Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 18:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 116 of 190 [2847 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1544
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 15:22    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
This assumes playdayz included my latest Broadcom components as in the other 005s. I have not checked on what he included in 3HD.

I don't think so. You will have to install the pet.


Chris, Richard, Larry

I haven't made a Broadcom wl pet for 3HD k2.6.37 as of yet I'm afraid.....the pets are very kernel dependent unfortunately

So there isn't a pet for Chris to install - sorry.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5481
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 15:38    Post subject:  

rerwin and others,

Talking about Broadcom B43 and problems.
Here is a poster that explains how it was fixed for him.
Different remedy for the problem.
Just wanted to make sure you had seen this.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77811

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 17:39    Post subject: Cofusion  

Bit of confusion on my part?

This is what I was running. lucilibre-001.005.iso

It has the base, do I need to do something special to activate Java First? As running base from the menu indicated no java. Therefore no wizards, and other items do nor work. Basic base functions. I can generate tables etc.

Did I miss something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4500
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 17:46    Post subject: Test 3 of your recent PUPs for JAVA includion  

This is what I get trying to check for JAVA in the system when I booted ALL 3 "puppy" ISO versions you have recently made available to the community. MaybeI am missing some obvious step. If I have, please direct me appropriately.

I booted the ISO via Live media and via Netboots. Each time after FirstRUN, I open a terminal and get the following:
Code:
sh-4.1# java
sh: java: command not found
sh-4.1#
I mean no disrespect by asking this, so please don't think I don't appreciate the effort you're doing.

If JAVA is to be added to the Libre-systems, why is it being 'buried" in the libreoffice directory, versus, makeing it available to all subsystems? Is there some logic to this that I am missing? No other OS does this, so why is this behavior necessary in Puppy?
JAVA adds services to a system for applications to reference and use.

LibreOFfice is NOT the only application that would exist in a given system that will need or use JAVA. As such, shouldn't we, PUPPY community, be making this susbsystem accessible to all applications?
Further, if this is an oversight, what should be done to automatically make JAVA available system-wide

Here to help

Even though this is a temporary circumvention in an earlier post, it is that...a temporary circumvention. We should expect a correction for system-wide use even after a save-session and reboot, if possible.

Thanks for any understanding
FirstRUN_lupu005-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   131.18 KB
 Viewed   3184 Time(s)

FirstRUN_lupu005-2.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 20:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
This is what I get trying to check for JAVA in the system when I booted ALL 3 "puppy" ISO versions you have recently made available to the community. MaybeI am missing some obvious step. If I have, please direct me appropriately.

I booted the ISO via Live media and via Netboots. Each time after FirstRUN, I open a terminal and get the following:
Code:
sh-4.1# java
sh: java: command not found
sh-4.1#

Yes, the java executable is not in the path. I will insert it next time when I know if it is better to put a shell file in /usr/bin or add /usr/java... to the path. I was interested only in Libre Office and the browsers--I am unaware of requests to run particular java programs so I didn't think of it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 20:07    Post subject: Re: Test 3 of your recent PUPs for JAVA includion  

gcmartin wrote:
sh-4.1# java
sh: java: command not found

I have reviewed the LupuPlusLibre-528.005-1.iso. There missing java environment stuff under /etc. This occurs when you load SFS and remaster. The remasterpup2 includes the files under /etc and /root which is installed by PET, but NOT from SFS. The encounter is to convert SFS to PET and install the PET, then remaster.

Attached the pet contains the java environment setting stuff under /etc. You need to reboot PC after installing the PET. Or, go down to the console, type 'exit', then 'xwin' to refresh the environment.

@jemimah, You need not convert the whole SFS to PET if you load the SFS plus install the PET attached.
EDIT: but still be better to convert the whole SFS because it leaves the record in the woof-installed-packages and under the builtin_files.
java-fix-LPL5.2.8.005-1.pet
Description  Boot the LupuPlusLibre-528.005, install the PET. Then, go down to the console, type 'exit', then 'xwin' to refresh the environment.
pet

 Download 
Filename  java-fix-LPL5.2.8.005-1.pet 
Filesize  691 Bytes 
Downloaded  514 Time(s) 

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Last edited by shinobar on Fri 27 Apr 2012, 20:21; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 20:10    Post subject: Re: Test 3 of your recent PUPs for JAVA includion  

Thank you shinobar for the explanation. I see what happened. I will make a new Lupu Plus Libre in a day or two.

shinobar wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
sh-4.1# java
sh: java: command not found

I have reviewed the LupuPlusLibre-528.005-1.iso. There missing java environment stuff under /etc. This occurs when you load SFS and remaster. The remasterpup2 includes the files under /etc and /root which is installed by PET, but NOT from SFS. The encounter is to convert SFS to PET and install the PET and then remaster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1177
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 20:43    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:


Quote:
I believe I (and others with Intel Sandybridge 6 Series /c200 chips) could get sound in Lupu 5.2.8 if

# cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.

Where is that please vtpup? Have you tested that?


I've come pretty close playdayz. Here's a record of what I've tried so far:

This whole troubleshooting procedure:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1iTlJ8BfqXUjaHO__TEdlkvuqB1WLOkGaudngc5SFLMI/edit?pli=1#bookmark=id.ox3shjww9fwf

Highlights from that:

Code:
sh-4.1# aplay -l
aplay: device_list:240: no soundcards found...

sh-4.1# echo "Sound cards recognized by the system:"; lspci -nn | grep --color=none '\[04[80][13]\]'; echo "Sound cards recognized by ALSA:"; lspci -nn | grep '\[04[80][13]\]' | while read line; do lspci -nnk | grep -A 3 '\[04[80][13]\]' | grep -e 'Kernel modules: ..*' -e '\[04[80][13]\]' | grep --color=none -F "$line"; done; echo "Sound cards recognized by ALSA, and activated:"; lspci -nn | grep '\[04[80][13]\]' | while read line; do lspci -nnk | grep -A 3 '\[04[80][13]\]' | grep -e 'Kernel drivers in use: ..*' -e '\[04[80][13]\]' | grep --color=none -F "$line"; done

Sound cards recognized by the system:
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1c20] (rev 05)
Sound cards recognized by ALSA:
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1c20] (rev 05)
Sound cards recognized by ALSA, and activated:
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1c20] (rev 05)

sh-4.1# aplay -l
aplay: device_list:240: no soundcards found...


That pretty much showed that it was a driver problem, So then I tried checking the version of asound in 3 distros where my soundcard works, results here:

Lupu 528 -v5 sound does not work:
Code:
sh-4.1# cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.21.


Racy 53 sound does work:
Code:
# cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.


Sulu sound does work:
Code:
sh-4.1# cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.


UPUP Precise sound does work:
Code:
# cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.


Okay so then I went here for a script to upgrade asound drivers:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1681577

And that went well up until compile time when the script complained that I didn't have complete kernel headers (even though I'd installed Devx, and kernel headers sfs.

So I got stuck there.

what do you think?

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 21:34    Post subject:  

JRE 1.6.31-1

A pet of shinobar's java sfs, added to PPM. ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/jre-1.6.31-1.pet

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Firefox-12-Lucid ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Firefox-12-Lucid.pet

Quickpet -> More Pets -> Update Lupu PPM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Apr 2012, 23:19    Post subject: Re: Test 3 of your recent PUPs for JAVA includion  

shinobar wrote:
I have reviewed the LupuPlusLibre-528.005-1.iso. There missing java environment stuff under /etc. This occurs when you load SFS and remaster. The remasterpup2 includes the files under /etc and /root which is installed by PET, but NOT from SFS. The encounter is to convert SFS to PET and install the PET, then remaster.
To make things easier for the user doing the remastering, we might make it a standard procedure to include the /root/.packages/(SFS name).files file in the SFS file itself. Then remasterpup2 will use it. Maybe it would be as simple as making the PET first, installing the PET, copying the /root/.packages/(SFS name).files file into /root/.packages of the directory defining the SFS, then making the SFS file with the .files file included The actual .pet could then be uninstalled and .pet file discarded.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 00:20    Post subject: Re: Test 3 of your recent PUPs for JAVA includion  

rerwin wrote:
we might make it a standard procedure to include the /root/.packages/(SFS name).files file in the SFS file itself.

Nice Razz Thank you for the information.
It would be smart if the dir2sfs script does so. Or, have someone already made it?

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 01:04    Post subject: Re: Test 3 of your recent PUPs for JAVA includion  

shinobar wrote:
It would be smart if the dir2sfs script does so. Or, have someone already made it?
In that case, the solution could be much simpler: Copy the code from whatever creates the .files file directly into dir2sfs, to make that file as part of the SFS process.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 02:47    Post subject:  

PD, shino,rerwin,mick:
I report this today on Saluki thread. Perhaps it will help you (even if it proves spurious in the event):
"Good news/bad news.
I have a FULL of v20 upgraded to 21 on one HD that reliably (so far!) shows the shutdown failure/looping back to desktop every time. It also retains this weird behaviour when transferred to newer and older boards, ie it is HW independent.
If one of the respected gurus would care to give me an exact and detailed recipe, I'd be happy to extract and forward files they consider relevant. Hopefully this can help squash this troublesome bug once and for all. I'd prefer to do this ASAP as I will be formatting this drive soon."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 08:14    Post subject:
Subject description: Shutdown delay
 

Lucid Puppy 5.2.8-005 has a serious shutdown delay problem on my AMD Athlon 2400 (single processor), frugal installation. Fortunately, I was able to track down the source of the problem.

With three external drives attached (residing on two different machines), shut down took 2 minutes 40 seconds! After manually unmounting the remote drives with Pnethood, shutdown took 12 seconds.

Of course, Pnethood takes a few seconds to rescan the network unless you leave it running in the background, but, if you have this problem, it will still save considerable time.

Alternatively, you can write a little shell script to unmount your drives, simply
Code:
#!/bin/sh

umount <local mount point>
umount <local mount point>
umount <local mount point>


You will have to close all programs using the remote drive first.

I have no idea whether this problem is related to the other shutdown problems discussed earlier in the forum. In any case, it does not occur in Wary 5.3 or Slack 5.3.2.7, which shut down normally on my machine. I seem to remember a similar delay with Puppy 4.3.1, but I never did find a solution back then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 10:05    Post subject: Re: shutdown delay  

Comparing lupu528-005 to wary 5.3, I see that lupu does not contain the recent (2/20/2012) fix for network share unmounting. However, lupuplus does have that fix. For the non-plus lupus, please install patch-8 on page 105:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620542#620542
because that also contains the fix.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 116 of 190 [2847 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1522s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0425s) ][ GZIP on ]