Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 04:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.1.10.3 SMP multicore optimized version
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 68 of 70 [1047 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 66, 67, 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2012, 15:11    Post subject:  

Thank you Jakfish of the report. Good to know. And thank you of your extensive testing and work for improving the distro. As you and all the other. My distro evolves based on requests, fixes, suggestions and hacks by the users.
That makes this woof building satisfactory...and the fact that Dpup works as my main OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2012, 17:37    Post subject:  

This should make Jim1911 happy. Openbibleviewer-0.7.0.
It needs qt4-libs, for example basic and clucene.

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/QT-4.8.0-dpup/libs/qt-4.8.0-basic-with-qtwebkit-dpup.pet

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/QT-4.8.0-dpup/bible/clucene-2.3.3.4.pet

http://qt-apps.org/content/show.php?content=123227
openbibleviewer-0.7.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  openbibleviewer-0.7.0.pet 
Filesize  1 MB 
Downloaded  250 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 05 Apr 2012, 10:25    Post subject: PupShutdown-timeout-20120405  

pemasu wrote:
I have tested now PupShutdown-timeout-20120404.pet. It seems that from script /etc/acpi/actions/acpi_poweroff.sh the part: && P="/usr/local/PupShutdown/PupShutdown $TIMELIMIT"
does not carry the TIMELIMIT value to the modified script: /usr/local/PupShutdown/PupShutdown.

Right. Was missing:
Code:
TIMEOUT=$1   # 5Apr2012 shinobar: timeout# 5Apr2012 shinobar: timeout
...
TIMEOUT=$(echo $TIMEOUT| tr -dc '0-9-')
[ "$TIMEOUT" ] || TIMEOUT=0

But 60s may be too short. Better to be 120s?
Anyway it would be nice if the time limit is shown on the dialog... Wink
PupShutdown-timeout-20120405.pet
Description  fixed was shutdown immediately no matter the timeout parameter
pet

 Download 
Filename  PupShutdown-timeout-20120405.pet 
Filesize  2.18 KB 
Downloaded  245 Time(s) 

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 05 Apr 2012, 12:10    Post subject:  

Now the PupShutdown works perfect. I can include the modified scripts to the next version.
About information of the shutdown timelimit default in PupShutdown would be great. It would be Dpup Exprimo speciality atm...but maybe Radky would be interested to think about it.... Very Happy

Or if there would be the default timelimit shown when you press the shutdown button. Which ever way...it would be good to have.....

Oh yeah...the wmpoweroff, wmexit and wmreboot needs killall enlightenment row. It might be that I have missed them in some of the scripts during the updates but now I noticed the need and remind of it :
snippet.....
Code:

PSPEFD="`ps -C pup_event_frontend_d | grep 'pup_event_front' | grep -v 'defunct'`"
done
sleep 0.2

killall enlightenment

sync

Last edited by pemasu on Thu 05 Apr 2012, 17:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 05 Apr 2012, 14:24    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
Tman wrote:
jim3630 wrote:

only issue is firefox when reopen gives error msg ff is already running.


Jim, try modifying /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to the following:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
yaf-splash -bg red -fg white -placement center -timeout 2 -text "loading.." &
killall firefox 2> /dev/null
sleep 0.3
exec /usr/lib/firefox/run-mozilla.sh /usr/lib/firefox/firefox "$@"


And then create an icon entry for defaultbrowser, or just type it in the terminal.


Tman thanks for the help. on this startup of ff and closing problem is gone.
this has happened in the past with other pups but don't recall why occurred.
will keep your fix saved away.


Tman
after some time without the problem today it returned and applying your fix it worked!

any idea why this happens?
thanks again for the fix.
------------
seems only one having this problem. like to know what am doing wrong here.

pemasu

do you know if this is something I did or your pup?

Last edited by jim3630 on Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 05 Apr 2012, 14:33    Post subject:  

Playdayz first announced Lucid Puppy way to get application help button to work for Abiword...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77295

Then Jemimah showed the way to patch glib. And 01micko confirmed it works. So I gave it a try.
I am not sure if it would have needed special ./configure. I just configured it with ./configure --prefix=/usr
If it needs puppy spesific options....I recompile it. But here it is for testing.

What you get. Working Help > Help Contents to some applications more. I tested that Abiword Help started to work.
I dont care much of working Help inside the app.

But...Now the applications File > Open File shows the mounted drives in the panel and that is nice addition.

Test this glib first with pfix=ram or with dedicated save file. I havent tested this yet long.... and my configure might need more tuning.
glib-2.24.2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  glib-2.24.2.pet 
Filesize  768.5 KB 
Downloaded  269 Time(s) 
glib_DEV-2.24.2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  glib_DEV-2.24.2.pet 
Filesize  178.19 KB 
Downloaded  413 Time(s) 
glib_NLS-2.24.2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  glib_NLS-2.24.2.pet 
Filesize  971.62 KB 
Downloaded  262 Time(s) 
glib_DOC-2.24.2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  glib_DOC-2.24.2.pet 
Filesize  1.35 MB 
Downloaded  237 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 05 Apr 2012, 15:39    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Playdayz first announced Lucid Puppy way to get application help button to work for Abiword...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77295

Then Jemimah showed the way to patch glib. And 01micko confirmed it works. So I gave it a try.
I am not sure if it would have needed special ./configure. I just configured it with ./configure --prefix=/usr
If it needs puppy spesific options....I recompile it. But here it is for testing.

What you get. Working Help > Help Contents to some applications more. I tested that Abiword Help started to work.
I dont care much of working Help inside the app.

But...Now the applications File > Open File shows the mounted drives in the panel and that is nice addition.

Test this glib first with pfix=ram or with dedicated save file. I havent tested this yet long.... and my configure might need more tuning.


installed glib and abiword during brief test seems to work as advertized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 03:02    Post subject:  

PupShutdown with Powerbutton popup and separate external 4s popup how long it takes before autoshut down starts. Looks great.

Thank you Radky and thank you Shinobar for the initiative. Happy Eastern.
PupShutdown-timeout-popup-06042012.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  PupShutdown-timeout-popup-06042012.pet 
Filesize  2.23 KB 
Downloaded  255 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 06:58    Post subject:  

I gave a go for Rox right click pics scaling and autoadjusting contrast-color-gamma.
The pet gives you scale to 640-800-1024-autoadjust Rox right clicks for jpeg, png and bmp.
You can select several pics and mass scale them. The scaled and autoadjusted pics are stored in /root-my-documents/images...under separate subfolders.
Scale to 640...800...1024 uses quality compression 90 % and autoadjust 100% quality.
I compiled aaphoto to do the real work.

The base of this pet is from this thread. I have reconfigured and renamed the stuff...but the basic idea came from that thread. Thank you Smokey01 and Jrb.

http://208.109.22.214/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=584982&sid=41951aa720b1640defe6d09aa137db99

You get also aaphoto commandline tool. I liked that easy autoadjusting feature with Rox right click.
Quote:
Auto Adjust Photo tries to give a solution for the automatic color correction of photos. This means setting the contrast, color balance, saturation and gamma levels of the image by analization.

http://log69.com/aaphoto_en.html

Yep...I know there is pics2cale by Vovchick and scale2jpg by rcrsn51. So why did you bring up this third opportunity ?
Because I had it in Snow Puppy and I used aaphoto in it and I thought those previous useful Rox right clicks should not be abandoned. So I compiled latest aaphoto and recreated the Rox right click framework and added autoadjust feature which does not loose the pic quality. So you can first autoadjust and then scale if there is need...or use aaphoto from commandline...or install pics2scale or scale2jpg.

Or install this pet and use it.
scale-autocorrect-images-rox-right-click-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  scale-autocorrect-images-rox-right-click-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  37.89 KB 
Downloaded  278 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:20    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
Tman wrote:
jim3630 wrote:

only issue is firefox when reopen gives error msg ff is already running.


Jim, try modifying /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to the following:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
yaf-splash -bg red -fg white -placement center -timeout 2 -text "loading.." &
killall firefox 2> /dev/null
sleep 0.3
exec /usr/lib/firefox/run-mozilla.sh /usr/lib/firefox/firefox "$@"


And then create an icon entry for defaultbrowser, or just type it in the terminal.


Tman thanks for the help. on this startup of ff and closing problem is gone.
this has happened in the past with other pups but don't recall why occurred.
will keep your fix saved away.


Tman
after some time without the problem today it returned and applying your fix it worked!

any idea why this happens?
thanks again for the fix.
------------
seems only one having this problem. like to know what am doing wrong here.


pemasu

do you know if this is something I did or your pup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:28    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:

Tman
after some time without the problem today it returned and applying your fix it worked!

any idea why this happens?
thanks again for the fix.


Hi Jim,

You're not doing anything wrong...it's a Firefox issue and it is not limited to just Firefox in linux. My work computer has Firefox11 in Windows XP and when I close Firefox and try to reopen it again immediately, I get a pop-up that says Firefox didn't close properly. It appears to me that the main reason is that Firefox is taking its sweet time unloading things after you close it.

Sorry for the slow response, I have not been on this forum as much lately. Too much work Sad ... and I've been trying out other distros as well.

Last edited by Tman on Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:34; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:29    Post subject:  

I have had zero problems with Firefox...which does not exclude Exprimo level problem. But atm...I dont know. None other so far has posted about your kind problem with Firefox. I havent had ever need to kill firefox process.

Edit. Saw above post just know. Of course there could be something which delays firefox shutting down. Dunno. Just brainstorming while translating with MoManager the menu to finnish.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:46    Post subject:  

Tman wrote:
jim3630 wrote:

Tman
after some time without the problem today it returned and applying your fix it worked!

any idea why this happens?
thanks again for the fix.


Hi Jim,

You're not doing anything wrong...it's a Firefox issue and it is not limited to just Firefox in linux. My work computer has Firefox11 in Windows XP and when I close Firefox and try to reopen it again immediately, I get a pop-up that says Firefox didn't close properly. It appears to me that the main reason is that Firefox is taking its sweet time unloading things after you close it.

Sorry for the slow response, I have not been on this forum as much lately. Too much work Sad ... and I've been trying out other distros as well.


Tman
interesting it happens on windoz as well. thanks again for the fix and what out for that work thing. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 09:55    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I have had zero problems with Firefox...which does not exclude Exprimo level problem. But atm...I dont know. None other so far has posted about your kind problem with Firefox. I havent had ever need to kill firefox process.

Edit. Saw above post just know. Of course there could be something which delays firefox shutting down. Dunno. Just brainstorming while translating with MoManager the menu to finnish.


pemasu

lately have been using ff almost exclusively without problems. there was a thread i found last time this happened months maybe a year ago. will keep looking for that thread but iirc consensus was a ff problem rather than user induced problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 757

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 17:13    Post subject:  

Running a current version of Thunderbird, in dpup exprimo, I often get the same sort of firefox error ("Thunderbird is already running, please...")

I just have to wait or restart X--I can not replicate this problem with a Thunderbird/Win7 setup.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 68 of 70 [1047 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 66, 67, 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1237s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0228s) ][ GZIP on ]