How to add app icons to GtkDialog MenuBar?

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

How to add app icons to GtkDialog MenuBar?

#1 Post by sunburnt »

I made an auto. menu for Tiny Core Linux`s SCM app. files.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 016#624016

It would be really nice if the app. icons could be put on the menu.
All I`ve ever got to work was GTK+ stock icons on anything.

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

Re: How to add app icons to GtkDialog MenuBar?

#2 Post by RSH »

sunburnt wrote:I made an auto. menu for Tiny Core Linux`s SCM app. files.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 016#624016

It would be really nice if the app. icons could be put on the menu.
All I`ve ever got to work was GTK+ stock icons on anything.
I do use my own icons in gtkdialog applications. I did create symbolic links of each and every icon of LazY Puppy in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps. After this i call gtk-update-icon-cache -f /usr/share/icons/hicolor/ (after this i did make a remaster). This function is ALWAYS :lol: called after installing a .pet that contains icons or symbolic links in this directory. So if you put a symbolic link of the wanted icon inside your pet in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps, then you can use it in your own gtkdialog application.

Example: the name of your icon is my-icon.png - do use my-icon in gtkdialog. Works for me and should also work for you. (I did read this long time ago somewhere in the gtkdialog section. Was a post of shinobar (iirc)).
Attachments
quickinstall-lazy-puppy.png
(173.74 KiB) Downloaded 1660 times
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#3 Post by sunburnt »

RHS; In thinking about this, I`m not sure your fix is usable.
I`m intending on copying icons from SCM and SqApp files.

So if I`m correct... Each time a file is mounted and an icon is copied:
A link for it is made in: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps
( I assume other dirs. would work also? Like: /apps/ico )

And then run: gtk-update-icon-cache -f /usr/share/icons/hicolor/
Last edited by sunburnt on Tue 01 May 2012, 04:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#4 Post by RSH »

I did never try another directory, because for me it works well. I don't know how SqApp is acting and what SCM is. But on sfs files it works also. If an sfs does contain a file that is already in the running system, it will not be loaded and also not removed on unloading the sfs.

I did found this on a problem using a .pet of ardour 286 that i'd build. The installed .pet did work fine, the sfs version (all the same files) did not work and gave me "segmentation fault" in terminal. So i did reboot, copied all files of ardour sfs manually into the running system and had a special look on existing files that would be overwritten. I found librdf.so.0.0.0 which was installed on an earlier installation of abiword 2.9. Removed librdf.so.0.0.0, loaded the ardour sfs and it works perfectly.

Every written by myself gtkdialog application now uses its own icons and none of them did never lost any of the icons.

I don't know, how SqApp is acting...

EDIT:

Tonight i did a hack on gtkdialog application using object tree. Automatically setting of each and every icon related to its application.
Attachments
image-2.jpg
(16.34 KiB) Downloaded 1434 times
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#5 Post by sunburnt »

### I`ll let you know about using other dirs. for icons or links to them.


An SCM is Tiny Core Linux`s mount only Squash app. file. Works in Puppy.
SqApp is my own mount only Squash app. file type. Better in some ways.
My post with myAutoMenu app. for SCM files:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77944

The problem you spoke of with Puppy`s SFS files is common. And no fix.
That`s union file systems... That`s why I`ve tried hard to rid Puppy of it.
But people are slow to understand, and even slower to respond to change.

Tiny Core Linux does not use a union file system. Much better!
It`s TCZ files use a brute force method of using Squash files.
But it now has SCM files that don`t have to resort to brute force to work.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#6 Post by sunburnt »

# UPDATE: Tried to get it to work, no icon...
When the command is run, it says:
gtk-update-icon-cache: No theme index file.
Command gives same report no matter what path it`s given.

Error running menu: (gtkdialog3:14855): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL

The GtkDialog file section looks like this:

Code: Select all

	<menuitem icon="avidemux-png">
		<label>avidemux</label>
		<action>avidemux</action>
	</menuitem>
	<menuitem icon="gnome-mplayer.png">
		<label>gnome-mplayer</label>
		<action>gnome-mplayer</action>
	</menuitem>
	<menuitem icon="xfe.png">
		<label>xfe</label>
		<action>xfe</action>
	</menuitem>
	<menuitem icon="xmms.png">
		<label>xmms</label>
		<action>xmms</action>
	</menuitem>

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#7 Post by RSH »

Hi.

First picture shows one of my own special icon directories containing 25 images (LazY Puppy SFS files) and one sub-directory with smaller versions.

Image

Second picture shows symbolic links in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps. There are 525 symbolic links to each and every icon inside LazY Puppy. Exactly the same way i did it with the icon directory of wbar, so i can also use each and every icon on the wbar - and they are changing if the system icons are changing. :D

Image

Code from LazY Puppy QuickInstall (Menu)

Code: Select all

    <menu>
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528devx\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTDEVX\">
           <label>$LSFSDEVX</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLDEVX &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528devxgambas\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTDEVXGMB\">
           <label>$LSFSDEVXGMB</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLDEVXGMB &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528-kernel\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTKERNEL\">
           <label>$LSFSKERNEL</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLKERNEL &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <separator></separator>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528amedit\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTAMEDIT\">
           <label>$LSFSAMEDIT</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLAMEDIT &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528avplay\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTAVPLAY\">
           <label>$LSFSAVPLAY</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLAVPLAY &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528grafik\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTGRAFIK\">
           <label>$LSFSGRAFIK</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLGRAFIK &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528www\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTNETWORK\">
           <label>$LSFSNETWORK</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLNETWORK &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528office\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTOFFICEKDE\">
           <label>$LSFSOFFICEKDE</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLOFFICEKDE &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528office\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTOFFICEOO\">
           <label>$LSFSOFFICEOO</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLOFFICEOO &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528office\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTOFFICE\">
           <label>$LSFSOFFICE</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLOFFICESTD &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528tools\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTTOOLS\">
           <label>$LSFSTOOLS</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLTOOLS &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528vedit\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTVIDEOEDIT\">
           <label>$LSFSVIDEOEDIT</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLVIDEOEDIT &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
         <menuitem icon=\"lazy528wine\" tooltip-text=\"$LTTWINE\">
           <label>$LSFSWINE</label>
           <action>defaultbrowser $WLWINE &</action>
         </menuitem>
         
        <label>$LAZYMSFSTITLE</label>
        
      </menu>    
Code is for this menu: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 064#624064
As you can see: do NOT use the .png and/or .xpm file extension.

I do use gtkdialog-0.8 (gtkdialog4)

EDIT:

Please note: as far as i know, gtkdialog4 applications using menus do need the following code at the end of the gui:

Code: Select all

 <action signal=\"hide\">exit:Exit</action>
 
</window>"
I can't remember exactly but i think it has got something to do with right upper cross (close window) and the GUI results... :?:

I attached my index.theme file - may be it can help? You surely know, not to try this using your fav... :lol:

Or might try to install a package, to see if this file is generated by petget (/usr/local)
Attachments
index.theme.gz
remove .gz
(23.72 KiB) Downloaded 318 times

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#8 Post by sunburnt »

Puppy only has gtkdialog3, that could easily be the problem.
I`m not going to modify other folks Puppies to make my menu work...
It has to install alone without dependencies to make it work.

gtk-dialog`s syntax changes completely from one version to the next.
That`s partly why I gave up on gtk-dialog. That and only Puppy uses it.
Last edited by sunburnt on Tue 01 May 2012, 20:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#9 Post by RSH »

jpeps wrote:Yes, I'm writing with updated gtkdialog, although it has limited backward compatibility. There are a lot of important revisions in gtkdialog, like file selection filters, etc. It takes under 10 seconds to update. I have no idea why anyone wouldn't include it in their distro.
He wrote this in the gnewpet thread.
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#10 Post by sunburnt »

I agree, why doesn`t the latest Puppies have gtkdialog4 ?
I`m guessing like many folks, they`re just getting tired of the nasty old
tread mill of constant upgrading all of Puppy`s GUIs over and over.
Still they could include it and slowly migrate to using it ( As always...).

I`ve suggested a wrapper for GTK+ that always keeps the same syntax.
A maintainer would keep it working, freeing the rest of us from slavery.


# I just tried to gunzip your file and it errors:

Code: Select all

gzip: ./index.theme.gz: not in gzip format
If I knew where it goes I could try a blank file to see if that`d work...

# Anyway... Try posting it again, but Zipped:

Code: Select all

zip -9 index.theme.zip index.theme
# And I need to know where the file goes.
.

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#11 Post by RSH »

Sorry, my fault.

I thought you would see it, if i note it at the description of the attached file. It is not a .gz file. Just rename it (remove the .gz).

The file goes to /usr/share/icons/hicolor/ and there is another file (icon-theme.cache) in my System. I can not open this file.

Is GTK+ a GUI-Tool like GtkDialog? Where can i get this and can you tell me something about GTK+?
Attachments
image-2.jpg
(17.84 KiB) Downloaded 1495 times
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#12 Post by sunburnt »

Duh.......... I did not catch your note, sorry. Clever way of forcing your attachment!

GTK+ ( Gimp Tool Kit ) is the main windowing graphics used in Linux.
gtkdialog is a wrapper for GTK+, and a poor one I might add...
GTK+ was written for the Gimp graphical editor app.
It can also be used in WinBlows, it`s the most common GUI kit.
http://www.gtk.org/

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#13 Post by RSH »

I have downloaded the sources but compiling failed (as always)

Code: Select all

configure: error: Package requirements (glib-2.0 >= 2.31.20    atk >= 2.1.5    pango >= 1.29.0    cairo >= 1.10.0    cairo-gobject >= 1.10.0    gdk-pixbuf-2.0 >= 2.25.2) were not met:
Lot of stuff missing... :(
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#14 Post by sunburnt »

### I`m assuming that you`re trying to compile GTK+?
Puppy already has it, it`s what makes your graphical desktop...
All GUI Linuxes have it, or QT ( the other big graphical kit ).
There`s libgtkxxxx, libgdk, and others along with libpango and libcairo.
Last edited by sunburnt on Wed 02 May 2012, 18:56, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#15 Post by sunburnt »

I looked in /usr/share/icons/hicolor and both files are there!
index.theme and icon-theme.cache
So now I`m really puzzled about why your command is saying what it says.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#16 Post by sunburnt »

.
###>>> YESsssss! Got it to work! Thanks RHS.

I think I was using: gtk-update-icon-cache -f /usr/share/icons/hicolor
( Without the / at the end ).

Also my Puppy only has gtkdialog3, so 4 isn`t required.
.

Post Reply