Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 23:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary/Racy 5.3RC2 (5.2.91)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 20 [293 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2012, 14:05    Post subject: ATI Radeon HD6000 video card. Built-in driver is no go
Subject description: Problems with compiling proprietary Catalyst driver
 

Running Racy 5.2.90RC with ATI Radeon HD6050

The radeon driver included with this Puppy does not seem to work with the 3.0.17 kernel

I tried to compile the proprietary driver from the AMD web page. This compile fails with a DKMS error. The DKMS version that I installed was a DEB from Debian testing. I have a kernel source pet for k3.0.17 PAE installed - maybe this is a problem as well -it's the nearest kernel source version I could find. The DEVX used is the one for Racy 5.2.90

How can I set up the correct build environment for this driver?

I have got video to run using the VESA driver.
_________________

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2012, 15:12    Post subject: Re: ATI Radeon HD6000 video card. Built-in driver is no go
Subject description: Problems with compiling proprietary Catalyst driver
 

tronkel wrote:

I tried to compile the proprietary driver from the AMD web page. This compile fails with a DKMS error. The DKMS version that I installed was a DEB from Debian testing. I have a kernel source pet for k3.0.17 PAE installed - maybe this is a problem as well -it's the nearest kernel source version I could find. The DEVX used is the one for Racy 5.2.90


I was able to compile the amd-driver-installer-12-2-x86.x86_64.run for
my hd4200.
I opened the terminal and ran "sh
amd-driver-installer-12-2-x86.x86_64.run", when it finished compiling
I did the "aticonfig --initial" command and then exited the terminal
and rebooted.

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11554 Compatibility Profile Context
sfsload.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   17.49 KB
 Viewed   917 Time(s)

sfsload.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2012, 15:56    Post subject:  

Thanks Billtoo - the link to the kernel source is here:

http://bkhome.org/sources/kernel-3.0.17/

Compiled without error this time.

"report-video" command still shows VESA as the driver though. Other people have also found this to be the case as well. Uhu I see why - the xorg.conf that got updated by the "aticonfig --initial" command now has two device sections in it - one of which shows the vesa driver.

This looks like a bug in the proprietary driver then?

Quote:
Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
### <percent>: "<f>%"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "DefaultRefresh" # [<bool>]
#Option "ModeSetClearScreen" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "vesa"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection


Video appears to work though.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2012, 16:10    Post subject:  

tronkel wrote:
Thanks Billtoo - the link to the kernel source is here:

http://bkhome.org/sources/kernel-3.0.17/

Compiled without error this time.

"report-video" command still shows VESA as the driver though. Other people have also found this to be the case as well. Uhu I see why - the xorg.conf that got updated by the "aticonfig --initial" command now has two device sections in it - one of which shows the vesa driver.

This looks like a bug in the proprietary driver then?

Quote:
Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
### <percent>: "<f>%"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "DefaultRefresh" # [<bool>]
#Option "ModeSetClearScreen" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "vesa"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection


Video appears to work though.


Yes, report video info is wrong, hardware acceleration is working though because google earth and other programs (games Smile ) that need it work fine.
EDIT: I should say some games work, nexuiz works, others like openarena that would work in earlier releases of wary don't for some reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mdisaster2

Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2012, 17:36    Post subject: Wary 5.2.90 as Virtualbox guest
Subject description: Sort of verbose because I explain how I did. Works fine though.
 

I installed Wary 5.2.90 under Virtualbox 4.1.10. I choose Wary instead of Racy because the emulated hardware in Virtualbox is nothing to write home about, and the lower resource usage of Wary doesn't hurt either.

Only problem I had was xorgwizard crashing to a black screen trying to start X (which is required if you want to install the Virtualbox Guest Additions which enable a number of useful features, such as mouse integration, shared clipboard, shared folders, 3D acceleration support, window resize and so on).

Selecting Vesa does work by the way, but you have to disable mouse integration from the vm dropdown menu and you don't have access to the above goodies.

However I restarted the virtual machine with puppy pfix=nox and found out that xorgwizard had left behing a xorg conf in a usable state - I only had to edit it and set the monitor resolution @ 1024*768*24, and this time xwin put me in a regular X (non-Vesa) environment.

Next step was to compile the Guest Additions, so I downloaded the kernel sources sfs and the devx sfs (btw, I didn't have to run anything to connect the network, it worked right out of the box). I made the boot manager mount the sfs, told the VM to load the Guest Additions iso image that comes with the Virtualbox install, then I gave these commands from a terminal:

Code:

make -C /usr/src/linux oldconfig prepare scripts
mkdir /var/run/vboxadd
adduser -S -G daemon -u 999 -h /var/run/vboxadd vboxadd
mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
/mnt/cdrom/VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
umount /mnt/cdrom
sync


Everything worked perfect, no errors or weird messages. I only had to reboot Puppy as directed by the install and figure out how to launch the services that virtualbox requires (they are in the VBoxClient-all script, so either you arrange for VBoxClient-all to be launched at X startup, or look into it and make the services it launches start from where services are supposed to start in first place).

Bottom line, this is the first Puppy I see in years that runs under Virtualbox with all the Guest Addition features enabled and working, and it is pretty fast as well. Cool

Hopefully the detection issue in xorgwizard is fixable, or else we could just start in Vesa, download a proper xorg.conf and restart X...

Anyway, thanks for another awesome Puppy Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2012, 19:37    Post subject: langpack_es  

Latest Spanish langpack available here (2.4 MB):
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-e3e63da7.html

Added:
hunspell-es
P-series (Pmusic, Pburn etc.) locales

Work in progress, yet with lots of translations Cool
racy_es_640x480.png
 Description   Racy in Spanish
 Filesize   431.91 KB
 Viewed   375 Time(s)

racy_es_640x480.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 03:37    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: racy on netbook
 

Billtoo wrote:
EDIT: I installed the Broadcom-STA wl pet and then loaded the module, it's working fine, it sees the wireless as eth0 but it is working.

Thanks again.


Hi Billtoo

Glad it worked - although you shouldn't have needed to "load the module" - did you reboot after installing the pet?? It should have been automatic.

Is the connection persistent after a reboot?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2525
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 06:40    Post subject: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: alsaconf.pot
 

# msginit
alsaconf.pot:208: missing `msgstr' section
msginit: found 1 fatal error
#

Thus "bad news" when trying to translate

fixed by:
Code:
#: alsaconf:1228
#msgid ""
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 10:07    Post subject: alsaconf.pot  

I have created alsaconf.pot manually as it cannot be regenerated by xgettext. I have never used momanager to translate it (I used poedit only). It's good you've found this bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2525
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 10:16    Post subject: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: alsaconf
 

I have translated alsaconf now (geany and msgfmt)
2 changes in script, see image.

DIALOG='dialog' #has correct yesno
and
#export LANG=C

-------------------------

edited
20120322

These test have been made from virtual console.
Launched from menu and alsawizard GUI
we need to change last line of /usr/sbin/alsawizard from
Code:
rxvt -geometry 60x3 -bg orange -e /usr/sbin/alsaconf

to
Code:
#rxvt -geometry 60x3 -bg orange -e /usr/sbin/alsaconf
urxvt -bg orange -e /usr/sbin/alsaconf
alsaconf_dialog.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.36 KB
 Viewed   725 Time(s)

alsaconf_dialog.png


Last edited by L18L on Thu 22 Mar 2012, 16:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 10:23    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: racy on netbook
 

peebee wrote:

Glad it worked - although you shouldn't have needed to "load the module" - did you reboot after installing the pet?? It should have been automatic.

Is the connection persistent after a reboot?

Cheers
peebee


I forget if I rebooted, probably not.
It is persistent after a reboot, it's working well.
The screenshot shows the b43 module that I chose, guess it was a happy accident Smile
b43.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.5 KB
 Viewed   739 Time(s)

b43.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 11:06    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: racy on netbook
 

Billtoo wrote:
The screenshot shows the b43 module that I chose, guess it was a happy accident Smile


Hmmmm

Now we have a mystery......

If the B43 driver was being used the device name would be wlan0 not eth0 which is what the wl driver creates..

Can you do an lsmod in a console - I think you'll see wl listed but b43 shouldn't be there.......

If they're both there not sure what you've done - but you should only have 1 not both!!

Cheers
Peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 11:28    Post subject: Re: Wary/Racy 5.3RC (5.2.90)
Subject description: racy on netbook
 

peebee wrote:

Hmmmm

Now we have a mystery......

If the B43 driver was being used the device name would be wlan0 not eth0 which is what the wl driver creates..

Can you do an lsmod in a console - I think you'll see wl listed but b43 shouldn't be there.......

If they're both there not sure what you've done - but you should only have 1 not both!!

Cheers
Peebee


Here's the lsmod output.

Last edited by Billtoo on Wed 21 Mar 2012, 17:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 11:38    Post subject:  

It appears that the power-off and reboot menu options in JWM don't work. Maybe it's a kernel issue. Anyone else got this problem?

This Racy is fast - the fastest Linux distro on four legs!

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2012, 12:04    Post subject:  

tronkel wrote:
It appears that the power-off and reboot menu options in JWM don't work. Maybe it's a kernel issue. Anyone else got this problem?

This Racy is fast - the fastest Linux distro on four legs!


I'm using icewm but I switched back to jwm to try poweroff and reboot
menu options and both worked on my full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 20 [293 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1368s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0385s) ][ GZIP on ]