What is the correct grub4dos way to boot two puppy from USB?

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

What is the correct grub4dos way to boot two puppy from USB?

#1 Post by nooby »

Haha I've spent many hours on this one
and I still feel very unsure of if I managed
to find the correct answer on how to boot two independent
puppies on same usb partition frugal install. grub4dos menu.lst

Look at the present working version of my menu.lst on a
Kingston 2GB UsbFlash.

Code: Select all

 title lupu528  rootnoverify (hd0,0)?
  root=(hd0,0)
  kernel /lupu528/vmlinuz PMEDIA=usbflash PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=lupu528  pfix=fsck 
  initrd /lupu528/initrd.gz


 title Thinslacko 533 4g Puppy Linux 
 root=(hd0,0)
kernel /thinslacko/vmlinuz PMEDIA=usbflash PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=thinslacko pfix=fsck
initrd /thinslacko/initrd.gz

Should it be rootnoverify instead? What is the difference?
Lupu accepted this

title lupu528 rootnoverify (hd0,0)?
kernel /lupu528/vmlinuz PMEDIA=usbflash PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=lupu528 pfix=fsck
initrd /lupu528/initrd.gz

While Slacko needed this one

title Thinslacko 533 4g Puppy Linux
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /thinslacko/vmlinuz PMEDIA=usbflash PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=thinslacko pfix=fsck
initrd /thinslacko/initrd.gz

If I used this one then they gave error messages
PDEV1=sdb

They also gave error messages if I used
kernel (hd1,1)/thinslacko/vmlinuz

while on another computer that was what was needed for it to work?
Why does some computer need (hd1,1) when others need (hd0,0)?

Guys I am totally confused so hope you can excuse my internal state
and pretend that it is another friendly noob asking and it can help others
if you help me with this.

What works for your USB?

In case you are very formally bent. I use an Acer D255 with N450CPU
Last edited by nooby on Fri 18 May 2012, 18:12, edited 1 time in total.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

cthisbear
Posts: 4422
Joined: Sun 29 Jan 2006, 22:07
Location: Sydney Australia

#2 Post by cthisbear »


nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#3 Post by nooby »


What I need to know most is this pdev1=sdb1
is that the generally correct one to use or does it just work on my gear?


In the thread on whirlpool you linked to I copy from your menu.lst

Code: Select all

title Puppy Slacko (sdc1/slacko)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /slacko/initrd.gz
kernel /slacko/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=slacko pfix=fsck
initrd /slacko/initrd.gz



title Puppy Lucid 528 Rev3 (sdc1/lucid528rev3)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz
kernel /lucid528rev3/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=lucid528rev3 pfix=fsck
initrd /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz
The only difference is these two.
You have
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz

and you don't include the pdev1=sdb1

I usually make use of find --set-root --ignore-floppies /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz
when I do LinuxMint cheat boot but then I refer to the iso instead
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /LM12.iso

What I need to know most is this pdev1=sdb1
is that the generally correct one to use or does it just work on my gear?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

Correct

#4 Post by tlchost »

If you use the universal installer and syslinux instead of grubwhatever, this syslinux.cfg works:

Code: Select all

PROMPT 1 

TIMEOUT 0 
SAY Hello Out There in Puppy Land - Be careful with the Save File Selection
SAY 1=Quirky12tlc 2=Quirky12 3-Lupu52

DEFAULT 1 

label 1 
kernel /quirky12tlc/vmlinuz psubdir=quirky12tlc
append initrd=/quirky12tlc/initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

label 2
kernel /p12/vmlinuz psubdir=quirky12
append initrd=/quirky12/initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

label 3
kernel /lupu/vmlinuz psubdir=lupu
append initrd=/lupu/initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

If you're using the abandoned Fluppy, the code is a bit more complicated, but follows the same logic.

Best of Luck

Thom

User avatar
Burn_IT
Posts: 3650
Joined: Sat 12 Aug 2006, 19:25
Location: Tamworth UK

#5 Post by Burn_IT »

Without wishing to sound facetious.....

with USB, I find that whatever works in any particular case is the correct way.
USB is SO varied and what works with one stick may well not work with another supposedly identical stick.
I have many USB devices and spend a lot of time trying to make sense out of it all and find a set of "rules" that works.
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett

User avatar
rhadon
Posts: 1292
Joined: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 11:05
Location: Germany

#6 Post by rhadon »

Hi nooby,

before you use pdev1=sdb1 you have to know, is it the right name of your usb when you boot from there? The same for root (hd0,0), without equal sign.

It's easy to find out:

At boot menu type 'c' key. At the prompt type

Code: Select all

find /lupu528/vmlinuz
This should return the right values, e.g. (hd0,0).
If you get more than one answer, Grub found also another drive with this subdirectory. In this case you could change the name of the subdirectory, e.g. from lupu528 to lupu528usb. Then the answer from the find command should be clear.

If you use a distinct name for your subdirectory, then there is no need for any pdev1 command.

If you still want to use it, remember: hd0=sda, hd1=sdb, and so on.

Usually I use rootnoverify (hdX,Y) instead of root (hdX,Y). But root (hdX,Y) also works for me.

At last, you should tell us, do you use Grub or Grub4Dos? Your first example (first post) seems to be for Grub, your last one (last post) for Grub4Dos.

HTH
Rolf
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. :wink:
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#7 Post by nooby »

oops I thought it where obvious I use grub4dos
Sorry I am a bit naive.

What about using this more general one then?

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz

Then I don't have to know if it is sdb1 or not?

A way to be flexible one maybe could make several different such
so that regardless of what works one have options to test another way?

So the kernel (hd1,1)/thinslacko/vmlinuz is the older way that only works
for grub legacy? Haha I've booted from satahd like that with grub4dos for many months now.

I am not good at being structured that is for sure.

Guys I trust you but how can we know what is the most correct way?
Does Barry Kauler know? is it dependent on the internal script and
every developer have their own taste for what to see as "correct"
or is it decided by the grub4dos dev and what did he decide to use?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
rhadon
Posts: 1292
Joined: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 11:05
Location: Germany

#8 Post by rhadon »

nooby wrote:So the kernel (hd1,1)/thinslacko/vmlinuz is the older way that only works for grub legacy? Haha I've booted from satahd like that with grub4dos for many months now.
If it works, it's OK. :wink:

The other way doesn't work:
find --set-root --ignore-floppies... from Grub4Dos doesn't work with Grub.

I would rename my actual menu.lst and rerun Grub4Dos bootloader config. Grub4Dos should find your Puppies on the usb and create a proper entry. Now you can use your new menu.lst or copy the new entry to the old menu.lst and rename it back.

~Rolf
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. :wink:
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#9 Post by nooby »

Thanks Rolf that could be a good way.
But seems overkill to me. I mean if we
together can find out the proper way
then no need to go for such drastic measures.

Appreciate your suggestion though and can help
those that find this thread. I ahve used the config
several times but feel very unsure of how to get
what it really ask me to do at each step. I drown
in all the choices. I am a confused guy.

"The other way doesn't work:
find --set-root --ignore-floppies... from Grub4Dos doesn't work with Grub. "

But that way should work for grub4dos would it not and that is what I use.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
rhadon
Posts: 1292
Joined: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 11:05
Location: Germany

#10 Post by rhadon »

On my EeePc with Grub4Dos on sda1 I use basically the same kind of menu.lst entry you posted above:

Code: Select all

title Puppy Lucid 528 Rev3 (on usb /lucid528rev3) 
 find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz 
 kernel /lucid528rev3/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=lucid528rev3 pfix=fsck 
 initrd /lucid528rev3/initrd.gz
I don't think that --ignore-cd is important.

Replace all paths with the right name and be sure that this name is unique (no other subdir with the same name on your hd).

If this doesn't work for you, which error message do you get?

~Rolf
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. :wink:
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#11 Post by nooby »

okay I test this one right away to see what happens


title lupu-528
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /lupu-528/initrd.gz
kernel /lupu-528/vmlinuz PMEDIA=usbflash PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=lupu-528 pfix=fsck
initrd /lupu-528/initrd.gz

But have to reboot and edit manually so take maybe 5 to 10 minutes to
get back and tell result :)

Yes that one boots too.
So at least two rather different versions boots. The one above and this one


title lupu528 rootnoverify (hd0,0)?
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /lupu528/vmlinuz PMEDIA=usbflash PDEV1=sdb1 psubdir=lupu528 pfix=fsck
initrd /lupu528/initrd.gz

So use what works but I am still curious on what is the correct one :)

but no hurry. I've solved to get them to work without using the others
savefile or the HD's savefile
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
Crash
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri 09 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Melbourne, FL

#12 Post by Crash »

I had to dig my USB thumb drive out of the ash tray in my car to take a look, but here is what my MENU.LST looks like:

Code: Select all

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7
color white/green yellow/blue white/black green/black
timeout 10
default 0

# additionals
title reboot USB
chainloader (hd0)+1

title Puppy Linux 528 frugal install at sda1/lup_528u (USB)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /lup_528u/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 psubdir=lup_528u pmedia=usbflash
initrd /lup_528u/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux 528 frugal install at sda2, lup_528v save file (USB)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /lup_528v/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 psubdir=lup_528v pmedia=usbflash
initrd /lup_528v/initrd.gz

title Grub4Dos commandline\n(for experts only)
  commandline

title Reboot computer
  reboot

title Halt computer
  halt
The thumb drive has two partitions, (hd0,0) that is vfat and (hd0,1) that is ext2. So the code boots into either.

I like doing the find --set-root approach, too. But when booting to USB, GRUB almost always recognizes the root
partition as (hd0,0) no matter what computer I plug the thumb drive into.

Note that I don't use the PDEV1 parameter, but I find the psubdir parameter to be very convenient.

The above uses Grub4DOS, but I actually boot into FreeDOS first, then execute GRUB.EXE.
The thumb drive also contains EDIT.EXE, and the first choice in the MENU.LST allows me to reboot to the
FreeDOS command prompt in about one second, avoiding the delay of going through the BIOS startup. So I
can make very quick edits to MENU.LST and try out different iterations.

Also, I have LINLD.COM on the thumb drive, and from the FreeDOS prompt I can call a .bat file that contains this:

Code: Select all

LINLD.COM image=lup_528u\vmlinuz initrd=lup_528u\initrd.gz "cl=root=/dev/ram0 acpi=on pfix=copy pmedia=usbflash psubdir=lup_528u"
It has the same effect as running Grub4DOS and selecting the "Puppy Linux 528 frugal install at sda1/lup_528u (USB)" option.

Which way is correct? I agree that it is a matter of personal preference. The above is correct for me, but not necessarily for others.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#13 Post by nooby »

Thanks.

What is the feature or good effect to use this one? root=/dev/ram0

Does it makes it faster? Sure I can use google but I am after the reason
you decided on to use it. Have you notice any difference when you had
something else there?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
Crash
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri 09 Dec 2005, 06:34
Location: Melbourne, FL

#14 Post by Crash »

I'm not sure where the "root=/dev/ram0" comes from, but it dates back to the original Boot2Pup and Wakepup2.
Maybe it's a throwback to LILO. It defines the initial RAM DISK, but I don't know if it's needed.
I'll mess around and see. Or maybe someone else already knows.

// Edited a few hours later:

The "root=/dev/ram0" parameter appears to be unnecessary, at least for booting Puppy version 528.
I edited the MENU.LST and got boot times that were very close, in fact a little bit faster, by removing that parameter.
When I removed the parameter in the LINLD .bat file, the boot time increased slightly, like two seconds, but not enough to be of concern.
In all cases, boot time was under 60 seconds.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#15 Post by nooby »

Thanks, much appreciated you took time to test this.
I am so deep into other things having to do with my
apartment so I have no energy over for doing tests.

Yesterday I tested to boot two USB pin that had grub2 on them
and I am sure of that both of them had booted on a
HP/Compaq Pavilion d4000 Desktop just a month ago
and now none of them wanted to even see the boot menu
on my Acer D255 which one of them for sure did some 6 months ago
when I used it last time. So me and computers is a No No :)
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
rhadon
Posts: 1292
Joined: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 11:05
Location: Germany

#16 Post by rhadon »

About root=/dev/ram0:

nooby, you found the answer in Nov 2010 here. :lol:

Rolf
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. :wink:
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#17 Post by nooby »

Thanks rhadon
My poor memory even get worse day by day.
rcrsn51 knew this though
"Starting with Puppy 3, that option was eliminated."
So now we know it is not needed anymore.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Post Reply