Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 11:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Grub4DosConfig
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 21 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2012, 08:03    Post_subject: Grub4DosConfig 1.8.0  

Sorry, there was a fault:
#15jun12 v1.8.0: fix was no Safe mode nor RAM mode

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 18:32    Post_subject:  

Request for explanation/guidance
Edited: 2012-06-27 SOLVED! Remove the pmedia parm and system boots
Code:
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7.2
color blue/cyan yellow/blue white/black cyan/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy
title FAT Slacko 533
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/initrd.gz psubdir=/PUP-boots/FATSlacko

# Skip save-session  Run from RAM
title FAT Slacko in RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram,fsck psubdir=/PUP-boots/FATSlacko
  initrd /PUP-boots/FATSlacko/initrd.gz

   o
   o
   o
   o
   o
   o

When this GRUB4DOS boot manager executes, it fails with "puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found".
Yet, the sfs is in the proper folder on the HDD.

Should I move a copy of it to root ("/"), then, the system boots fine.

Questions if you know the answer to this phenomenon
  1. What is missed in the understanding of this?
  2. And what would you recommend to change in the menu.lst entry to instruct GRUB4DOS to find the sfs?
Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 21:22    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
When this GRUB4DOS boot manager executes, it fails with "puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found".
Yet, the sfs is in the proper folder on the HDD.

USB HDD, or Internal HDD?
'pmedia=usbflash' option may be wrong.
Most safe is to remove the pmedia option.
Or, try 'pmedia=atahd' or 'pmedia=ataflash'(for internal SSD).

I am not sure if the upper case for the directory name is a problem or not.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 15:42    Post_subject:  

shinobar wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
When this GRUB4DOS boot manager executes, it fails with "puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found".
Yet, the sfs is in the proper folder on the HDD.

USB HDD, or Internal HDD?
'pmedia=usbflash' option may be wrong.
Most safe is to remove the pmedia option.
Or, try 'pmedia=atahd' or 'pmedia=ataflash'(for internal SSD).

I am not sure if the upper case for the directory name is a problem or not.
It a USB Flash that is partitioned with a SWAP partition as the 2nd 4GB partition on the 8GB stick.There is NO HDD on this PC, only the USB stick.

I will try your suggestion, tonight to see if that makes a difference. Also, if I remove the pmedia parm, should I expect a change in behavior. The 1st partition on the stick is formatted NTFS.

More information here that may help point to reasons of the error message.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2012, 01:07    Post_subject: puppy_slacko_5.3.3x.sfs not found  

gcmartin wrote:
It a USB Flash that is partitioned with a SWAP partition as the 2nd 4GB partition on the 8GB stick.There is NO HDD on this PC, only the USB stick.

In that case, the menu.lst entry you showed seems quite right.
I suspect the slacko kernel cannot handle your usb.
For you information, the vminuz and the initrd.gz are load by the grub4dos via BIOS, but the main sfs is read by the kernel.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2012, 20:30    Post_subject: Solved  

shinobar wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
It a USB Flash that is partitioned with a SWAP partition as the 2nd 4GB partition on the 8GB stick.There is NO HDD on this PC, only the USB stick.

In that case, the menu.lst entry you showed seems quite right.
I suspect the slacko kernel cannot handle your usb.
For you information, the vminuz and the initrd.gz are load by the grub4dos via BIOS, but the main sfs is read by the kernel.
Solved

Thanks for the idea Shinobar.

I looked at this over and over and decided that the logic somewhere is flawed in how the bios is presenting the device.

So, I removed the pmedia parameter throughout the menu.lst.

Now the system boots as it should. It find the SFS accordingly and proceeds to produce desktop.

Thanks for the idea. You may now want to determine what should be done should someone else who uses ONLY A Motherboard and a USB for a system and how GRUB4DOS should setup. I can only guess about the internals of GRUB4DOS and what the kernel does.

Hope this info give a clue. Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2012, 20:31    Post_subject:  

I've been using Exprimo
and I've found that Grub4DosConfig doesn't do
a good job in writing the entry for the
Porteus distribution. I get a kernel panic if I use your entry.
Here is entry that causes kernel panic

Code:
title Linux boot (sdb5/boot)
  uuid cda1bab9-accf-41f5-89b3-01d7b3433526
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5 ro
  initrd /boot/initrd.xz
 


Porteus is easy to install , just two folders to drag to a partition
(see image)

I would suggest that during the writing of menu.lst that
you check inside the /boot folder for a file named porteus.cfg

Then write a regular entry into menu.lst (i.e. don't use 'ro')

The grub entries needed are similar to Puppy but
the boot options can be different.




____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2012, 19:59    Post_subject:  

This entry got my computer to boot at least
but I will need to investigate to find how to
put in boot options like 'toroot' and 'copy2ram'


Code:


title Porteus boot (sdb5/boot)
  uuid cda1bab9-accf-41f5-89b3-01d7b3433526
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz psubdir=boot pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
 initrd /boot/initrd.xz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2012, 02:06    Post_subject:  

shinobar,

A strange problem, when using Grub4dos, that you may want to know about.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79954

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2012, 15:41    Post_subject: ISO wont boot unless it exsit on FAT32  

Shinobar,

Another problem, when using Grub4dos, that you may want to know about.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 28 Aug 2012, 17:07    Post_subject: features in GRUB4DOS  

BUMP
This has not be answered. So, I ask again!
Quote:
GRUB4DOS has a set-root feature where if a file exist the HDD partition becomes the root drive to boot.

Question
  • Is there a hidden feature for setting a directory/sub-directory?
    (similar to set-root, I would envision this to provide the folder that vmlinux would use or that would contain vmlinux and/or initrd appends.
And, also, A subsequent IDEA
Over the past 3 years I have often wondered if someone would post a pet script/program that would thread its way thru all attached storage and build/rebuild a new "menu.lst" while saving the old "menu.lst". And it could also have to option of restoring a prior menu.lst when invoked.
Question
  • Is something like this already present in Puppyland?
Thanks in advance for any answers or insights to this post's questions.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 241
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 14:03    Post_subject: Precise puppy  

Hello again,

I am installing Precise 5.4.2 fugal on my friends computer.
Unfortunately, Grub4Dos does not see it,

Any ideas?

By the way, I love puppy.. But your program makes it possible for me
to use it. Many thanks from me and my friends.


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2530
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 12:18    Post_subject: Re: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.0  

shinobar wrote:
...Translations: Calling for translations...

German translation updated and help added.
grub4dosconfig-de.tar.gz
Description  expand to /
gz

 Download 
Filename  grub4dosconfig-de.tar.gz 
Filesize  11.91 KB 
Downloaded  498 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 23:52    Post_subject: Grub4DosConfig-1.8.9  

Test release:
grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.9.pet (2013-05)
#17may13 v1.8.9: multiple Windows in the advanced menu, porteus

http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/

Feed back welcome.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 21:58    Post_subject:  

Slacko 5.6 frugal install to HDD with save file on HDD.

Installed grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.9.pet
Ran Grub4dos 1.8.9 to make a new menu.lst

Problem:
In the advanced menu.
Slacko 5.6 entry to boot to safe mode (without x)
Boots and fails with message:
Slacko 5.6.0 sfs not found.

The boot to ram mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave entry works OK.

The menu advanced.lst
Code:
# /menu-advanced.lst  produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.8.9

title Back to the main menu
  configfile /menu.lst
  commandline

title Puppy slacko 5.6.0 (sda3/slacko5.6.0frugal) Safe mode (without X)\nTry 'xorgwizard' after bootup succeed to start graphic mode.
  uuid 3f9de134-a95d-4a9d-9d42-cd5e98895ac6
  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram,nox acpi=off apm=off nosmp noapic nodma nopcmcia
  initrd /slacko5.6.0frugal/initrd.gz

title Puppy slacko 5.6.0 (sda3/slacko5.6.0frugal) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
  uuid 3f9de134-a95d-4a9d-9d42-cd5e98895ac6
  kernel /slacko5.6.0frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=slacko5.6.0frugal pfix=ram
  initrd /slacko5.6.0frugal/initrd.gz

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 21 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1043s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]