Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 14:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary and Racy 5.3 final
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 12:05    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
rjbrewer wrote:

On the 945gm Latitude the fps jumped from 20fps to 300
fps.
Unfortunately, when I rebooted it wasn't possible to restart
x. May be related to running frugal as I don't have a hard drive
for that machine yet and I always use full installs if possible


Same here, and I use frugal installs.

Were you able to recover from the X problem?

I'd really like to know how such a system (say from a blacklisted i915) could be repaired without trashing the personal savefile and starting over.

Is it possible to un-blacklist a video module if you can't start X and you get a black screen with blinking cursor, and no key response.

I did try pfix=clean in the grub menu.lst stanza but that made no difference to the start up problem. Didn't try pfix=purge.

Seems like there might be a less extreme alternative means if you could boot to terminal and then load the blacklisted module, and then do an xwin to boot to X with module in place. Then use Bootmanager to un-blacklist the module. Then re-start.

But what pfix line boots to cursor, and what are the commands to load a module from console, say i915?

I'd like to just know this stuff in case of any similar future X problems.


Newer Intel graphic chips (900+) and goo' old Xorg-1.3.0 intel_drv.so from Puppy-4.3 don't play very well together .

Newer Xorg-1.7+ since Lupu should be fine with i915.ko and Xorg's driver intel(_drv.so) .

Blacklisting using the bootmanager adds to the modprobe configuration file used to autoload kernel drivers at boot time (/tmp/modprobe.conf) . Xorg itself seems to be capable to load drivers itself and won't care about /tmp/modprobe.conf . Former puppy modprobe-v3.6 seems to be patched to automatically obey /etc/i[modprobe.d]/[modprobe.conf]* blacklist DRIVERNAME entries , while it is not the default . To make modprobe command obey blacklist entries , modprobe has to be aliased in configuration files like "alias modprobe='modprobe -b'" in /etc/profile , same as already "ls" is aliased there .

To load i915 for example :
Code:
modprobe -v i915 modeset=0

or
Code:
modprobe -v i915 modeset=1

What modeset actually does is still not clear to me ...

There is also the insmod command, but it requires the full path/driver-file-name.extension :
Code:
insmod /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915.ko[.gz]


To remove a module :
Code:
modprobe -vr i915

or
Code:
rmmod i915
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 12:16    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:


Were you able to recover from the X problem?

I'd really like to know how such a system (say from a blacklisted i915) could be repaired without trashing the personal savefile and starting over.

Is it possible to un-blacklist a video module if you can't start X and you get a black screen with blinking cursor, and no key response.


Guess that's why constant backups are necessary with
frugal.

With full installs; I just pop in the cd, rerun the install, choose
upgrade instead of wipe, and it fixes any file problems
without destroying my setups.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 13:31    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Can you remove a .pet from the command line?

While I don't know about Racy 5.3, this worked from the text console in Puppy 4.3.1:
Code:
petget -packagename

Notice the minus sign before the name, and the lack of ".pet" after it.

(The opposite was not true: petget could not install from the text console in 4.3.1, it only downloaded the pet.)

vtpup wrote:
But what pfix line boots to cursor . . .

Code:
puppy pfix=nox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 14:24    Post subject:  

Thanks very much Karl Godt and npierce, that information is very very valuable to understand, and to have. I'm writing it in a little notebook I keep by the computer. I guess it would be a good idea to add all of the pfix commands there, too.

that -packagename is very cool......

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 11:19    Post subject:  

Possible bug -- just mentioning it here as a bug report -- I've raised a separate request for personal help on this in the regular User's forum.

Symptoms:

After a couple weeks of using Racy53, I'm suddenly getting many instances of a process called kworker. These use up processor resources to the point that the OS is inoperable a few seconds after X starts. I have to hard reset with the on-off button. Menu shutdown, Alt-Ctl-Del doesn't work. Can't open a terminal for poweroff, either. Well maybe if I could do it quick enough.....

The computer is listed in the sig below. This computer and Racy53 were working fine yesterday evening. I haven't installed any hardware or software since then, or made any changes at all. I did not have any hard shutdowns, or suspends before this occurrence. Now I have, of course.

The computer hardware seems to be fine, I am dual booted right now into Upup Precise to write this.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 12:22    Post subject:  

Haven't had such problems, googling revealed these :

https://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=250

http://lwn.net/Articles/403891/

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=blob;f=Documentation/workqueue.txt;h=01c513fac40ece66b73a1709f6df496b5aade8d2;hb=HEAD

The links are from one page ( in german ) with several additional likks to try :

http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/kworker-frisst-cpu/

The best possible solution seems to be
Code:
echo N >/sys/module/drm_kms_helper/parameters/poll

which may be related to your radeon? craphics chip/card .
Quote:
and permanent solution /etc/modprobe.d/local.conf

options drm_kms_helper poll=N

So we likely need to know the drivers which are loaded .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 13:15    Post subject:  

Thank you Karl. The problem is suddenly gone, but I would still like to try to pin it down if we can, anyway.

The only difference I can see between multiple attempts to start up this morning, and starting up now, is that I moved my physical location. I was at a coffeeshop this morning, and am home now, so I'm wondering if it is related to wireless connection processes.

My understanding now is that kworker processes are actually place holder processes for other processes. Possibly wireless was one of those.

In older kernels pprocess or top would list actual processes running, but now these are seen as kworker processes -- so it is a lot harder to tell what is actually causing the hang up.

I like the older system better where you could actually see what was going on and what the cause was.


Anyway, to answer your questions, Karl, I don't have Radeon graphics. It is a laptop with integrated graphics using Intel Second Generation Core Processor graphics.

To get a list of drivers loaded would I run modprobe -l ?

Thanks again.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 14:53    Post subject:  

No vetty , it was lsmod command , one of the very few commands without ARGV[S] Very Happy

If the list is very long , then maybe filter it by |grep "PATTERN"

btw my acer has died and i preferably wont use an acer again the next time .
My preferences are asus,gigabyte,elitegroup,dell,aoc,eizo ... ... ?
My preferences are full installations, also ... ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 15:38    Post subject:  

Code:
Module                  Size                 Used by
parport_pc                      19580   0
lp                                   5996    0
parport                           21043  2         parport_pc,lp
i915                                290754  2
drm_kms_helper              17982  1         i915
drm                                121018  3       i915,drm_kms_helper
i2c_algo_bit                     3556  1          i915
cpufreq_ondemand          4432  2
acpi_cpufreq                   4481  1
mperf                             787  1            acpi_cpufreq
fan                                 1714  0
snd_hda_codec_hdmi        16805  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek     203051  1
uvcvideo                         47297  0
videodev                         52792  1        uvcvideo
arc4                               962  2
ath9k                              62987  0
mac80211                       134600  1        ath9k
ath9k_common               1242  1             ath9k
ath9k_hw                       238866  2          ath9k,ath9k_common
ath                                10746  2           ath9k,ath9k_hw
cfg80211                        113680  3         ath9k,mac80211,ath
pcspkr                            1195  0
snd_hda_intel                  16395  0
snd_hda_codec                52722  3   snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep                     3730  1         snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss                  28135  0
snd_mixer_oss                10062  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                         47219  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy              915  0
snd_seq_oss                    18929  0
snd_seq_midi                    3280  0
atl1c                                23866  0
i2c_i801                            6154  0
i2c_core                            12704  6 i915,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit,videodev,i2c_i801
snd_rawmidi                     11899  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event           3596  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                            32450  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer                         11590  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device                 3509  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd                                  33474  13 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec, snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore                        3255  1 snd
snd_page_alloc                 4765  2         snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
shpchp                            18143  0
sparse_keymap                2056  0
rfkill                                 10068  1       cfg80211
intel_agp                          8065  1         i915
intel_gtt                            9446  3        i915,intel_agp
agpgart                           18222  3       drm,intel_agp,intel_gtt
wmi                                 5859  0
battery                             8251  0
thermal                           6066  0
video                               9504  1           i915
evdev                              5773  1
button                              3315  1          i915
processor                         20797  1       acpi_cpufreq
thermal_sys                      9477  4        fan,thermal,video,processor
hwmon                             961  1          thermal_sys
ac                                    2303  0
fuse                                 47724  0
aufs                                121827  47

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mobeus


Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2012, 10:40    Post subject: fontconfig missing in GTK  

fontconfig is absent in the GTK includes. Compiling with
Code:
 `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0`
errors with
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/i486-t2-linux-gnu/4.3.4/../../../../i486-t2-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lfontconfig

_________________
/root for the home team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 07 May 2012, 00:34    Post subject: remaster and remove builtin packages  

Have found two / three problems.

Remaster needs updating (thanks to mick) http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=623475#623475

Remove builtin packages has a problem with remaster still, see my thread http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=625638#625638 for details. I think this maybe needs barry's attention to sort out. Still has the ok/cancel problem though.

And a newly found one is that the default /root/.packages/woof-installed-packages has the DEV packages listed. Means they don't appear in PPM with the extra boxes ticked, even though not installed, so you can't install them from it.

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 07 May 2012, 09:20    Post subject:  

Okay I can confirm that the overloading of the processor I brought up earlier here occurs as a result of moving to a wireless location (local cafe) with a large number of wireless networks in the vicinity. It completely blocks the mouse button effectiveness, programs, including terminal can't be opened, and CTRL-ALT-DEL (or backspace) have no effect, and I have to hard shutdown with the reset button. I can open another version of Puppy frugal, and connect fine with the same computer, in the same location. For instance, I am writing this on Upup Precise in the same location right now. This issue is only happening in Racy 53. It absolutely cripples the computer within seconds of X starting.

When I return home (only a single wireless network) Racy works fine, and I can connect, and there is no excessive processor usage.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 08 May 2012, 14:03    Post subject:  

Refining the problem even further, I deleted the wireless profile for the cafe where the X start lock-up was occurring. That solved the problem when tested at that location. So something about that profile was causing the Puppy Network Wizard wireless manager to suddenly use all of the processor's capacity.

While this has solved my immediate problem, it's still a bug without a clear cause, and could happen again.

The kworker instances are probably just a symptom of what is going on with the wireless connection manager with a certain profile. Wish I knew what that is, but the profile was deleted.

If it happens again, I'd like to remove the profile but save it somewhere -- can someone tell me where the Puppy Network Wizard profiles are kept?

I'll post the profile here if I get similar behavior again.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jdz66

Joined: 09 May 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2012, 06:22    Post subject:  Window Setup is created for Puppy Linux 5.3 on 8 May,2012  

Laughing I have created Window Setup for Puppy Linux 5.3


You can download from following location.I have tested this setup on window 7. I am completely new to compilation.I have background of Apache/PHP/MYSQL.

http://www.mediafire.com/?rn75rcd37zlvhx3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 05:46    Post subject: Re: ANOUNCE: Nvidia drivers in SFS  

shinobar wrote:
nvidia-glx-sdl-295.33.sfs (UPDATE: 2012-04-06)
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/
For both Wary and Racy 5.3.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72405


Thanks for the info, I have posted about your work supporting nVidia:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02825

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1317s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]