Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 01:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Three-Headed Dog 5.2.8.005 Updated APR 25 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 27 of 30 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 14:50    Post_subject: Re: Transparent Taskbar in Openbox  

playdayz wrote:
Transparent Taskbar in Openbox

The taskbar in Openbox (default window manager) was supposed to be transparent in 3HD and Lucid, but somewhere along the line something got screwed up. Here is the fix. The taskbar, or panel, is provided by fbpanel and this program pfbpanel had a bad value for the "alpha" or transparency. Download the pet and then click it to install. (Or you can download, right-click and Extract Here, then move pfbpanel to /usr/sbin/pfbpanel.)


It's already transparent on my install, I haven't installed the fix, unless the seamonkey part should be transparent too?

EDIT: I applied the fix and restarted x, it is more transparent now I think.
image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.71 KB
 Viewed   1495 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   8.63 KB
 Viewed   1502 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 15:37    Post_subject:  

Quote:
It's already transparent on my install, I haven't installed the fix, unless the seamonkey part should be transparent too?

EDIT: I applied the fix and restarted x, it is more transparent now I think.

Yes, with the fix it should be fully transparent (but not the Seamonkey "button").
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2012, 23:22    Post_subject: 3-headed dog  

(Three Headed Dog) Luci-001.003

Since there are several 'technical' testers doing a great job and currently there doesn't seem to be any serious issues with this build, I decided to now test this version as a 'NEW USER' just coming to Puppy would experience...

First off loaded pfix=ram so all would be fresh... on a Dell Pentium 4, 700+ RAM.

(1) Everything booted fine, eth0 internet automatically established itself... looking good!

(2) Clicked on 'browse' and selected Seamonky as my browser choice... got a report that Internet Connection Could NOT Be Established... and that was BEFORE offering a site to download from, tried several times, same thing... bummer!

(3) Selected Iron as my next choice... no problem and it downloaded from my selected site of ibiblio.

OK... now we're going.

(4) Downloaded a few programs from various places, no problem. Downloaded & installed packages from the PPM, no problem.

(5) Tested most of the programs Luci offered and didn't encounter any problems there, they just work.

(6) All in all, this is without doubt a very good choice of a Puppy for a NEW USER.

(7) Now on the tricky side... I put the CD with the new Luci on it in my old IBM Model: T22 512MB RAM Notebook... Again a pfx=ram install. Luci to my surprise loaded right up. Everything I tested worked as it should... The last Puppy that did that was version 520. This T22 is one-picky-machine. I expect that this new version is going to be a 'Cracker-Jax' for older computers!!!

Overall... very nice and a 'good job' playdayz!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dpup

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 13:49    Post_subject: Three Headed Dog Version 3 Video Apps
Sub_title: Testing Video Apps for Camera Direct HD Files
 

Testing video apps on 3HD version 3 after failing to make any of my favorite video editing apps work on any version of Slacko Puppy for my new Laptop with I7 Quad CPU and not getting any response to my inquiry on multimedia section on possible fixes from anyone who did or could suggest fixes.

Installed on 3HD version 3 of March 5th, USB boot, Avidemux, JRE runtime, Jubler subtitler. works really great processing Canon HD video files right off the camera. Includes cut, join, fade in, out, transition, sharpen, color correction, resize, adjust audio, insert multiple subtitles along timeline with Jubler, create and use custom presets for transcoding full screen, smooth video on Android Gingerbread CM7 dual book Nook Color as well as large screen TV and much more. Also testing Cinelerra video editor and this USB boot set on several other lower end laptops.

Thanks, and keep up the great work on 3HD... !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 07:12    Post_subject: Three-Headed Dog Version 3 Updated ISO MAR 5, 2012 - Luci-00
Sub_title: Testing
 

playdayz

Rather than my usual manual frugal install to flash I elected instead for a multi-session DVD. Despite the current absence of any internal hard discs in my system the install went as smooth as silk with 1280 x1024 (vesa), working sound & ethernet via DHCP. This was a problem free process and is to be recommended for new users. A ready made live DVD is also handy for everyone to have for the day when your H/D or flash drive suddenly dies!

The following pets were installed and transparency in Openbox was first confirmed.

=== /root/.packages/user-installed-packages ===

Chromium-18-Lucid|Browse the Web
getflash-0.5|GetFlash Install Flashplayer
flashplayer
nvidia-285.05.09-k2.6.37.6-s|Configure NVIDIA X Server Settings
pfbpanel_transparent|pfbpanel for transparency
fontwizard|Configure fonts for LCD
Stardust|
icewm-1.3.7pre2-L519-lucid|Icewm window manager
news-0.5.0-0|GTK-based highly graphically-customizable RSS Ticker
PupShutdown-1.7.5|PupShutdown manager

Thanks for updating this very polished problem free derivative.

Link to full size image - http://postimage.org/image/xgh8yn7a3/
image-5.png
 Description   
 Filesize   312.77 KB
 Viewed   1265 Time(s)

image-5.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 12:06    Post_subject: Firmware Up-Dates  

playdayz:

It appears we need the firmware up-dates that pemasu complied and put in Exprimo and Racy for wlan0 (wifi) to work in Luci with the rt2800, etc., modules. Any chance???

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 12:41    Post_subject:  

Quote:
firmware up-dates that pemasu complied and put in Exprimo and Racy for wlan0 (wifi) to work in Luci with the rt2800

It's possible of course sszinidan. Do you have more info or a link? I know only of the firmware upgrades that pemasu prepared for the 3.x kernel. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 13:02    Post_subject: Oh Boy!!!  

playdays wrote:
--------------------------------------------------------
It's possible of course sszinidan. Do you have more info or a link? I know only of the firmware upgrades that pemasu prepared for the 3.x kernel. Thanks.
--------------------------------------------------------

Hmmm... forgot about that 3.X kernel-specific thingy Sad

No... I wouldn't know where to begin, only thing that comes to mind is jemimah... I believe she had a 37 kernel in Saluki before the new 3.2.8 whether or not she had the new firmware complied for 37, I don't know?

Maybe it would be as easy (loose-term of course Laughing ) to put the 3.2.8 or 3.2.9 kernel in THD and see what happens... hey, what the heck, THD is an expermint no?

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 13:51    Post_subject:  

Fluxbox Windowmanager

The fluxbox that was listed here made problems. The fluxbox binary ran even when the fluxbox window manager was not chosen.

This was not the one in PPM, which I will check and report.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 17:08    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
firmware up-dates that pemasu complied and put in Exprimo and Racy for wlan0 (wifi) to work in Luci with the rt2800

It's possible of course sszinidan. Do you have more info or a link? I know only of the firmware upgrades that pemasu prepared for the 3.x kernel. Thanks.
THD has been working great on my computers, however I agree, pemasu's kernel works great and would make a super addition for THD.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2012, 11:34    Post_subject:  

just been using network wizard. cant see that wifi is auto-connecting at boot to previously save signal. have to load profile and auto dhcp each boot.. connection is occasionally dropping if i type too long.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 04:31    Post_subject:  

after many non-connects on open wifi at boot, today it auto connected at boot for the first time.. i didn't change anything at all or do anything different. Question
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 07:43    Post_subject:  

001-003:
Having a few issues with HDMI display on my TV, native 1360x768.
The (DOS BIOS) boot screen shows, the Puppy boot screen shows, but the booting commands give 'Mode Unsupported'. Not a problem until trying to change the res. with CRL-ALT-BKSPCE ! Not able to do the xorgwizard/etc. blind. Tried a coupe of cheat codes unsuccessfully - anything else to try? Ta.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 10:31    Post_subject:  

Quote:
after many non-connects on open wifi at boot, today it auto connected at boot for the first time.. i didn't change anything at all or do anything different.

My first guess aarf is timing, that is in what order and for what duration the boot script executes. I don't know anything to do, except possibly vary your connections. That is, put the usb cables in different usb ports--that has helped me believe it or not--and maybe even change internal connections to drives, etc--which has also helped. Different connections can vary the timing. But don't do anything you are not comfortable with.

Quote:
Having a few issues with HDMI display on my TV, native 1360x768


Sage, Have you tried to change resolutions with Menu -> Setup -> Personalize Settings? Or tried with xrandrshell from a prompt? If it doesn't automatically pick the right resolution then you will need to create an xorg.conf with xorgwizard--I assume you have run that from the prompt after exiting X. If it says mode not supported or something then perhaps the driver does not know about the mode you want--is there a proprietary driver? (There are proprietary drivers for ATI and Nvidia.)

Oh I was just reading more carefully. Can you boot with pfix=nox to stop at a prompt and then run xorgwizard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 14:36    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Menu -> Setup -> Personalize Settings

Yes - didn't do it although settings appeared to have been accepted.
Quote:
xrandrshell

No - not familiar with that one!
Quote:
pfix=nox to stop at a prompt

As indicated, cannot get to a visible prompt with HDMI on TV.
All this with kit barely a few months old!
But many thanks for your prompt response, don't get such courtesy very often.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 30 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1033s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]