Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 02:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Toshiba Satellite U305-S5097 laptop: no sound
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 15:28    Post subject:  Toshiba Satellite U305-S5097 laptop: no sound  

It's a Toshiba Satellite U305-S5097, made around 2007, yet the latest top Linux distros seem unable to make the sound card work.
(Tried 4 Puppy versions and the top 4 live distros.)

Google hasn't turned up much that's useful.

I'd prefer to run it with Puppy Linux or Mint, but above all, I'd prefer to run it without Windows.
Any ideas?
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2479
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 11:23    Post subject:  

hi Ed Howdershelt

More information about the computers sound hardware would be useful.

go to

PuppyMenu > System > Hardinfo

under multimedia the audio adapters should be listed, what are they?

---

Also do you have a speaker icon on the panel? Finally, what's returned if you type aplay -l into the terminal emulator ?

(terminal is under utilities and middle mouse button will paste highlighted text from terminal into web-browser)

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11167
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 11:34    Post subject:  

Also, may we assume that the sound works in Windows? Don't throw Windows out; it's useful for troubleshooting when something doesn't work in Puppy. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 14:23    Post subject:  

[quote="darkcity"]hi Ed Howdershelt
More information about the computers sound hardware would be useful.
go to PuppyMenu > System > Hardinfo
under multimedia the audio adapters should be listed, what are they?[/quote]

Hardinfo says Audio is HDA-Intel

Alsamixer says the chip is LSI ID 1040

[quote] Also do you have a speaker icon on the panel?[/quote]

Nope. No speaker icon.

[quote]Finally, what's returned if you type[color=green] aplay -l[/color] into the terminal emulator ?
(terminal is under utilities and middle mouse button will paste highlighted text from terminal into web-browser)
:twisted:[/quote]

sh-4.1# aplay
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:660: audio open error: No such device
sh-4.1#

See any answers in all that?
Thanks,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 14:24    Post subject:  

[quote="Flash"]Also, may we assume that the sound works in Windows? Don't throw Windows out; it's useful for troubleshooting when something doesn't work in Puppy. :lol:[/quote]

Sound worked, but the Tosh came with Vista and it was all screwed up. Barely functional at all. Zap. Too late to save Windows on this box.
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2479
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 16:39    Post subject:  

okay, looks like the module should be snd-hda-intel

is it possible the sound is going to hdmi instead internal sound system?

if so press f6 in alsamixer to select sound card-

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=64185
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1885433
----

can you give the output of (instead of aplay)
aplay -l

also output of the following could be useful
cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf may need something like the following
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=targa-dig
options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=1

http://forum.pinguyos.com/Thread-No-Sound-issue

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3457
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 21:50    Post subject:  

Tried Slacko?

lhttp://01micko.com/slacko.html

Or

Dpup Exprimo...he has a few

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76247

""""""""""""

Specs:

http://www.cnet.com/laptops/toshiba-satellite-u305-s5097/4507-3121_7-32509545.html?tag=mncol;rightspecs

"""""'

Something for our puppy gurus.

Getting Intel ICH8 Family (rev 03) Sound Card to Work in Gutsy

http://linuxtechie.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/getting-intel-ich8-family-rev-3-sound-card-to-work-in-gutsy/

" There’s currently a bug in the latest stable version

of the ALSA drivers (1.0.14).

There is no sound with a HDA Intel ICH8 Family (rev 03) sound card. "

"The reason it works is because that package contains ALSA 1.0.15rc3 "

"""""""

Fatdog

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71602

::

See if yours is similar.

Next sound >> as reported by windows it is

>> Conexant Smart Audio HD


At boot to the desktop >> Nothing happens...
Is Fatdog a barker?

So in Alsa Equaliser Mixer
I changed to >> default >> and it is now showing
>> Conexant Cx20590

Once again...why isn't the >> multiple sound card there
in multimedia?? Another choice.

yet it's there in >> usr/bin

Try my test mp3...as there is no bark.

= xine engine error
Input plugin failed to open mrl /mnt.

Alsa Equaliser control is off...>> I turn it on.
Alsa Mixer shows...But mp3 fails again.

Chipset says alsaequal

Hit F6 >> highlight says >> enter device name

I select >> Default

Card >> HDA Intel PCH

Chip now shows >> Conexant CX20590

Hit F5 >> give Master a few more hits upwards

Esc...Still errors. bugger bugger

But Xine plays off my usb...yeah.

But not off my hard drive SDA2.

Open up Pmusic to add the mp3 from SDA2.
It decides to play.

""""""

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 00:32    Post subject:  

[quote="darkcity"]okay, looks like the module should be snd-hda-intel
is it possible the sound is going to hdmi instead internal sound system?[/quote]

You're asking ME? :)

[quote]if so press f6 in alsamixer to select sound card-[/quote]

Tried that. Doesn't offer anything. No choices listed.

[quote]can you give the output of (instead of aplay)
[color=green]aplay -l [/color][/quote]

sh-4.1# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH6]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH6 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem], device 0: Intel ICH - Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem - Modem]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

[quote]also output of the following could be useful
[color=green]cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf[/color]

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf may need something like the following
[code]options snd-hda-intel model=targa-dig
options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=1 [/code]
[url]http://forum.pinguyos.com/Thread-No-Sound-issue[/url][/quote]

Hm. Well, maybe if all else fails.

UPDATE: I found some Toshiba recover disks, turned off the router to kill wifi commo, and sat through the long, annoying reinstall of Vista into the NTFS partition. At long last it booted one last time and seemed to work fine. I immediately disabled updates and the ethernet and wifi functions.

Booted a Puppy 528 live CD and again had sound. Also had wifi, camera, and all else, as far as I could tell.

Could be the easiest immediate solution is to figure out how to dualboot a full Puppy installation with Vista. I know I can install a pup boot to the MBR and get a grub menu that will include Vista, but that won't boot Vista. I'm wondering if that matters, as long as Vista is there and otherwise in running order.
If I don't find a suitable dualboot solution, I'll try it the usual way.

IF... If there's a way to run Puppy alone on this laptop, that's what I'll do.
I don't just dislike Vista, I HATE it and getting rid of it would free up a 40 gig partition for other stuff.
Thanks,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3457
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 03:49    Post subject:  

Move all the Vista files with puppy to a folder called

>>> 1 Old Vista.

Move the lot.

Now boot Puppy.....see if it barks etc.

Because what you did sounds strange.

You can always move those files back....again with Puppy.

Hiren's would work as well >>> using Mini Windows
and the Explorer file manager on the Mini Windows desktop.

"""

You can delete >>>> all these
Recycle
System Volume information = System Restore
pagefile
hiberfil.sys

They re-appear on your next boot if you have XP...Vista...Win7.

At least Vista is slimmer.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2479
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 04:43    Post subject:  

I'm glad you have sound now, but as Chris says - I can't see why the solution you used worked ; -)

looks like you have standard sound hardware, maybe it was disable in the BIOS?

Evil or Very Mad

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 12:16    Post subject:  

Hm. Dunno that doing all that would help.

Reinstalling Vista turned the sound back on.
Installing Puppy went fine and sound worked, even after a restart/reboot.

BUT... when I completely turned off the computer, then turned it back on, NO SOUND in either Vista or Puppy.

At this point, I'm looking only for a solution in some flavor of Linux.
No more messing with Vista; I might put XP on it for a few things, but the only real OS will be Linux.
Tired of messing with this tinkertoy laptop.
Ed

[quote="cthisbear"]Move all the Vista files with puppy to a folder called

>>> 1 Old Vista.

Move the lot.

Now boot Puppy.....see if it barks etc.

Because what you did sounds strange.

You can always move those files back....again with Puppy.

Hiren's would work as well >>> using Mini Windows
and the Explorer file manager on the Mini Windows desktop.

"""

You can delete >>>> all these
Recycle
System Volume information = System Restore
pagefile
hiberfil.sys

They re-appear on your next boot if you have XP...Vista...Win7.

At least Vista is slimmer.

Chris.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 12:19    Post subject:  

[quote="darkcity"]I'm glad you have sound now, but as Chris says - I can't see why the solution you used worked ; -)
looks like you have standard sound hardware, maybe it was disable in the BIOS? :evil:[/quote]

No idea why it worked (temporarily, until off/on).
I don't think it's standard sound hardware. I think Toshiba tried to get cute with the board design and created flaws.
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2479
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 12:48    Post subject:  

I still think the hda-intel driver should work-
https://www.dea.icai.upcomillas.es/romano/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/ToshibaU305

Okay, we need to start again from the top. Though at this stage it may be an intermittent hardware fault.

---

Do a fresh install of Puppy, I recommend 5.29 or Slacko 5.3x

Run PuppyMenu > Setup > ALSA sound wizard

or type alsaconf into terminal

what results do you get?

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 21:43    Post subject:  

[quote="darkcity"]I still think the hda-intel driver should work-
[url]https://www.dea.icai.upcomillas.es/romano/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/ToshibaU305[/url]
Okay, we need to start again from the top. Though at this stage it may be an intermittent hardware fault.
---
Do a fresh install of Puppy, I recommend 5.29 or Slacko 5.3x

Run PuppyMenu > Setup > ALSA sound wizard
or type [color=green]alsaconf[/color] into terminal
what results do you get?
:twisted:[/quote]

I get:

sh-4.1# alsaconf
Getting started...
...device found
Configure driver snd-hda-intel...

Sound driver configured.

Loading driver...
Setting default volumes...
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory

ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:660: audio open error: No such file or directory
killall: aplay: no process killed

=====================
Now ALSA is ready to use.
For adjustment of volumes, use your favorite mixer.
Have a lot of fun!
sh-4.1#

But there's still no sound.
Thanks,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 23:00    Post subject:  

Ed Howdershelt wrote:
Quote:
(Tried 4 Puppy versions...)

Which 4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1266s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0417s) ][ GZIP on ]