Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 01:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Upup Precise 5.3.3.3 with kernel 3.3.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 25 [373 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2012, 15:34    Post subject:  

Calligra Office, formerly known as K-Office, is in the Ubuntu Precise repo. It should be possible to configure PPM to use the Ubuntu repos and then choose Calligra and Examine Dependencies--and get it working that way. I made quite a few of the original Lucid packages in this way. PPM will download the deps as deb files and then they can be installed one at a time or else undeb'ed and installed all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2012, 16:19    Post subject:  

All 3 precise pangolin repos have been added already. Calligra with all dependencies....234 Mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2012, 17:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
Calligra with all dependencies....234 Mb

LOL. So much for saving space over Libre Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 01:22    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
All 3 precise pangolin repos have been added already. Calligra with all dependencies....234 Mb


234MB would not owe dependent on the?I want the new 3.334 what?How my hard drive space, a large capacity does not matter, only hope that the library the Qi install software easily, and when they release? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 603
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 19:36    Post subject: testing 5-3.3.3  

Fresh savefile installed on HDD -- Running main program from CD.

So far all appears to be OK, no major issues to report yet!

On a minor issue.... eth0 doesn't always stay connected on a reboot? I didn't have this with 5-3.3.2? and haven't been able to configure wlan0 for my rt2800usb yet? Had this problem back in original Precise on BK's thread and pemasu made that 'patch' and all worked then. I didn't have that problem with 5-3.3.2 and it configured and worked nice however, 5-3.3.2 was an 'update' to BK's original build and the 'patch' carried over to 5-3.3.2 where 5-3.3.3 is a fresh install without the patch. I will do some more testing on this and if I just can't get it going, I'll try installing that 'patch' again and see what happens then.

Other than that... looking and working good!
desktop-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   199.65 KB
 Viewed   1696 Time(s)

desktop-1.png


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 603
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 22:09    Post subject: 5-3.3.3  

Have wlan0 working... did NOT need 'the patch' mentioned above. Appears to be holding up fine... posting from it now.

eth0 appears to connect on boot but then the little pemasu-logo pop's up on the desktop and says... 'Releasing eth0' and by gollie... it sure does!!!
cannot get back on with eth0 period. Happens more often than not as I boot more and more.

Noticed.... the regular Network Manager is 'different' than the one in 5-3.3.2??? anyway, somethings a-miss in eth0 for sure!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5752
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 22:41    Post subject: Re: 5-3.3.3  

sszindian wrote:

eth0 appears to connect on boot but then the little pemasu-logo pop's up on the desktop and says... 'Releasing eth0' and by gollie... it sure does!!!
cannot get back on with eth0 period. Happens more often than not as I boot more and more.


Same thing here except it's every reboot.Have tried Frisbee,SNS and Network Wizard..........can get a connection but on reboot it is released and must start over.
Started with new fresh installs several times..... no difference.
Testing is fun..... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2012, 02:05    Post subject:  

Yeah....I think it is SNS and Frisbee dhcpcd conflicting. I have compiled dhcpcd in Upup Precise for SNS and tried to isolate those 2 dhcpcd`s once again.
For me....both works now....if you delete the profile for wireless created by other one.

I normally dont use SNS but now as test purpose....I have used it....with eth0 and wlan0.

Looks like to work for me....

I just would need time to build this test version with latest woof. But I just cant promise anything now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Mon 07 May 2012, 02:02    Post subject:  

Shocked Upup Precise 5.3.3.4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 11:20    Post subject:  

Frugal USB install on acer 5750 i5 4g ram.

I must thank pemasu for including the wl drivers.
Frisbee had no problem connecting me to the internet.

I couldn't make any sense of the PPM so all my apps are downloaded from the puppy lucid 528 repo and are working well.

Precise is a welcome companion to fatdog 64 which is the only other puppy which will give me a wireless connection on this machine.

Comparisons:
Precise is giving me access to all the apps I need.
Fatdog doesn't have 64bit versions of some of these.

Fatdog appears to have better video playback ability.

Thanks again for another great puppy-irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3097
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 12:14    Post subject: upup precise
Subject description: a lot of distros for my german computer Medion !
 

Hello Everybody. Could'nt we speak french here ?
I wil try it ASAP (as soon as possible - aviation language -)
I worried about having bought a computer on which i could'nt use puppies.In fact no, all the recent ones are fittable and i can see them on wide screen, and with the sound, naturally : Slacko was the first one, then Racy, then Dpup exprimo, then Hardy Husky, and now Upup. Où vais-je donner de la tête ?

My poor old ACER Aspire 3000 will not use Upup, because Acer is driven by an awful pilot : the B52, no.. B43

Download if very slow : 45 minutes. I stopped it. I shall see to-night.

Au revoir. Pélo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2012, 06:09    Post subject:  

xim bug:
Lucid Puppy, slacko
[img]http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=55502[/img]
Precise Puppy
[img]http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=55503[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2012, 11:27    Post subject:  

xim
bug is the lack of those things?The Moren instructions to those who want to install?For help
2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   15.33 KB
 Viewed   945 Time(s)

2.jpg

1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.25 KB
 Viewed   919 Time(s)

1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 16 May 2012, 02:09    Post subject: xim bug  

linux28 wrote:
xim
bug is the lack of those things?The Moren instructions to those who want to install?For help

Try on a virtual terminal:
Code:
# gtk-query-immodules-2.0 > /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Wed 16 May 2012, 02:15    Post subject: Re: xim bug  

shinobar wrote:
linux28 wrote:
xim
bug is the lack of those things?The Moren instructions to those who want to install?For help

Try on a virtual terminal:
Code:
# gtk-query-immodules-2.0 > /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules

Upup Precise
No, still not work.You know use Upup the Precise, open a text editor, without these input methods:
1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.25 KB
 Viewed   842 Time(s)

1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 25 [373 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0865s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]