Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 04:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Polarpup-005 with Qt4-4.8.0 and Gstreamer libs inbuild
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 32 of 34 [498 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 09:08    Post subject:  

Could you post the /etc/acpi/sleep.sh script content.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 12:26    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Could you post the /etc/acpi/sleep.sh script content.


Here it is :
#!/bin/bash

[ -e /tmp/suspend ] && exit
touch /tmp/suspend

sleep .2

PID=`ps -e |grep "sleep.sh$" |sort -n|head -n 1|cut -f1 -d\ `
[ $$ != $PID ] && exit


which acpitool
if [[ $? != 0 ]] ;then
notify-send "You Need to Install Acpitool to Enable Suspend" -u critical -i dialog-error
else
notify-send "Suspending to RAM" -i xscreensaver
/usr/local/Frisbee/disconnect
rfkill unblock all
acpitool -s
sleep 2
acpitool -a |grep on-line
if [[ $? == 0 ]] ; then
/etc/acpi/performance.sh
else
/etc/acpi/powersave.sh
fi

sleep 2
/usr/local/Frisbee/connect


fi


rm /tmp/suspend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 13:11    Post subject:  

I believe it is that notify-send which gives hiccup. So try this version which is without it. Just replace the code with the code below and try....
Code:
#!/bin/bash

[ -e /tmp/suspend ] && exit
touch /tmp/suspend

sleep .2

# do not suspend at shutdown proccess
PS=$(ps)
echo "$PS"| grep -q "sh[ ].*poweroff" && exit

PID=`ps -e |grep "sleep.sh$" |sort -n|head -n 1|cut -f1 -d\ `
[ $$ != $PID ] && exit

        /usr/local/Frisbee/disconnect
        rfkill unblock all
        acpitool -s
        sleep 2
        acpitool -a |grep on-line
        if [[ $? == 0 ]] ; then
                /etc/acpi/performance.sh
        else
                /etc/acpi/powersave.sh
        fi
    sleep 2       
        /usr/local/Frisbee/connect
       
rm /tmp/suspend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 13:18    Post subject:  

And here is my previously created fixed package. I suppose it is still valid. This pet replaces those /etc/acpi files which needs to be replaced.
etc-acpi-scripts-fix-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  etc-acpi-scripts-fix-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  1.44 KB 
Downloaded  227 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 14:04    Post subject:  

Pemasu:
Thanks! It now works OK. However, on resume, although Frisbee connection establishes, the Frisbee icon on the system try remains as non-connected. That is two monitors icon instead of a circle. This will switch to a circle by just clicking on the Frisbee icon, and exiting the ensuing Frisbee dialogue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2012, 15:02    Post subject:  

I will boot tomorrow Polarpup and check the proper syntax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hoven

Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 08:41    Post subject:  

Are there nouveau or nvidia drivers that can be installed for Polarpup or is this kernel version not supported?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 09:15    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I will boot tomorrow Polarpup and check the proper syntax.

Pemasu:
The audio in Libre Office Impress does not work despite all gstreamer dependencies avaiable. This used to function perfect in my prior installation. This should be checked as well.
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 05:31    Post subject:  

I did have fairly bad cascade of hazards. I did move my laptop linux hdd content to my development 1 Tb usb hdd so that I had partition for full install experiments. It was meant to be temporary solution for couple of days. I did find a solution to dpup full install frozen usb mouse and I used the full install to create the next fixed dpup exprimo. During that woof process...in the middle of devx sfs creation by woof script the usb hdd decided to die. The reading head broke and I got only click...click...click from it. No way to get it recognized as usb hdd anymore.....I didnt lose everything but I did lose all my Polarpup work...the woof used for it.
I have now spent 3 days....evenings...nights to get my dpup woof stuff back in condition. I am now almost there. Probably I will need to replace package here and there...but I have now ready platform for it. I did lose my kernel-kit but I have built it back for my kernel needs. I didnt lose my qt4 stuff, they were safe in other location.

But my work to create next Polarpup is gone and also all my previous builds. Due to that temporary moving of my linux partition content to that usb hdd. There is no way back. I just dont have time to start again with Polarpup. I do have working qt4 environment with dpup and I am going to use it and compile slowly more apps for it. Latest was Stellarium.

I might-could create an updated remastered Polarpup with some fixes though but that wouldnt be new build with new woof. More or less quick update by updating Firefox....some othe stuff. But...not sure yet. I will be quit busy once again with my other activities.

I can check the gstreamer - Libreoffice sound problem....but I would need sample file to play with. I cant debug the problem without having test material.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 09:56    Post subject:  

Pemasu:
Sorry for what has happened! It is unfortunate because as I had indicated before in this thread Polar005 was a gem for me and my Thinkpad R60 laptop. It was functioning perfect before I accidentally messed up with it and had to reinstall it when all these new glitches started. I feel sorry about it and will miss it.
I have attached a nice pps slide show with a nice audio for you to enjoy and test the Libre Office Impress if you get to that point.
Thanks!
Edited:
I had problem with uploading of attachment. Several times I went through the process of attaching the file and submitting it. Every time I got the error message "Tried to upload an empty file" I was not able to resolve this issue. Tell me how to attach it and I will gladly do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 10:02    Post subject:  

There is 2 Mb limit in attachments. The error message sounds like too big file. Can you compress it more. tar.gz should be accepted here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 12:42    Post subject:  

OK.
The file I wanted originally sent was about 2.9 MB. After compression by zip and tar.zip it turned to be 2.7. So, I found another file which is much smaller (1.3 MB)and has music embedded in it. Enjoy!
Dat_is_pas_kunst.pps .tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Dat_is_pas_kunst.pps .tar.gz 
Filesize  1.2 MB 
Downloaded  209 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 14:24    Post subject:  

I did download pristine Polarpup-005 and installed it as frugal install, booted it and then I did sfs_load LibreOffice-3.5.0. And your uploaded .pps played music on the background when I clicked ahead of those nice stick building pics.

So...something is wrong with your setup..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 14:45    Post subject:  

Where is this pristine Polarpup005 located at? I am willing to redownload and retry it again.
I s it the one posted on page 1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 16:05    Post subject:  

Yes. I did download that one and then I sfs_loaded LibreOffice and then tested your .pps and it worked oob.
I didnt install any gstreamer packages because I should have fairly extensive set of them preinstalled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 34 [498 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0827s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0139s) ][ GZIP on ]