Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 07:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
battery use remaining on laptop (solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
Justin

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2006, 09:50    Post subject:  battery use remaining on laptop (solved)  

Is there a way to monitor battery use when running Puppy on a laptop?
Last edited by Justin on Wed 16 Aug 2006, 17:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Runemaster


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 180
Location: Albany, GA U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2006, 10:52    Post subject: should have it  

Well when I boot puppy on my lappy it has the little power plug in the "system tray" as they would call it in Windows an i can just click on the and it should show it if it doesnt come up on your just try browsing around for it in the utilities or sumthing if not just try lookin at the extra software on the site here but it should already have it if you're running 2.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
violetdream

Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2006, 13:40    Post subject:  

What? I've never seen a power plug in the system tray on several systems.

Try the utility wmpower, just type it into a console. You might also have to modprobe battery before you do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkerror05


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 277
Location: Rochester NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2006, 13:41    Post subject:  

type in wmpower into rxvt and you will get a program for monitoring your battery.
_________________
-darkerror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Runemaster


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 180
Location: Albany, GA U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2006, 17:41    Post subject:  

Trust me violetdream, if you are running on a laptop just about any OS you use will have the battery information in the systray. You may have over-looked it is all. It may not be an icon such as a power plug but it will have something there presenting battery information, like in XP it has a lil tiny battery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
darkerror05


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 277
Location: Rochester NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2006, 18:09    Post subject:  

runemaster: im on a ibm thinkpad. There is NO battery icon. It may just be your laptop.
_________________
-darkerror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Justin

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 09:28    Post subject:  

Thank you! That's better than I was expecting..a little iconlike window you can keep in the corner all the time, just the thing.

This would be a good item to put in the sticky index of howtos at the top of this forum--most laptop users would want to know this.
(I don't have anything in the tray either!)

Notes:

I did have to type "modprobe battery" first in the terminal to get things started, as you said.

You can right-click on the window and choose Layer, then Top and it will stay on top of everything. Or you can put it on a second desktop and switch over when you want to check, or right click and choose 'sticky' to make it appear in either desktop. The terminal window has to be minimized in the taskbar.

I found the manual at
http://wmpower.sourceforge.net/manual.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Justin

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 10:42    Post subject:  

A few followup questions:

I don't have a readout for fan or PC temperature--is there a way to get wmpower to recognize these? (I figure the answer is likely to be no since I was never able to find a fan/temp monitor that worked for my old failing desktop).

It takes at least three steps to set up wmpower: modprobing, making the window sticky or whatever and moving the terminal window, and positioning it on the screen. Is there some way to automate all or some of that, or even have appear automatically on boot in the corner I want it?

I haven't looked into desktop icon making, but can it be run without having a terminal window open?

What exactly is the countdown timer timing? I thought it was time left on the battery but now I'm not so sure...

Thanks again for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 17:01    Post subject: Modprobe battery  

Hmmm. I tried modprobe battery and it said that it couldn't find a battery to insert. Strange I think. I am already using the battery. I tried wmpower as well, and also got an error. I brought this up a long time ago on the forum and nobody responded, but I figured out how to use the battery monitor in my ThinkPad 570E to keep me up to date with an LED on the base of the monitor. It took a little getting used to and it isn't as fancy but it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Runemaster


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 180
Location: Albany, GA U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 23:28    Post subject: oops!  

Sry guys I forgot that i go back and forth between knoppix and puppy sry it was knoppix that i was talking about, it atoumatically recognizes that you're on a laptop. sry for the false info. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2006, 23:53    Post subject:  

Ah, now it begins to make sense. Smile

I have a Thinkpad A21m. I too have to "modprobe battery" first to get wmpower to work, and it also does not give fan or temp readings. I'm guessing I need ACPI working in the kernel to get this.

I was reading the linux Thinkpad wiki for my machine, and it looks as if to get ACPI running I need to have compiled the driver for it ("ibm-acpi") into the kernel. Of course it is unlikely ibm-acpi is compiled into the Puppy kernel Wink and indeed when I tried doing a "force" of ACPI with a boot flag it acted as if it had no idea what I was talking about.

I may be interpreting this incorrectly, but I wouldn't be surprised if very few of us will be able to see such things as fan and temp values, unless there exists a generic driver that 1) was compiled into the kernel and 2) a significant percentage of manufacturers used. But us Thinkpad guys will have to live without, it seems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EZ4arabs

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2006, 02:28    Post subject:  

John Doe posted this:
John Doe wrote:
Try this:

#!/bin/sh
modprobe ac
modprobe battery
modprobe fan
modprobe processor
modprobe thermal
#/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THM0/polling_frequency
wmpower -no-meddling &

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=61860#61860

if you need a more complex utility and know how to compile it for puppy try this:
http://wmsensormon.sourceforge.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Justin

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2006, 10:27    Post subject:  

Thank you for the script--but I'll need some help running it or setting it to run at boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2006, 12:53    Post subject:  

You can put it in /etc/rc.d/rc.local - that script is generally where you add things you want at boot. I think. Smile

Thanks for pointing that out EZ. It got me the temp at least. The fan still says "-" (I suppose if working it's supposed to say "0" or "1"). But, I guess I really don't need this application to tell me if the fan is on. I can just use my ears. Laughing

I suppose this means there is a generic ACPI driver in Puppy, and it supports at least some Thinkpad ACPI functions.

I think the countdown timer is the time left on the battery, but sometimes you are not going to get meaningful numbers (later revisions of wmpower say that it is calculated "directly" - whatever that means - if not available otherwise). BTW this is a pretty old revision of wmpower, 0.3.1. The latest is 0.4.2, which has for example a -geometry argument. Although I was not able to find details on it, this might give control over applet placement and layer when invoked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0638s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]