Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 02:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Any Tutorial about GRUB2 and PUPPY?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
frktons

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 11:17    Post_subject:  

capicoso wrote:


The method i said is for afrugal. If you follow it, it'll work.


I suppose it does. As I find a partition that allows me to try it I'll do the
"frugal" as well.

At the moment the system is a bit messy and some partitions are not seen
by Puppy. I'll manage it someway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
frktons

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 14:53    Post_subject:  

Nothing as worked so far regarding the "frugal installation".
Grub2 created the following entry in grub.cfg for the "full installation"
and it works fine:
Code:

menuentry "PUPPY FULL (on /dev/sdd9)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(/dev/sdd,msdos9)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4f313f4a-2182-4dfc-a8cf-7007556a6c34
   linux /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdd9
}


So I tried to use it for the "frugal" as well, but it says "invalid name 'vmlinuz'":
Code:

menuentry "PUPPY FRUGAL (on /dev/sdb5)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(/dev/sdb,msdos5)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7adfb900-d535-cd01-30ce-b800d535cd01
   linux vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5
}


Still trying to find a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 15:15    Post_subject:  

I guess you know by now.

Manually it is a two layered thing.

First one write here /etc/grub.d/40_custom

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

add your puppy entry(mine looks like this):
Code:
echo "Adding Puppy Linux to GRUB 2"

menuentry "Lucid Puppy Linux 5.28 (frugal on sda6)"{
set root='(hd0,6)'
linux /puppycapi/vmlinuz
initrd /puppycapi/initrd.gz
}

Try to edit your version so it is more in line with the one above.
Change the (hd0,6) to what you have. The counting is different from
Grub legacy so you have to find that out by comparing how they do it above.

Then the second thing is to do the grub update command in the terminal on the linux that owns the grub2
or you should add the above code manually into both /etc/grub.d/40_custom and the grub.conf file where ever that one is placed.
And then to not make the grub update. And repair it if grub does get
updated due to your primary linux update itself. Which they tend to do
after a security upgrade.

I am a total noob so take my advice a bit like a hint and not a true step for step thing.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
frktons

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:13    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:

...
First one write here /etc/grub.d/40_custom

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

add your puppy entry(mine looks like this):
Code:
echo "Adding Puppy Linux to GRUB 2"

menuentry "Lucid Puppy Linux 5.28 (frugal on sda6)"{
set root='(hd0,6)'
linux /puppycapi/vmlinuz
initrd /puppycapi/initrd.gz
}

Try to edit your version so it is more in line with the one above.
Change the (hd0,6) to what you have. The counting is different from
Grub legacy so you have to find that out by comparing how they do it above.

Then the second thing is to do the grub update command in the terminal on the linux that owns the grub2...
.


My frugal is on sdb5, so I translated:
Code:

set root='(hd0,6)'


to:

Code:

set root='(hd1,5)'


and after a update-grub and a reboot, when I choose the option to start
Puppy I have an "unknown partition" answer.

The theory is simple, the practice sometime is not. Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
frktons

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:34    Post_subject:  

A solution that I've found by trial and errors is:

1 - created a /boot folder in the partition with frugal puppy
2 - moved inside the 3 usual files
3 - edited the grub.cfg file
4 - inserted the code for "frugal puppy" in this way:
Code:

menuentry "PUPPY FRUGAL (on /dev/sdb5)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(/dev/sdb,msdos5)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7adfb900-d535-cd01-30ce-b800d535cd01
   linux /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5
   initrd /boot/initrd.gz  root=/dev/sdb5
}


5 - rebooted and tried. OK it works, at the end I got it. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 04:37    Post_subject:  

Cool that you found a way to boot it finally.

I wonder about this fact.
Quote:
installed Linux Mint on another partition of the same external HD.

Linux Mint is known for to have a upgrade that find frugal install of puppy
seen as an odd thing and makes it invisible? It most likely set timing
so that only linux mint is seen and not any other option. I am unsure.
But people have reported on it all over the place. I have no link though

So you have to find ways to avoid this to happen to you next time LM
decide to update the grub2 due to some security upgrade that goes on
in the background without even telling you. So you can restore the puppy
entry later Smile

And how big space do you have on that partition that you have the frugal
puppy on? if you rename boot to the specific version of puppy like this

Code:
menuentry "PUPPY FRUGAL (on /dev/sdb5)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(/dev/sdb,msdos5)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7adfb900-d535-cd01-30ce-b800d535cd01
   linux /wary/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5
   initrd /wary/initrd.gz  root=/dev/sdb5
}


Then you could add lupu and slacko puppy frugally on same partition
without having to use a new partition. You only have to rename the subdir
to wary and next subdir to lupu and next to slacko

Edit.

Oops forgot to tell you how important it is to have this code in both
custom_40 and in grub.conf because if you only have it in grub.conf
then it get deleted when it do the Linux Mint update of grub2 next time
automatically due to inner scripts of LM. LM take what is in custom_40 and
then rewrite the grub.conf

Much more practical then having a general name like boot.

Or is grub2 that peculiar that it only accept the name boot ??????
That would be odd indeed. But who knows Smile Do you dare to test?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
frktons

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 09:57    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Cool that you found a way to boot it finally.

I wonder about this fact.
Quote:
installed Linux Mint on another partition of the same external HD.

Linux Mint is known for to have a upgrade that find frugal install of puppy
seen as an odd thing and makes it invisible? It most likely set timing
so that only linux mint is seen and not any other option. I am unsure.
But people have reported on it all over the place. I have no link though

So you have to find ways to avoid this to happen to you next time LM
decide to update the grub2 due to some security upgrade that goes on
in the background without even telling you. So you can restore the puppy
entry later Smile


When I installed Lucid Puppy on the external HD, before Linux Mint 12, I
did a Full installation, so I don't know what Mint does with frugal ones.
By the way I'm using GRUB2 of Pinguy as main Bootloader.

Quote:


And how big space do you have on that partition that you have the frugal
puppy on? if you rename boot to the specific version of puppy like this

Code:
menuentry "PUPPY FRUGAL (on /dev/sdb5)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(/dev/sdb,msdos5)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7adfb900-d535-cd01-30ce-b800d535cd01
   linux /wary/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb5
   initrd /wary/initrd.gz  root=/dev/sdb5
}


Then you could add lupu and slacko puppy frugally on same partition
without having to use a new partition. You only have to rename the subdir
to wary and next subdir to lupu and next to slacko

Edit.

Oops forgot to tell you how important it is to have this code in both
custom_40 and in grub.conf because if you only have it in grub.conf
then it get deleted when it do the Linux Mint update of grub2 next time
automatically due to inner scripts of LM. LM take what is in custom_40 and
then rewrite the grub.conf

Much more practical then having a general name like boot.

Or is grub2 that peculiar that it only accept the name boot ??????
That would be odd indeed. But who knows Smile Do you dare to test?


There is plenty of space on the HDs, because the system has 2 1.3 Tb HDs,
and two smaller HDs more, with WIN7,
Fedora 16, Sabayon 8, Chakra, Pinguy, 2 FatSlacko Puppy (frugal and Full), and Linux Mint 12.
I'm doing some experiments on a spare machine with 4 internal HDs and
2 external HDs.


/boot or any other name is the same. I renamed mine /FatSlacko and it
works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 23:46    Post_subject: Frugalinstaller and grub4dos  

frktons wrote:
Next step will be the "frugal Puppy". I've still to find a way through my messy hard disk with a dozen partitions..

Two options:
First (dk60902 and my recommendation) is Grub4Dos.
Try on a USB drive if you doubt how it works:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61348
Second is the frugalinstaller.
The frugalinstaller itself does not install any boot loader, but gives an instruction how to configure GRUB2.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=57711

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 07:47    Post_subject:  

I prefer Grub4dos as well but frktons has stated twice now that he wants to use Grub2 - the second time with reasons that seem pertinent to me - so our answers should concentrate on that. If one used grub4dos one then has to work out how to boot a Linux set up with Grub2 and their forum might not be so forthcoming as ours!

Shinobar - In the first post of the frugalinstaller thread you quoted it seems to suggest it needs grub4dosconfig and does not mention grub2. I am confused.

Nooby has provided pertinent advice in his comment regarding editing custom_40 and why. Edit grub.cfg if you like but take a backup because you will need it when you have to add all the lines for Puppy again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 07:52    Post_subject:  

Thanks ICPUG and another good reason to solve this is
that it will be a coming question again and again so why
not spend some time on it now. We all learn from the experience too
and it can be rather fun like a "mystery to solve" Smile

Sadly I am not on the know how level to be of good help.
I just wanted us to get on the right track. We will help many
if we solve this. Ooops forgot to add that I need grub2 too
when I have Linux Mint or other that use grub2 for full install
and when I want to add puppy frugal install on same partition later.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 08:47    Post_subject: Frugalinstaller and gru4dosconfig ... and grub2  

ICPUG wrote:
Shinobar - In the first post of the frugalinstaller thread you quoted it seems to suggest it needs grub4dosconfig and does not mention grub2.

The frugalinstaller does not not install any boot loader by itself. So some boot loader is required. The grub4dosconfig is the preferable one, but the frugalinstaller-1.5 provides instructions for the boot loaders, syslinux, legacy grub, grub4dos, and for grub2.

Wel, stll i recommend grb4dos because the recent grub4dosconfig supports chain to grub2 so that they can co-opperate. (Document)

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 09:24    Post_subject:  

shinobar you know these things much better than I do.

So this is not a criticism at all. I love the way you helped me
to get the grub4dos going with chainloading to my Ms Win
so I am very positively bent your way.

But seen from the perspective of the people who already
have Windows and Linux installed with Grub2 already running
then it would be friendly and proper of us who love Puppy to
give the best advice we can master at the moment. So sure
your take on grub4dos is good but we also need to give advice
on how to get puppy loaded from a dual boot with grub2 without
the need to add another bootloader first. They can take grub4dos
later when they long for it.

And the OP did ask us about grub2 so let us address that one first okay? Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 10:14    Post_subject: Frugalinstaller and grub4dos  

nooby wrote:
we also need to give advice on how to get puppy loaded from a dual boot with grub2 without the need to add another bootloader first.

I have already made it:
shinobar wrote:
The frugalinstaller itself does not install any boot loader, but gives an instruction how to configure GRUB2.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=57711

But i am not sure if you can manage the grub2 manually.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 10:25    Post_subject: Example: the info the furugal installer provids  

shinobar wrote:
The frugalinstaller does not not install any boot loader by itself. So some boot loader is required. The grub4dosconfig is the preferable one, but the frugalinstaller-1.5 provides instructions for the boot loaders, syslinux, legacy grub, grub4dos, and for grub2.

Code:
# YOU NEED NOT THIS as far you run the 'Grub4Dos config'.
# But some examples of menu entry for a help of manual editing,
# assuming some boot loader with its configuration file is already installed.
# You can cut and paste the entry block to the existing configuration file, dpends on the boot loader.
# You can also add other options like 'pmedia=usbflash', 'pfix=fsck' and etc.

# Example for Grub4Dos(menu.lst)
title Lucid  528 (sda3/lucid)
  uuid d644d8da-1cd0-4976-bbba-91fa6de4c170
  kernel /lucid/vmlinuz psubdir=lucid
  initrd /lucid/initrd.gz

# Example for Grub Legacy(menu.lst or grub.conf)
# Be caution: The numbers in '(hdX, Y)' may need to change
# depends on the hardware alignment.
title Lucid  528 (sda3/lucid)
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /lucid/vmlinuz psubdir=lucid
  initrd /lucid/initrd.gz

# Example for Grub2
# Add this entry to '/etc/grub.d/40_custom' or some proper file.
# Run 'grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg' or 'sudo update-grub2'(case of Ubuntu)
# under the grub2 based linux.
menuentry "Lucid  528 (sda3/lucid)"{
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d644d8da-1cd0-4976-bbba-91fa6de4c170
  linux /lucid/vmlinuz psubdir=lucid
  initrd /lucid/initrd.gz
}

# Example for extlinux(extlinux.conf)
default puppy
label puppy
  kernel /lucid/vmlinuz
  append initrd=/lucid/initrd.gz psubdir=lucid

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012, 11:31    Post_subject:  

My bad I apologize. Thanks for taking no offense.

You are right I did not know about that option.
I did not remember that where added. Have been lazy
so my bad. I usually only do manual install so had not
taken a recent look.

Maybe your instructions there then can solve my nightmare
that my sloppy entries gets invisible.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1225s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0154s) ][ GZIP on ]