Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 23:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Puppi Raspberry Pi Hardware
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 31 [455 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 02:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
Rapberry Pi's are being offered on ebay starting at £100


Sharks. Rolling Eyes
Pi's are priceless and worth every penny.

Quote:
Lobster, how did you sort the HDMI problem?

4 for £5 on ebay (including delivery)
there was no problem with them - working fine

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Mon 16 Apr 2012, 04:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 02:33    Post subject:  

Quote:
Happy for you, Lobster, and Iguleder, Pemasu and company will be happy, too that you are getting Squeeze'd.


Have not yet played with Squeeze
but boot up
is
login pi
password raspberry
startx
for desktop

Leaving that for now
- straight to desktop not a priority.

I am thinking very much of doing documentation here on the forum
or more likely here
http://puppylinux.info/topic/arm-puppy

Thanks for the Pussy info
I was really hoping we might have a Qemu ISO
. . . having me as a developer, is my last choice Embarassed

I'll be doing my best to prepare our smarter dogs.
Early batches of Pi may be coming through the letter box this morning
If so . . . let us know

The speed issue:
Midori running slow - but connection speed is often more of an issue - so not to worry.
For those delving into the dark arts (aka programming) this is spot on.

My next tasks are to explore if I can write a bash script to download (apt-get mtpaint) Puppy essentials.

I also need to know how to change, output or remaster a modified Squeeze.
Any info on that welcome

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 02:53    Post subject:  

gonna be grateful for any help developing this page:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/PuppySchoolRaspberryPi

the PARM page is for Puppy on ARM
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/PARM

New one is for Puppy specifically on Rpi

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 04:50    Post subject:  

Sausages and lemons [Lobsterian cussing/swearing]
Just checked out the ipad power supply again . . .

It has a USB and I have the USB to micro SD cable
it is rated as 5.1v and 2.1A

I thought it was 10v - I am sure I checked it out on the Apple site
- oh well, time to up medication to the red pills (only thing is I imagined those pills too) Wink
I am told that 5.1v is acceptable for the Raspberry?
2.1A would be good.
Would have saved £6 for power supply yesterday
Would 5.1v caramelize the raspberry?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 07:46    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
this is what I put in
Code:
..../sdc1

That should be sdc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 08:24    Post subject:  

You mean I was only out by 1? Embarassed

I used your suggestion rcrsn51
You are right Cool
It worked and I was able to install to a 2GB SD card from Puppy and boot from that. Very Happy

Why is it displaying sdc1 on screen (the parameter I used) and yet sdc is the correct input?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 08:30    Post subject:  

In Debian Squeeze
I need to be su to use apt-get or aptitude

Tried return (no password)
raspberry (it should be this surely)
and suse (I think that was for the previous debian not sure why)

None of those work - got to find the Squeeze password Rolling Eyes
Sugarpuffs and lemons [more cussing from the Lobsterian depths]

Any ideas/clues?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 08:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
Why is it displaying sdc1 on screen

Because the current structure on the card has one partition, which Puppy sees as sdc1.

But the dd command will write a new structure onto the card that contains several partitions. So dd must copy the image to the card starting at its root location - sdc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 08:48    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:


Why is it displaying sdc1 on screen (the parameter I used) and yet sdc is the correct input?
from the previous post from pussy
Quote:
The syntax for using dd to image a drive is:

dd if=<filename.img> of=/dev/sdX

Where <filename> is the USB image filename and the X in the /dev/sdX is the drive letter. Note you must specify the drive
NOT the partition on the drive (ie. /dev/sda not /dev/sda1) this is because the .img file contains partition info already.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antiloquax


Joined: 27 Jan 2012
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 15:51    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
In Debian Squeeze
I need to be su to use apt-get or aptitude

Tried return (no password)
raspberry (it should be this surely)
and suse (I think that was for the previous debian not sure why)


sudo passwd

Then you can set root password.
Smile

_________________
My System:Arch-Arm on RPi!
"RacyPy" puplet on Toshiba Tecra 8200. PIII, 256 MB RAM.
RaspberryPy: Lobster and I blog about the RPi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 18:04    Post subject:  

Thanks guys this is the procedure I successfully used
to get mtpaint running.
Did not want to change the password.
There are quite a few terminals in Squeeze and I eventually used the first one available 'Lxterminal'

sudo su
(password = raspberry)
apt-get update
apt-get install mtpaint

mtpaint (as an example)
can then be run from the terminal

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Wed 09 May 2012, 02:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 04:55    Post subject:  

im glad that the Pi has analogue video output (i can use my TV!!) and USB port and a proper ethernet connector.

What springs to mind here is the potential to create a linux gaming platform similar to a console like the Xbox or PS2 etc. Consoles in the past have always had sucky CPU and RAM but good video chip, just like the Rasp Pi.
The Rasp Pi will be shipping with a case soon so it will even kind of look like a console.

after creating a small server / console pussy linux for this device, i will proceed to see just what selection of gaming software runs well on it and then release an OS that has the best ones all installed and working.

I have one of these thingies ordered and now its just a matter of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 05:35    Post subject:  

sickgut Cool
hope you are not stressing.

I know about stress. My adrenals are maxed out just because a bit of hardware was doing strange things . . .

Basically the 5v 1000mA PSU does not have enough oomph (a technical term) to run the keyboard from the hub . . .
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/absolute-beginners/squeezzzzzzzzzz-keyboard/#p65210
Bless my whiskers

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 07:59    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
sickgut Cool
hope you are not stressing.

I know about stress. My adrenals are maxed out just because a bit of hardware was doing strange things . . .

Basically the 5v 1000mA PSU does not have enough oomph (a technical term) to run the keyboard from the hub . . .
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/absolute-beginners/squeezzzzzzzzzz-keyboard/#p65210
Bless my whiskers


i seen a youtube vid showing the user is: pi and the pass is: raspberry

yes this is lame. WTF? would have made more sense to have user raspberry and pass pi.

Thanks for the heads up bud, i suspect that a usb hub that is powered will sort the problem out.

For the benefit of those reading the forum here yes there are two types of USB hubs. The normal type is non powered, its just a USB splitter kind of thing that turns one usb port into 4 or however many.

The second type is the powered type, its a usb splitter but also with its own power supply. These are more expensive ($14 compared to $4 on ebay for example)... but let you run USB devices without draining power from your motherboard.

I actually ran into this problem with my desktop computer believe it or not. Living in a very humid environment degrades the power supply gradually and after 10 years the 12 volt rails where supplying 11.5v and the 5 volt rails 4.8 volt and the 3.3 motherboard/ cpu voltage to 3.2v.....
when it was new, it supplied voltages slightly above the rating, now its below. When i attached an external 2.5" usb portable hdd with no separate power supply it would run fine but after a day or two it would error out and the hdd would go missing from the OS and it results in a reboot, when i attached another hdd like this then this issue happend every couple of hours and my usb mouse was spasmotic and would just switch off and switch back on all the time due to not enough power.

after buying a powered usb hub and running the mouse and hdd's from it, everythings fine and reliable again.

Personally i think people are better off with separate power for usb attachments than buying a more beefy power adaptor to run the rasp from to do the same thing.

Hope you get it sorted lobbie

(ps. i spose yall could get around the problem by running wireless attachments rather than normal wired ones as they usually have their own power via batteries etc. I personally hate anything wireless. The bible prophecy says wireless tech is the 666 devil. No it doesnt but i just like to say stuff like that to make wireless things to sound bad. I just dont think its healthy to have a microwave transmitter near you all day.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 08:11    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
Lobster wrote:


Why is it displaying sdc1 on screen (the parameter I used) and yet sdc is the correct input?
from the previous post from pussy
Quote:
The syntax for using dd to image a drive is:

dd if=<filename.img> of=/dev/sdX

Where <filename> is the USB image filename and the X in the /dev/sdX is the drive letter. Note you must specify the drive
NOT the partition on the drive (ie. /dev/sda not /dev/sda1) this is because the .img file contains partition info already.



dd and nano are the 2 greatest apps for linux of all time, i use:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdc

on my usb stick every few days just because i can
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 31 [455 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1061s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0171s) ][ GZIP on ]