Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 07:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.3.3 bug reports and feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5860
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 01:50    Post subject:  

Did a quick frugal install of Slacko 5.3.3 on my old Windows 7/PCLOS/Puppy box.Zero problems.

# report-video
nouveau
Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.3 on Tue 29 May 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G98 Board - 5610002u Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz
Memory : 1033MB (168MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 29 May 2012 12:49:07 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : CMI8738-MC6 - C-Media CMI8738
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1033964 428944 605020 0 50716
-/+ buffers: 378228 655736
Swap: 2150396 0 2150396
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5860
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 02:13    Post subject:  

# report-video
nvidia
Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.3 on Tue 29 May 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G98 Board - 5610002u Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nvidia

X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (402x251 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
# glxgears
11024 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2204.800 FPS
11646 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2329.200 FPS
11613 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2322.600 FPS
11664 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2332.800 FPS
11600 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2320.000 FPS

Much better.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amj

Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 06:26    Post subject:  

I attempted to run 533 on a Toshiba laptop with an ATI Radeon video card today and 533 can't light the screen.

No huge suprise since there are several linux distros can't do it. But rather a shame given that 520/525/528 all run perfectly on the same hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jun 2012, 07:16    Post subject:  

amj wrote:
I attempted to run 533 on a Toshiba laptop with an ATI Radeon video card today and 533 can't light the screen.

No huge suprise since there are several linux distros can't do it. But rather a shame given that 520/525/528 all run perfectly on the same hardware.


2 things to try at boot

on the boot line type "puppy radeon.modeset=1"

failing that try "puppy xforcevesa"

If you get X you can then make a save file and try the proprietary AMD driver (PPM or slickpet)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jun 2012, 18:54    Post subject: Grub4DosConfig 1.8  

fix was failed to install on floppy with recent kernels like Wary/Racy-5.3, Slacko and etc.,
Tnx to irishrm

grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.8.pet (2012-06-15)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeybaby72


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jun 2012, 06:14    Post subject:  Update from Slacko 5.3.1  

I tried the live cd and love this release, but when I upgraded the savefile on my Acer 5315 from 5.3.1 to 5.3.3 and manually installed the rest of the files for HDD (frugal) - upon 2nd reboot PPM had died? I click on PPM and I just get a yellow text spash that is far too quick to read and then...nothing? Have tried doing 'simulated upgrade' at bootup but problem still persists.

Help! I have important data in my savefile, so can't just kill it and start again. Sad

Otherwise = fantastic release! Very Happy

PS. Can't seem to find anyone else who's had this problem and IRC channel is dead(?) Question

_________________
Adopt a Puppy TODAY - they are Man's best friend! Very Happy

Currently researching "Linux on Android project" - wanting to compile a Puppy to run in my hand on my Droid ... This has always been a dream of mine. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jun 2012, 17:11    Post subject:  

mikeybaby72,
How did you do the save file upgrade?
Be specific what you did.
Quote:
I click on PPM and I just get a yellow text spash that is far too quick to read and then...nothing?

In the console
Type ppm
Hit enter.
What errors do you see?
Quote:
Help! I have important data in my savefile, so can't just kill it and start again.

Can you not see any of these files in Rox file manager?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jun 2012, 17:22    Post subject:  

There is a bug with PPM, see the first post for a link to the fix.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeybaby72


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jun 2012, 06:41    Post subject:    

bigpup wrote:
mikeybaby72,
How did you do the save file upgrade?
Be specific what you did.
Quote:
I click on PPM and I just get a yellow text spash that is far too quick to read and then...nothing?

In the console
Type ppm
Hit enter.
What errors do you see?
Quote:
Help! I have important data in my savefile, so can't just kill it and start again.

Can you not see any of these files in Rox file manager?


Sorry bigpup - I will be more specific in future (I wrote that post in a bit of a panic) normal reasoning has been resumed! Cool

My upgrade process went as follows - I booted the live CD to give it a test run on that machine, everything went fine and I was very impressed. So I rebooted 5.3.3 cd into pupmode 05 so as not to mount the 5.3.1 savefile on my hdd - then copied the kernel image, initrd.gz files and then moved the old puppy_slacko_5.3.1.sfs file to a backup and copied the new puppy_slacko_5.3.3.sfs file into hdd in frugal Slacko directory, then I changed the menu.lst file in my hdd GRUB install and then just renamed the sub directory in root of my 'kennels' partition.

Then just shutdown without saving and ejected cd, then rebooted into slacko (5.3.3) and run the upgrade from boot prompt. EVERYTHING worked fine, EVEN ppm UNTIL I clicked Update PPM in Slickpet - then next time I clicked on PPM I had the above error in last post(?) I tried re-booting - still same problem, tried re-updating PPM - still same problem. I tried everything I could think of = nothing - same problem.

Thanks for your help - I found your reply this morning on my Droid so couldn't get my hands on 5315 to boot puppy and run the terminal. I have just fixed it using 01micko's patch - sorry for not being able to post results from terminal. Embarassed

Thanks to 01micko for one of the best pups yet! Wink

PS. I couldn't find my personal files in the backup of my original savefile - but have now restored and run the patch and everything is there Question Exclamation

I have 7 puppies/puplets frugally installed on that laptop and Mint DE as well as two 'other' OSs (both are M$) and I've not had any problems with doing manual upgrades before.

I guess that although I've been using puppy since v3.1 - I STILL have a lot to learn about keeping dogs! Very Happy
----------------
Now playing: Progressive Full On Goa Trance Mix 2 2012 - YouTube
via FoxyTunes

_________________
Adopt a Puppy TODAY - they are Man's best friend! Very Happy

Currently researching "Linux on Android project" - wanting to compile a Puppy to run in my hand on my Droid ... This has always been a dream of mine. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 08:43    Post subject:  

I have made available 2 reasonably critical updates

1) aufs-utils, bugfix, : bug - fail to mount a directory as a branch

2) seamonkey-2.10.1-slacko, latest release, see the release notes (compiled in Slacko)

Both available in the main post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 10:11    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I have made available 2 reasonably critical updates

1) aufs-utils, bugfix, : bug - fail to mount a directory as a branch



I installed this pet in fatslacko and now games work, nexuiz,sauerbraten, etc, think I'll try it in racy and a few others.
EDIT: I guess games were working all along in fatslacko, I installed the pet in slacko 533 and it didn't fix openarena, but sauerbraten works, don't think it did before.

Last edited by Billtoo on Sun 24 Jun 2012, 10:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 10:18    Post subject: Whiff in the air  

01micko
Spotted in the Slacko kennel today. Is there something afoot ?
screenshot.48.png
 Description   
 Filesize   1.66 KB
 Viewed   1151 Time(s)

screenshot.48.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 16:24    Post subject: Re: Whiff in the air  

ETP wrote:
01micko
Spotted in the Slacko kennel today. Is there something afoot ?


um... Rolling Eyes .. maybe Laughing

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 16:31    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:

EDIT: I guess games were working all along in fatslacko, I installed the pet in slacko 533 and it didn't fix openarena, but sauerbraten works, don't think it did before.


That would indicate your card (or game) requires Mesa. Install that before the proprietary driver.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikkelart

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 16:25    Post subject:  

When shutting down or rebooting slacko 5.3.3 after first boot it hangs at "Putty linux is shutting down..." and i have to use the powerbutton to power off.

This happens both when saving and not saving to usb, or even using a liveCD. When saving to usb the saved filesystem i ruined when trying to boot again.

I've tried both the 4g and highmem iso, but no difference.

Computer specs:
Processor: IntelCore i7-2670QM @ 2.20GHz
Memory: 8GB
Graphic: Gforce GTX 560M
Wifi: Atheros Ar9300 Driver: ath9k
USB: 2GB


SOLVED using puppy acpi=off

Last edited by mikkelart on Mon 16 Jul 2012, 11:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1052s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]