(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Jan 2021, 23:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 132 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
Author Message
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jun 2012, 22:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Epdfview 0.1.7 in Lupu does a poor job of rendering some scanned documents. As an example, download the attached "scanner.pdf.gz", remove the dummy .gz extension and open it in Epdfview.

Then install the attached epdfview_lupu-0.1.8.pet and repeat.


Certainly much better, but not as sharp as the page looks as it comes out of a decent printer. What resolution did you scan it with?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jun 2012, 03:27    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Then install the attached epdfview_lupu-0.1.8.pet and repeat.

Excellent; that makes a huge difference. Thanks. I spent hours last weekend scanning CV documents and was really not happy with the outcome. Now I see the docs are actually fine after all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jun 2012, 07:58    Post subject:  

kevin bowers wrote:
Certainly much better, but not as sharp as the page looks as it comes out of a decent printer.

That's comparing apples to oranges. The true test is to print the PDF and compare to the original document.
Quote:
What resolution did you scan it with?
300dpi.

greengeek wrote:
I spent hours last weekend scanning CV documents and was really not happy with the outcome. Now I see the docs are actually fine after all.

Same here. In fact, I could convert the PDF back into a graphic and all the resolution was still there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 774
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2012, 00:46    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
...
User profiles is found under tools->switch profile and tools->switch profile->manage profiles button.


Thanks,

Nothing there though to explain the unruly autoinstall behavior. There's only one profile listed - 'default'.

I found something rather more unsettling yesterday though.

For some years now I've had Seamonkey set to delete browsing history when shutting down, as well as most other residues of online activity.

So I was dumbfounded when I happened to open the tab:

Tools/Data Manager

to see a list of domains that seems to include most, if not all, of the sites I've visited over the past several years!

At the bottom of the page I see a "remove" tab, but it's greyed out.

What use is clearing your history if every domain you've visited is shown and can't be removed?

Do other browsers have this same function?

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2012, 15:55    Post subject:  

otropogo wrote:
So I was dumbfounded when I happened to open the tab:

Tools/Data Manager

to see a list of domains that seems to include most, if not all, of the sites I've visited over the past several years!

Thanks for the tip. I just checked the data manager and can see the same massive history stored there.

So I then went to Tools / Clear private data and ticked every possible box and cleared them all, then went back into data manager and everything was gone, except there was an entry for “getpersonas.com” which seems to be something to do with a Firefox plugin or something???????

This is a bit disturbing.

And it seems that I cannot permanently set those tickboxes in the "Clear private data" function. It goes back to retaining the data manager list again every time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2012, 16:04    Post subject:  

So this is SeaMonkey. Can one find same such directory
in FireFox too? If one have both SM and FF would then SM
save such info even if one only used FF and never activated
SM? I mean both being mozilla. Maybe I am too naive.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2012, 16:11    Post subject:  

otropogo wrote:
At the bottom of the page I see a "remove" tab, but it's greyed out.

What use is clearing your history if every domain you've visited is shown and can't be removed?

I just looked at a different version of Seamonkey in my Slacko install, and tried to get rid of the data manager domain list by ticking the "clear private data" boxes one at a time. Each tick box would get rid of SOME of the listed domains, but even combining ALL of the tickboxes did not get rid of all the sites from the data manager list.

Then I found I can right-click those domain names in the data manager list, and it allows me to "forget about this domain" and implies that the info is stored because of "content preferences" that lets Seamonkey remember "zoom levels for each site" etc etc.

As you say, this is rather unsettling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2012, 18:42    Post subject:  

a few backgrounds.
pupag22,11vs.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   26.2 KB
 Viewed   1012 Time(s)

pupag22,11vs.jpg

pupag22,11vr.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   25.58 KB
 Viewed   1008 Time(s)

pupag22,11vr.jpg

pupag22,11v7.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   27.1 KB
 Viewed   1006 Time(s)

pupag22,11v7.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 774
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 01:40    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
otropogo wrote:
At the bottom of the page I see a "remove" tab, but it's greyed out.

What use is clearing your history if every domain you've visited is shown and can't be removed?

I just looked at a different version of Seamonkey in my Slacko install, and tried to get rid of the data manager domain list by ticking the "clear private data" boxes one at a time. Each tick box would get rid of SOME of the listed domains, but even combining ALL of the tickboxes did not get rid of all the sites from the data manager list.

Then I found I can right-click those domain names in the data manager list, and it allows me to "forget about this domain" and implies that the info is stored because of "content preferences" that lets Seamonkey remember "zoom levels for each site" etc etc.

As you say, this is rather unsettling.


I've been running with every box but one ticked in the "clear private data" menu, and yet I've got over five hundred domain names still listed in data manager. That's a lot of clicking to "forget" until the next time.

Because as soon as you go back to one of the domains you've clicked "forget', it's back on the list...

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 03:28    Post subject:  

otropogo wrote:
I've been running with every box but one ticked in the "clear private data" menu, and yet I've got over five hundred domain names still listed in data manager. That's a lot of clicking to "forget" until the next time. Because as soon as you go back to one of the domains you've clicked "forget', it's back on the list...
Yes, it's rather disturbing that the domains appear on the list without any user intervention requesting special "remembering" of anything to do with that domain. I understand if a cookie gets "remembered" - at least I can clear those (or set the browser to reject all cookies anyway). But who decided that these domains should be retained in Data Manager?????

I'm glad you uncovered this flaw. Googling "data manager" suggests that early Seamonkeys should be free of this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 14:26    Post subject:  

Otropogo/Greengeek

FYI both Chrome & Chromium retain page level zoom info even when the cache etc are cleared. This of course means that they retain data on both domains & pages visited.
IE8 seems o/k but I suspect that this is common with modern browsers.

For anyone wanting to test their browser:

1. Copy the address at the top of this page then zoom in to an insane level. Shocked
2. Take whatever action is necessary to clear the cache/history/cookies etc in your browser & then exit it.
3. Re-launch your browser and paste the address you copied into the address bar and visit it. If it is still large data is being retained and computer forensic scientists can rest easy in their beds. Laughing

(This is getting a bit off topic)

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jun 2012, 16:59    Post subject:  

futwerk wrote:
a few backgrounds.
Hi futwerk, I downloaded the third one of these backgrounds and used mtPaint to "invert" the colours. It looked really neat, and might be handy when icons are harder to see against a dark background.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 04:01    Post subject: Force Feedback  

Hi All

Is there a way to enable force feedback for steering wheels in puppy 528. I am running grand prix legends through wine version 1.5 (plays very well btw) but there is no force feedback available through my logitech momo wheel. Can puppy be tickled into giving force feedback?

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 09:59    Post subject:  

When I try to run MakeHuman program which is a Debian .deb
then it complain I miss this:
sh-4.1# /makehuman: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

so I maybe need this then libGLEW.so.1.5

what could that be about?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 12:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
sh-4.1# /makehuman: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

so I maybe need this then libGLEW.so.1.5

You could get libGLEW 1.5 for Lucid from here. http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid/libglew1.5

This is for GL so Xorg_High or a proprietary video driver would need to be installed (I am pretty sure anyway).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 132 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2762s ][ Queries: 13 (0.2208s) ][ GZIP on ]