Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 16:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Works up to a point, but no luck with encrypted connections
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Keanen

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 23:30    Post_subject:  Works up to a point, but no luck with encrypted connections  

I am using Wary 5.3 on HP's Pavilion dm4, coexisting with Windows 7. I'm using the built in wifi card, which I think might be manufactured by Intel.

I am able to scan for and connect to networks successfully. Unencrypted networks seem to work.

The problem:

When I connect to a network with WEP encryption, scanning for a DHCP server doesn't work correctly. (Yes, I am typing in the correct password.) Therefore, when I go to browse the internet, I end up with an error page.

Please help solve this problem. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3431
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2012, 06:51    Post_subject:  

Specs:

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2375996,00.asp?tab=Specs

""""""""""""

Wifi probs even in Windows.

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-PCs-Pavilions-Presario/Wi-Fi-Problem-for-HP-Pavilion-dm4-1150ea/td-p/2334319

"""""""""

" Instant On Operating System

To be sure, that 1:38 boot time stinks. But at least the dm4 comes with a Linux-based Instant On operating system, which you’ll see within 10 seconds of powering on the notebook. "

Is that right???????????

http://www.laptopmag.com/review/laptops/hp-dm4.aspx?page=4

"""""""""

Is it Broadcom...Broadcom bcm4313 ????????

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=9991215

::::::::::::

I wouldn't use Wary.

Try slacko 5.3.3, final

http://01micko.com/slacko.html

or lupupluslibre-02 ...

LupuPlusLibre 5.2.8.005-2

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=622054#622054


http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70855

but read my post>>> if connection fails.

Change the >> Ap_scan Parameter in Frisbee.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70855&start=1755


Or >> pemasu ...doing great things

Dpup Exprimo 5.X.14

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70399

or Upup Precise 5.3.3.3 with kernel 3.3.2

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77697

Dpup Exprimo version 5.X.3.2.7

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76247

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Keanen

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2012, 13:20    Post_subject:  

@cthisbear-

That is a very insightful and in-depth analysis worthy of a Denzel Washington movie. However, I would like to know some specific steps to make the software I have work with the hardware I have.

EDIT: Seeing as how nobody else wants to help me, I'll try installing Slacko sometime later. I'll post here if that works. My only gripe with it is that it's not really full-on Puppy Linux then, it's partially Slackware, but oh well.

EDIT 2: But before I do that, I'm going to try this (posted by cowboy):
Quote:
Most of the newer kernels come with power management set to on for wlan0. Most older dongles and cards simply can't function with power management setting on. Try booting into a Live CD, and then setup your wlan0 setting, and then when the wireless starts the endless scanning, open a terminal as root and type in "sudo iwconfig wlan0 power off". The "sudo" may or may not be necessary depending on what you are running. I've had success with this on several older cards, and most of the newer 'buntus, buntu variants, and puppies.


EDIT 3: Nope. I guess it's a driver-related problem, so I'll see what I can do in the way of Slacko.

EDIT 4: No, of course not. Slacko wasn't able to launch Xorg or Xvesa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0496s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]