4dos, that you may want to know about.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79954
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)


gcmartin

features in GRUB4DOS

#311 Post by gcmartin »

BUMP
This has not be answered. So, I ask again!
GRUB4DOS has a set-root feature where if a file exist the HDD partition becomes the root drive to boot.

Question
  • Is there a hidden feature for setting a directory/sub-directory?
    (similar to set-root, I would envision this to provide the folder that vmlinux would use or that would contain vmlinux and/or initrd appends.
And, also, A subsequent IDEA
Over the past 3 years I have often wondered if someone would post a pet script/program that would thread its way thru all attached storage and build/rebuild a new "menu.lst" while saving the old "menu.lst". And it could also have to option of restoring a prior menu.lst when invoked.
Question
  • Is something like this already present in Puppyland?
Thanks in advance for any answers or insights to this post's questions.

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

Precise puppy

#312 Post by Pete22 »

Hello again,

I am installing Precise 5.4.2 fugal on my friends computer.
Unfortunately, Grub4Dos does not see it,

Any ideas?

By the way, I love puppy.. But your program makes it possible for me
to use it. Many thanks from me and my friends.


Pete

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.0

#313 Post by L18L »

shinobar wrote:...Translations: Calling for translations...
German translation updated and help added.
Attachments
grub4dosconfig-de.tar.gz
expand to /
(11.91 KiB) Downloaded 879 times

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Grub4DosConfig-1.8.9

#314 Post by shinobar »

Test release:
grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.9.pet (2013-05)
#17may13 v1.8.9: multiple Windows in the advanced menu, porteus

http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/

Feed back welcome.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#315 Post by bigpup »

Slacko 5.6 frugal install to HDD with save file on HDD.

Installed grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.9.pet
Ran Grub4dos 1.8.9 to make a new menu.lst

Problem:
In the advanced menu.
Slacko 5.6 entry to boot to safe mode (without x)
Boots and fails with message:
Slacko 5.6.0 sfs not found.

The boot to ram mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave entry works OK.

The menu advanced.lst

Code: Select all

# /menu-advanced.lst  produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.8.9

title Back to the main menu
  configfile /menu.lst
  commandline

title Puppy slacko 5.6.0 (sda3/slacko5.6.0frugal) Safe mode (without X)\nTry 'xorgwizard' after bootup succeed to start graphic mode.
  uuid 3f9de134-a95d-4a9d-9d42-cd5e98895ac6
  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram,nox acpi=off apm=off nosmp noapic nodma nopcmcia
  initrd /slacko5.6.0frugal/initrd.gz

title Puppy slacko 5.6.0 (sda3/slacko5.6.0frugal) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
  uuid 3f9de134-a95d-4a9d-9d42-cd5e98895ac6
  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram
  initrd /slacko5.6.0frugal/initrd.gz
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: safe mode fails

#316 Post by shinobar »

The menu advanced.lst

Code: Select all

# /menu-advanced.lst  produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.8.9

title Back to the main menu
  configfile /menu.lst
  commandline

title Puppy slacko 5.6.0 (sda3/slacko5.6.0frugal) Safe mode (without X)\nTry 'xorgwizard' after bootup succeed to start graphic mode.
  uuid 3f9de134-a95d-4a9d-9d42-cd5e98895ac6
  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram,nox acpi=off apm=off nosmp noapic nodma nopcmcia
  initrd /slacko5.6.0frugal/initrd.gz

title Puppy slacko 5.6.0 (sda3/slacko5.6.0frugal) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
  uuid 3f9de134-a95d-4a9d-9d42-cd5e98895ac6
  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram
  initrd /slacko5.6.0frugal/initrd.gz
Confirmed. Need to remove 'nodma nopcmcia'.

Code: Select all

  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram,nox acpi=off apm=off nosmp noapic
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

grub4dos v1.9

#317 Post by shinobar »

grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.pet (2013-09-26)
#17may13 v1.8.9: multiple Windows in the advanced menu, porteus
#25sep13 v1.9: do not use uuid for removable media, fix was failed safe mode (thanks to bigpup), fix the top puppy
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

simargl5

#318 Post by simargl5 »

Hi shinobar

I'm trying to make grub4dos config recognize frugal installation of alphaos now that is based on Linux Live Kit from Tomas M. and Slax, but this script has so many variables I can't find where this suppose to go.

This is list of files in frugal installation- top directory of sda6 partition

Code: Select all

alphaos
alphaos/alpha_12.sb
alphaos/changes.fs4
alphaos/extra_12.sb
alphaos/boot
alphaos/boot/vmlinuz
alphaos/boot/initrfs.img
alphaos/modules
....
Here is what's needed addition for a working menu.lst

Code: Select all

title alphaos (sda6/alphaos)
  uuid f6cfd2a9-cfed-483c-85c9-6904637405dd
  kernel /alphaos/boot/vmlinuz
  initrd /alphaos/boot/initrfs.img

simargl5

#319 Post by simargl5 »

These two entries both work, and from boot code should always be used, without difference if it's hard disk or usb installation to avoid potential problem i.e. loading system data from wrong directory.

Code: Select all

title alphaos (sda6/alphaos)
  uuid f6cfd2a9-cfed-483c-85c9-6904637405dd
  kernel /alphaos/boot/vmlinuz from=/alphaos
  initrd /alphaos/boot/initrfs.img

title alphaos (sda6/alphaos)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /alphaos/boot/initrfs.img
  kernel /alphaos/boot/vmlinuz from=/alphaos
  initrd /alphaos/boot/initrfs.img

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

alphaOS support

#320 Post by shinobar »

simargl5 wrote:I'm trying to make grub4dos config recognize frugal installation of alphaos now that is based on Linux Live Kit from Tomas M. and Slax, but this script has so many variables I can't find where this suppose to go.

This is list of files in frugal installation- top directory of sda6 partition

Code: Select all

alphaos
alphaos/alpha_12.sb
alphaos/changes.fs4
alphaos/extra_12.sb
alphaos/boot
alphaos/boot/vmlinuz
alphaos/boot/initrfs.img
alphaos/modules
....
1. Current grub4dosconfig does not find 'initrfs.img'.
2. Current grub4dosconfig does not search deeper 'boot' directory.
If you want to hack, find the code for Wubi and slitaz in the script. They can be a help.

BTW, most recent alphaOS_12.1-20121019.iso has these files:

Code: Select all

alpha_12.sfs
boot.cat
extra_12.sfs
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
syslinux.cfg
vmlinuz
These can be found by the current grub4dosconfig when they are frugal installed in a sub-directory. The grub4dosconfig doesn't know what is the alphaOS, and takes 'Extra-12' for the title.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

Post Reply